• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

welly31

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
36 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Still no reply from Red Cap. Should I send him another message or just go straight to the resolution center?
Try turning your brightness down. My power brick gets really hot with full or close to full brightness but its only warm when I have it on half brightness.

By brightness I mean the buttons on the actual monitor near the power button.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Try turning your brightness down. My power brick gets really hot with full or close to full brightness but its only warm when I have it on half brightness.

By brightness I mean the buttons on the actual monitor near the power button.
I've already tried that. Even at minimum brightness it still does the same thing.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
I've already tried that. Even at minimum brightness it still does the same thing.
Mine is somewhere in between warm and hot. I can keep my hand on it without feeling like I'm getting burnt. Contact the seller and ask for a free replacement power unit.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
the thing you guys gotta understand is that most of these guys are Operating out of China or Korea Morality and Honest Business practices aren't exactly at a all time high over there ATM
its a crap shoot but unless you wanna pay 500 to 600+ for a large monitor this is the road you take

@ random I would bet my money on the power brick those Adapters are made to run off of 190 or 240v while they will function at 110-120v they tend to run very hot and have a high failure rate
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Model: WTS-240SW
INPUT: 110-240v~50/60Hz, 1.5A
OUTPUT: 24v--5.0A
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Mine is somewhere in between warm and hot. I can keep my hand on it without feeling like I'm getting burnt. Contact the seller and ask for a free replacement power unit.
I've tried contacting him. I'll try again, but I doubt he'll respond.

the thing you guys gotta understand is that most of these guys are Operating out of China or Korea Morality and Honest Business practices aren't exactly at a all time high over there ATM
its a crap shoot but unless you wanna pay 500 to 600+ for a large monitor this is the road you take

@ random I would bet my money on the power brick those Adapters are made to run off of 190 or 240v while they will function at 110-120v they tend to run very hot and have a high failure rate
It does say it accepts 110-240VAC input...

Model: WTS-240SW
INPUT: 110-240v~50/60Hz, 1.5A
OUTPUT: 24v--5.0A
The specs look right, but not sure about the model number. I'll have to look when I get home in a few hours.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Model: WTS-240SW
INPUT: 110-240v~50/60Hz, 1.5A
OUTPUT: 24v--5.0A
Just checked. It's WTS-2405W, not 240SW, but yeah, that's the one.
Apparently it's made by Welltronics and their website is Welltro.com, but it's in Korean and damned if I can read it, lol.


I finally received a response from "Alice" at red cap.
They want me to try another DVI cable(which I have but forgot to mention) and if that doesn't work they want a short video clip of the monitor doing its thing.
They'll get their video and then determine whether or not I should get another power brick. That doesn't mean I will, but it's a step in the right direction.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
I may have posted it before, but here's a link to my power brick (QNIX QX2710)

http://sdrv.ms/16AdfN8
Same output current, half the voltage of mine, and different connector. Yours looks like a traditional sleeve and pin connector. Mine is a round casing(think the old S-Video connectors) with four large pins in a trapezoidal pattern.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
Same output current, half the voltage of mine, and different connector. Yours looks like a traditional sleeve and pin connector. Mine is a round casing(think the old S-Video connectors) with four large pins in a trapezoidal pattern.
Possible yes. Perhaps this photo has better angle on the monitor end of the cable.

http://sdrv.ms/Z7iITy
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Possible yes. Perhaps this photo has better angle on the monitor end of the cable.

http://sdrv.ms/Z7iITy
That was the one i was looking at to determine it's different than mine:p
At any rate, I do appreciate the reply and help.;)

O/T, how did you bend those rims like that? stiff suspension and hitting a bump too fast?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
991 (0.43/day)
Likes
475
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
That was the one i was looking at to determine it's different than mine:p
At any rate, I do appreciate the reply and help.;)

O/T, how did you bend those rims like that? stiff suspension and hitting a bump too fast?
Ha, yeah I made those public. I'm selling them actually. Didn't effect balance or ability to hold air.

But I suspect it was this combination: 4000LBS car, ~75MPH speed, huge pothole on crappy CT highways.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Hey RM I think a dude at OCN is now having similar behavior on his...something about gray and shit after working for a time.

Mine recently stopped displaying an image at all for awhile until I screwed the cable in super tight on both top and bottom on the display side.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Hey RM I think a dude at OCN is now having similar behavior on his...something about gray and shit after working for a time.

Mine recently stopped displaying an image at all for awhile until I screwed the cable in super tight on both top and bottom on the display side.
Thanks for the heads up. The monitor is going to be hooked back up tonight after I get home from class and Red Cap shall have their damned video.:nutkick:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Yeah and that's the reason I could not get the heavier and seemingly-higher-qaulity dual-link cable I brought home for work (came with a 30" NEC)--it's pins are too short to screw in at all. When my DVI port doesn't have a "good enough" connection the screen will only flash red then green then go black.
 

Caenlen29

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
42 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Processor 2500k @ 4.6
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200 core 1500 mem
Display(s) QNIX 2560 x 1440 Samsung PLS Evolution II @ 120hz
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Software Windows 8 Pro w/ Media Center
For those who don't know, 2560x1440 120hz monitors are on sale now.

What? There are 120hz 2560x1440 panels now? I thought HDMI couldn't handle it..

I also didn't know you could overclock a monitor.
Yes, you have to overclock it. 1440p can now hit 120hz easy.

DVI-D can handle it. Not HDMI.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/27-QNIX-QX2...2541?pt=Computer_Monitors&hash=item1e785bf9dd

http://www.overclock.net/t/1374065/...ution-ll-27-2560x1440-matte-samsung-pls-panel

and you can choose from matte screen or glossy.


