• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2500K Stuck at 1.6Ghz - Idle and Under Load

Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
621 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor INTEL Core i5-2500K - 4.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 980
Storage SAMSUNG 840 EVO 1 TB x 2 + 2xWD6400AAKS RAID 0
Display(s) LG 34UM65 (2560x1080)
Case CORSAIR 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850
Mouse CORSAIR Raptor M45
Keyboard CORSAIR K70
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
So, I have run into a bit of an issue. It seems no matter what settings I use in the Bios with my setup, my 2500K is now stuck at a sluggish 1.6 GHZ.

Earlier this week I got a new cooler (CNPS9900 MAX), and had overclocked to ~5GHZ. The overclock seemed pretty stable with no issues for the past 2-days.

Then, today, I noticed the computer was acting pretty sluggish. I rebooted and the problem persisted. At that point I pulled open Asus AI Suite 2, which shows the cpu is stuck at a constant x16 multiplier, usually only used for idle....

Anyone know what the hell is going on? I have tried everything I can imagine (including resetting the entire bios to default). I'm pretty much out of ideas at this point... It seems like it is either a) a hardware issue (which seems bizarre), or b) Some software in windows
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
Try disabling all the power saving shit in the bios... C1E, Speedstep, anything like that you can find.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
621 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor INTEL Core i5-2500K - 4.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 980
Storage SAMSUNG 840 EVO 1 TB x 2 + 2xWD6400AAKS RAID 0
Display(s) LG 34UM65 (2560x1080)
Case CORSAIR 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850
Mouse CORSAIR Raptor M45
Keyboard CORSAIR K70
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Try disabling all the power saving shit in the bios... C1E, Speedstep, anything like that you can find.
Tried this, but with no luck.

I am going to try to change the CPU ratio from AUTO to something higher than 16 and see if that even picks up...
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,221
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#4
I only have a first gen i7, but I never use auto settings, can't trust them... Do you have latest bios version for your motherboard?
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
621 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor INTEL Core i5-2500K - 4.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 980
Storage SAMSUNG 840 EVO 1 TB x 2 + 2xWD6400AAKS RAID 0
Display(s) LG 34UM65 (2560x1080)
Case CORSAIR 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850
Mouse CORSAIR Raptor M45
Keyboard CORSAIR K70
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
I only have a first gen i7, but I never use auto settings, can't trust them... Do you have latest bios version for your motherboard?
I have the latest BIOS.

I actually just 'fixed' the issue. :toast:

Now, mind you, I had already shut down (not rebooted, but actually shut down), with no luck. On a hunch, I figured I would also try shutting down again, but also unplugging and waiting 15 seconds then plugging back in. Somehow, that fixed what resetting the entire BIOS could not.

Maybe it was a PSU issue? I have no idea really, I'm just extremely glad it is fixed after an hour of tinkering. Hopefully this thread helps someone else if they run into this issue.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,525 (0.55/day)
Likes
637
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#6
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
621 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor INTEL Core i5-2500K - 4.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 980
Storage SAMSUNG 840 EVO 1 TB x 2 + 2xWD6400AAKS RAID 0
Display(s) LG 34UM65 (2560x1080)
Case CORSAIR 650D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply CORSAIR RM850
Mouse CORSAIR Raptor M45
Keyboard CORSAIR K70
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,154 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,221
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#8
Nice job whatever you did! Lot's of bucks saved there....
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#9
I have the latest BIOS.

I actually just 'fixed' the issue. :toast:

Now, mind you, I had already shut down (not rebooted, but actually shut down), with no luck. On a hunch, I figured I would also try shutting down again, but also unplugging and waiting 15 seconds then plugging back in. Somehow, that fixed what resetting the entire BIOS could not.

Maybe it was a PSU issue? I have no idea really, I'm just extremely glad it is fixed after an hour of tinkering. Hopefully this thread helps someone else if they run into this issue.
Two things I'd like to point out.

1. Unless you have a case that gives you access to the PSU power switch (most do), you need to actually unplug the pc to do a 'cold boot'. The reason is that, just like most modern electronics, 'off' doesn't mean 'off'. It means 'I'm just taking a nap.' Some electronics use almost as much juice when they're off as when operating. In those cases, it's not even a nap, they're just faking. I've never checked, but I suspect current draw on a pc that's 'off' is probably nominal. Even so, any current is enough to preserve whatever problem you had.

2. To properly clear the CMOS, you need to kill power at the psu either with the switch, or if that's not accessible, by pulling the plug. Then you need to remove the CMOS battery (usually a CR2025 or 2032 button battery). Next you have to jumper the appropriate pins on the CLRTC jumpers. Finally, you need to wait at least 30 seconds. I've had motherboards where it takes that long for the capacitors to discharge even when jumpered.

If you don't follow those steps in that order, you may think you've reset the bios when in fact you haven't.
 

Gambit389

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
I agree with Twilyth, that's how I recovered from a overclock gone bad.

If the jumper trick doesn't solve then I proceed with checking psu,cpu and mobo.