• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.13/day)
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
I received mine today. Absolutely gorgeous.
One problem:
When gaming, monitor starts to blank for a sec, then come back, then blank again, then come back, then blank for about a minute. Only when gaming, but happens after I game for a bit too.

Watched a 1080p video and was using it for about 2 hours fine, but as soon as I fire up trine 2, things get wacky.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,478 (0.29/day)
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
Got one Crossover and I have 2 more coming soon. Good bang for the buck LCD's but not on the same level as Dell's. Again, I'm only pay half of the Dell's.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,032 (8.38/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I received mine today. Absolutely gorgeous.
One problem:
When gaming, monitor starts to blank for a sec, then come back, then blank again, then come back, then blank for about a minute. Only when gaming, but happens after I game for a bit too.

Watched a 1080p video and was using it for about 2 hours fine, but as soon as I fire up trine 2, things get wacky.
Make sure to get a quality DVI-D cable.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,151 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Make sure to get a quality DVI-D cable.
The one that comes with the monitor is inadequate???

By the way: my new monitor has arrived :toast: Obviously, i had to arrive just when i was starting to sleep (~2 PM).

Every single time i'm expecting a package, it arrives either too soon or too late :twitch:

- Need to step out for 5 minutes, it arrives within that time frame.
- Have to go to work, it arrives 10 minutes after i leave the house.

Typical ... :twitch:



Anyway, @ first it didn't work but today, after getting of work, i figured out the problem: the dual DVI was disabled in BIOS :eek:

How do i test for dead pixels? Is there a procedure to follow?


Thanks erocker for letting me know about this beauty: i had to pay an extra 139.75€ (customs ripoff) but it's worth it, me thinks!!!
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,032 (8.38/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
If there are dead/stuck pixels you'll see them. The DVI cable that comes with it is crap.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HTC
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
yea, while the quality of a digital cable doesn't matter much, it does matter a bit :p
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.43/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
I tried using a my D-DVI cable that came with my Dell U3011, and it didn't work. So I tried the cable that came with my Catleap and it works perfect now.

/shrug
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
405 (0.07/day)
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
It's still random luck to get the speakers or not in the catleap?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,032 (8.38/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I think the SE versions do not have speakers.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.43/day)
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Mine came with speakers and tempered glass and I thought it wasn't going to have either of them. So yeah it is just random I guess. I don't like tempered glass monitors, but I will deal with it.

As far as calibration goes for a previous post, I use the 6500k icm profile or w.e it is called, I got it from a guy on overclock.net forums from a catleap topic.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
I think the SE versions do not have speakers.
This ^ . They do make mistakes though, so you might and a different model or a non-glossy screen with AG coating etc etc, they say their accuracy of the product is about 98%

I believe the PB2700 I bought does have speakers though
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
405 (0.07/day)
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
This ^ . They do make mistakes though, so you might and a different model or a non-glossy screen with AG coating etc etc, they say their accuracy of the product is about 98%

I believe the PB2700 I bought does have speakers though
I have bought the SE with "Dual Input" which, according to the overclock.net list is with speakers:

5 models of the Q270 - Click Each to Visit Manufacturer's Website

1. With Speakers/Without Glass

2. With Speakers/With Glass

3. Without Speakers/Without Glass

4. Without Speakers/With Glass

5. Dual Input DVI/HDMI w/speakers w/o glass
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
yea thats the exception lmao... #3 and 4 are SE models while #1 and 2 are non-SE models

how much did you pay for that dual input model?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.52/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
I have bought the SE with "Dual Input" which, according to the overclock.net list is with speakers:

5 models of the Q270 - Click Each to Visit Manufacturer's Website

1. With Speakers/Without Glass

2. With Speakers/With Glass

3. Without Speakers/Without Glass

4. Without Speakers/With Glass

5. Dual Input DVI/HDMI w/speakers w/o glass
No linkies to mfr website? I have no3 btw. Glad I don't have glass and don't use speaker monitors :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (0.98/day)
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
From what I gather there is no Displayport, right? Not even miniDP?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
405 (0.07/day)
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
No linkies to mfr website? I have no3 btw. Glad I don't have glass and don't use speaker monitors :toast:
linkies on overclock.net (they're in the topic start I believe)

edit: right link:
http://www.overclock.net/t/1225919/yamakasi-catleap-monitor-club


yea thats the exception lmao... #3 and 4 are SE models while #1 and 2 are non-SE models

how much did you pay for that dual input model?
$359
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320865591510

Unless I'm fooled by the "dual computer monitor"


edit:
this is the only "multi-input" variant it seems with DVI-D/HDMI/D-SUB
http://www.witechit.co.kr/product06-22.html

Anyway, I'm left confused about which screen I'm actually getting (in the end, I'll still only need 1 DVI port, the rest will be a bonus), ordered it last night when I got home (20:00 in Holland) and this morning at I checked the Fedex page to see that it's already in their distribution network

Mar 28, 2012 9:31 PM
In transit INCHEON KRMar 28, 2012 8:42 PM
In transit INCHEON KRMar 28, 2012 6:21 PM
Left FedEx origin facility SEOUL-SI YEONGDEUNGPO-GU KRMar 28, 2012 2:27 PM
Picked up SEOUL-SI YEONGDEUNGPO-GU KR
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
I think the dual is referencing to the fact that it's dual link not just single link
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
405 (0.07/day)
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
I think the dual is referencing to the fact that it's DVI-D not just DVI
Dual-Link then, DVI-D as is doesn't say anything about that. (just being Digital)
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
Dual-Link then, DVI-D as is doesn't say anything about that. (just being Digital)
right

it's silly to specify it really as single link can't do 2560x1440 AFAIK
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
No they meant DVI-D Dual [Link]

and then it's a computer monitor. Ebay title has a limited amount of space lol
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (0.91/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
I have bought the SE with "Dual Input" which, according to the overclock.net list is with speakers:

5 models of the Q270 - Click Each to Visit Manufacturer's Website

1. With Speakers/Without Glass

2. With Speakers/With Glass

3. Without Speakers/Without Glass

4. Without Speakers/With Glass

5. Dual Input DVI/HDMI w/speakers w/o glass
Hold up, there's a model with HDMI? Link please, I want it!
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,059 (2.14/day)
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Homelabs, #2 in construction
Processor i7 3930k @ 3.6 GHz | Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty pro | AsRock x370
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 | Wraith Cooler
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) DDR3 2133Mhz | can't afford DDR4 yet lol
Video Card(s) GTX 970 incoming | RX 560 2gb
Storage Bunch of SSDs (HDDs coming eventually)
Display(s) Korean 1440p | Dell refurb 19"
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800 | some ATX case
Audio Device(s) AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W | none yet
Top