100% of them OC to 96hz easily. most of them do OC to 120hz. i love mine, it came with 0 dead pixels, no backlight bleed (one advantage of PLS over IPS) yet retaining amazing colors after calibration. :toast:
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Alright, Red Cap got their video. We'll see how they handle it from here.
TPU was featured in the video btw. It just happened to be the website I was on when I first turned the monitor on in the video, lol
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Uh I really don't think you can say the bleed has anything to do w/ IPS vs PLS. Especially considering most of these particular PLS units have bleed, some awful. It seems to be related to frame and bezel anyway; nothing to do w/ the panels themselves. If you truly have none you were extremely lucky. Check out this poor SOB:

 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
195 (0.08/day)
Likes
25
Location
Porterville, CA
System Name Naraku
Processor Intel i7 2600k stock
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 240gb Kingston HyperX/1TB Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 LED Evolution ll
Case Azza Hurrican 2000
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 850w
Software Windows 7 Pro
Uh I really don't think you can say the bleed has anything to do w/ IPS vs PLS. Especially considering most of these particular PLS units have bleed, some awful. It seems to be related to frame and bezel anyway; nothing to do w/ the panels themselves. If you truly have none you were extremely lucky. Check out this poor SOB:

http://i.imgur.com/1j2XLJw.jpg
Wow I don't have the worst monitor anymore!:roll:
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Uh I really don't think you can say the bleed has anything to do w/ IPS vs PLS. Especially considering most of these particular PLS units have bleed, some awful. It seems to be related to frame and bezel anyway; nothing to do w/ the panels themselves. If you truly have none you were extremely lucky. Check out this poor SOB:

http://i.imgur.com/1j2XLJw.jpg
Yep, I saw a post somewhere(not sure if it was here or OCN) where someone had terrible bleed and just loosened the case's screws a little bit near the origin of the bleed and it significantly helped.
So guys, If you have terrible bleed and are not afraid to void the warranty:)rolleyes:), you could always back out the case's screws slightly and see if it helps.
My best guess is that on at least some of these monitors that have bad bleed (like this one Wrigley posted) the cases and/or the metal that secures the actual panel are just fastened too tightly and putting pressure on the panel.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
195 (0.08/day)
Likes
25
Location
Porterville, CA
System Name Naraku
Processor Intel i7 2600k stock
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 240gb Kingston HyperX/1TB Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 LED Evolution ll
Case Azza Hurrican 2000
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 850w
Software Windows 7 Pro
Yeah that's definitely OCN. They even have a tutorial on how to open it and put electric tape on the spot where there is bleeding to definitely remove it.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Red Cap is infuriating me. Now that they have my video clearly displaying the problem, they're asking me to do things that I've already done to try resolving the issue, such as trying another DVI cable, trying the Shimian on another PC, running in single-monitor mode only, and trying a different GPU. We all know a 7970 is more than enough to drive one of these, and the fact that I have a second monitor running off of my GTS250 should not affect the Shimian in any way.
I wasn't nice in this reply and linked them to my previous reply showing that I've done all of that. Next step from here if they keep giving the runaround is to escalate this to EBay or PayPal.
In the meantime, SUATMM is still without a monitor, and I'm not going to game on my secondary 1280x1024 monitor.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Yes that is some BS but just jump through their hoops at least for now still and tell them soon that you have done all that again, as they asked. I don't think you are getting the run around at least yet; they are trying to avoid the return if at all possible and you can't really blame them.

As you say, you could always escalate to eBay worse comes to worse and at least one other dude on OCN has already gotten a full refund through eBay after lots of trouble with a unit from dream-seller. Well, I didn't read all the details but he did say his "faith in eBay was restored" even.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Double-post for bumpage. The guy with that awful bleed I posted above was able to fix it! (Some is hard to follow but here is what he had to say...)

I was able to fix my backlight bleed completely and it was really bad. I put a wad of electrical tap under the panel in one corner (bottom left) and the reduced the bleeding quite a bit.

I tuned the panel on while it was open this help me identify where the panel was not straight. Pushing on the monitor before while it was in the case didn't do anything but while it was open and I lifted one corner and noticed most the bleeding from the two spots on the middle bottom edge where gone when I lifted that corner. So adding a shim in that corner got rid of most the light.

I also went all the way around the whole panel at taped the edges of seam where matte meets the metal bezel. I need ever edge and every side I noticed in places that seem to have no bleeding this still helped. So I just keep taping. I taped it down while the monitor was on so I would be sure I wasn't taping over and pixels but I put tape on the screen as close as I count get to pixels without covering them. Then I ran my finger nail over the tape to make it stick in the seam. By the way the electrical tape I bought was really sticky much better than anything I ever seen before. It was 3M professional grade. I think if it was regular tape it would have came out as good because I know other tape I used before wouldn't stick that well in a small seem like that.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Ah, so now they want me to void my warranty. Here's the response I just received:
Seller's message:
"Dear.******** okay. Please let us know the serial number of the monitor. We will send the pcb for the fix it. Thank you! Alice "

I suppose it's better than nothing, but it sounds like they are going to send me an internal part that I'll then have to swap myself and void the warranty in the process. They could also be referring to a new power brick, but it does say "pcb" in the message.
In my response, in which I'll give them the serial number(shouldn't they already have it?), I'm going to bring up that point. It would be completely unfair if they sent me an internal part to replace and then not take the monitor back(if this doesn't fix the issue) because I opened it.