• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

ctrain24

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Got my Ergotron MX mount in today and installed it:


For some of you using VESA mounts, have some washers handy as there is very little clearance between the VESA screw holes and the metal shield of the internals.
Damn that's nice erocker!


Ordered my Catleap from dcsamsungmall on Sunday 3/18 and received it Tuesday 3/20. From South Korea to NYC in two days :rockout:

Only negatives are one dead pixel on the left side of the screen and of course the stand. I decided to replace it with a 3M MS110MB monitor stand that I got on craigslist. Sorry, cell phone pics taken in basement:













Some internal pics:






 
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
476 (0.16/day)
Likes
62
System Name Corporate Commando
Processor Intel i7 3820 @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock x79 extreme 6gb
Cooling corsair h100
Memory 8 gig corsair 1866 ddr3 ram
Video Card(s) 3 x EVGA GTX 680
Storage 2x samsung F3 1tb drives in RAID 0, 512gb samsung ssd
Display(s) 3 x Asus 27" monitor @ 5760 x 1080
Case Corsair C70
Power Supply Coolermaster 1200watt gold

ctrain24

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
How is that stand? I was thinking about purchasing a similar one.
You have to use a screwdriver to adjust movement which can be annoying if you adjust your monitor often. I don't so it's not a big deal for me. The stand is good quality and I got it for $25. I'm very happy with it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
You have to use a screwdriver to adjust movement which can be annoying if you adjust your monitor often. I don't so it's not a big deal for me. The stand is good quality and I got it for $25. I'm very happy with it.
No you don't. You only have to adust the tension on the part where the monitor meets the mount for the weight of your monitor. Everything else moves freely and quite precisely. :)
 

ctrain24

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
No you don't. You only have to adust the tension on the part where the monitor meets the mount for the weight of your monitor. Everything else moves freely and quite precisely. :)
Yeah you're right. I should of said tension not movement.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Forgot to mention you only need to adjust the tension once and that's it. I do kinda wish I would of went your route with the 3M stand... For portability and all that. But a cool robot arm holding my monitor up is nice too I guess. :)
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Just bought mine: here's hoping i don't get screwed by customs!
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,362 (0.46/day)
Likes
633
Location
TX
System Name Beast, little beast
Processor Core i7 2600K 4.5GHZ 24/7, Core i7 Xeon6 core 3.6GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 1155Sckt, EVGA X58 sckt 1366
Cooling H80, H100
Memory 24 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill RipJaws,12 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) 1 Nvidia 670 eVGA FTW, 1 Nvidia 580 eVGA
Storage 1- WD Black 640GB, 1X Samsung 1.5TB, 2 X 160 WD Veloc Raptors Raided
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" 1920X1200, Acer 24" 1920X1200
Case rig#1 Dismatech test bench, rig#2 Made By Bill Tech Bench
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec 1000 Watt, PC power&cooling 850 watt
Software both Rig's, Win7 64Bit
Benchmark Scores rig #1 4.8GHZ @ 1.375 Volts. running 4.5GHZ 1.272 Volts 24/7. Rig #2 4.6GHZ @ 1.3 Volts 24/7.
Got mine running, pic is great looking with no dead pixels. :)
Damm nice monitor for the price. :)
Stock stand is a little wobbly (side to side). My computer desk is an old metal desk once you get monitor in place it doesn't rock (move). Maybe getting a different stand (mount) for it.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,879 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,172
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Cylon arm wins.
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
How are you liking it?

Btw, the single, dual-dvi models (serial # 2c) are not able to overclock the hz much. Mine can do 65hz fine. There is someone on OCN who is trying to get an order of different logic boards for these. If cheap enough, they'll be a good buy.
Whoa whoa whoa whoa... backup a sec... you can overclock monitors.. ahem.. how? And why have I not heard of this? :eek::roll:

I hate 60hz :banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
Whoa whoa whoa whoa... backup a sec... you can overclock monitors.. ahem.. how? And why have I not heard of this? :eek::roll:

I hate 60hz :banghead::banghead:
Here if you have AMD

EDIT: whoops nevermind I don't think this does Hz



Hey I was wondering if This says make of 75Hz does that mean it know how high it already can go?:confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Good luck to everyone trying these out, they do look nice. Won't get one myself, but hopefully with so many people diving on these we'll see other companies try compete with these prices (perhaps releasing nice simple models like the catleap)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Whoa whoa whoa whoa... backup a sec... you can overclock monitors.. ahem.. how? And why have I not heard of this? :eek::roll:

I hate 60hz :banghead::banghead:
Some of the earlier revisions can overclock to around 100hz. Mine can only do 65hz at 2560x1440. Believe me 60hz on one of these panels doesn't even compare to 60hz on your run of the mill tft panel.

Here if you have AMD

EDIT: whoops nevermind I don't think this does Hz
http://img.techpowerup.org/120323/Capture019602.jpg


Hey I was wondering if This says make of 75Hz does that mean it know how high it already can go?:confused:
http://img.techpowerup.org/120323/Capture020.jpg
It can do 75hz, but most likely at a lower resolution.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Good luck to everyone trying these out, they do look nice. Won't get one myself, but hopefully with so many people diving on these we'll see other companies try compete with these prices (perhaps releasing nice simple models like the catleap)
If nobody is importing these for sale in our countries, maybe someone should start a business by importing these brands for sale to the general public: if sold by ... say ... $500 while maintaining warranty and the whole nine yards, wouldn't they still make a killing?

Made a mistake and ordered mine by economic shipping, instead of EMS: won't be here before the 30th @ the earliest.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,879 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,172
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
I think the company that makes these would have a problem with that lol
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
I don't know; why would they not want expanded distribution of their products? These eBay sellers wouldn't like it but who cares? I am under the impression they are not factory-direct on eBay..
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
If nobody is importing these for sale in our countries, maybe someone should start a business by importing these brands for sale to the general public: if sold by ... say ... $500 while maintaining warranty and the whole nine yards, wouldn't they still make a killing?

Made a mistake and ordered mine by economic shipping, instead of EMS: won't be here before the 30th @ the earliest.
Ordering a single unit is different than importing 50 units, bet your ass that customs will be on to you if you try that and then your profit is gone
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Ordering a single unit is different than importing 50 units, bet your ass that customs will be on to you if you try that and then your profit is gone
If you're a distributor, would they still hit you as hard? Possibly, dunno!
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
If you're a distributor, would they still hit you as hard? Possibly, dunno!
Yes, you still pay the applicable tax for your country which at $150 for each unit you make little or nothing for the effort, I would hazard a guess anyway, can't say for sure.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,322 (0.46/day)
Likes
386
Location
Indiana
System Name CM masterRace
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7ghz
Motherboard Biostar z170gt7
Cooling Corsair h100
Memory 32gb Gskill ddr4 @3000mhz
Video Card(s) Evga gtx1080 ftw
Storage Samsung 840 250gb ssd
Display(s) Acer 24"
Case CM mastercase 5
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower 750w gold
Mouse Logitech g502
Keyboard CM trigger
Software Windows 10 (64 bit)
Yes, you still pay the applicable tax for your country which at $150 for each unit you make little or nothing for the effort, I would hazard a guess anyway, can't say for sure.
you would have to import a large number. once you start numbering in the thousands and tens of thousands, your profit margin will go up. good luck financing that though.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Yes, you still pay the applicable tax for your country which at $150 for each unit you make little or nothing for the effort, I would hazard a guess anyway, can't say for sure.
Checked CPUs (3930K) for an example (attachments): it "gains" under 108€ per unit, @ these e-stores.

If you bought the monitors @ the store's price (being a distributor, you could get it @ an even lower price) and selling it @ $500 each, even with $150 tax, you would still be making a profit, no?

EDIT

Less, actually: would be selling them to the stores and they buy it @ lower prices, obviously.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Hello, I just bought this monitor yesterday. Can someone tell me how to overclock it? I am running an i7-2700k and Sapphire 7970 with 16 GB of ram and 1 TB hard drive on the non Gen3 version of Asus Z68 deluxe if it matters.

Just trying to figure out what all I need to do to OC this to 65 hz or whatever is best. Any tips welcome.
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
Here if you have AMD

EDIT: whoops nevermind I don't think this does Hz
http://img.techpowerup.org/120323/Capture019602.jpg


Hey I was wondering if This says make of 75Hz does that mean it know how high it already can go?:confused:
http://img.techpowerup.org/120323/Capture020.jpg
I have the hz adjust slider but not the calibration thingy. How should I test for 'stability'?

Believe me 60hz on one of these panels doesn't even compare to 60hz on your run of the mill tft panel.
60hz is still 60hz man, I can see individual frames; it's just not fast enough. :D

So how did you end up overclocking yours?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Hello, I just bought this monitor yesterday. Can someone tell me how to overclock it? I am running an i7-2700k and Sapphire 7970 with 16 GB of ram and 1 TB hard drive on the non Gen3 version of Asus Z68 deluxe if it matters.

Just trying to figure out what all I need to do to OC this to 65 hz or whatever is best. Any tips welcome.
What is the serial number of the monitor? If it's a B version you can OC, if it's a C version (which is most likely), no OC.

I have the hz adjust slider but not the calibration thingy. How should I test for 'stability'?



60hz is still 60hz man, I can see individual frames; it's just not fast enough. :D

So how did you end up overclocking yours?
Using some utility that's in the monitor thread at OCN. I'm running it at 60hz anyways. Yeah, i can tell what's 60hz and what isn't either. This panel would make your 32" LCD TV look like crap and you wouldn't care about what HZ it's running at. If I were viewing my Samsung monitor at 60hz and this monitor at 60hz, I wouldn't believe that this monitor is actually running at 60hz. Besides are you sure you can tell? You don't seem to have a 120hz monitor. :confused:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Just trying to figure out what all I need to do to OC this to 65 hz or whatever is best. Any tips welcome.
Much info and a utility is in the thread about these displays over at overclock.net (which is linked in this one not too far in) as erocker just said again...