• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2600k build doesn't boot

Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#1
Received the CPU and motherboard today....

The problem, push the power button, the fans turn on, the pump turns on, I see the 4 LEDs on the mobo blink on and then it reboots. Rinse and repeat over and over again. Never ran into this problem before, not getting beeps never seeing bios post.

Silverstone Raven RV03
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
i2600k
16gb Gskill Ripjaws
2x 120gb Adata S511
XSPC Rasa RS360
GTX 570
X-Fi Titanium HD

This is my first gigabyte board, so I'm not sure if I'm just missing something obvious...

At this point I've:
cleared cmos
tried booting with no addin cards, no sata devices, no usb
disconnected and reconnected everything (except cpu)
have tried 8 sticks of ram

I have not reseated the CPU yet. I do not have another 1155 cpu laying around to try either.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
did you pull the battery when clearing the CMOS?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#3
I did not, will do that now.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
let me just add, make sure the PSU is unplugged as well before pulling the battery and clearing CMOS. Remove whatever you are using to jump the pins, replace the battery, add power and try to boot.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#5
I usually unplug the PSU, jump the pins and hold down the power button for a couple seconds. then let it sit for 30 or so seconds.

Added pulling the cmos battery. No dice, same issue still.

Just for kicks I plugged a fan onto the CPU fan header of the motherboard too, same issue still.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 240 XSPC Rad, 2x 120 Stealth Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Lian Li PC-A05
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold 1200w
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Insignia
Software W7 64 bit
#6
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Do you have access to a speaker for the mobo?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#8
Do you have access to a speaker for the mobo?
I don't, well I might. But it's 3am and the more I try without it booting the more rage I'm filled with. Going to try to get some sleep.

Will try a different PSU tomorrow, my luck with corsair psu's has been really bad lately. This would be my 3rd bad one (and this one is an rma replacement for my last one).

And will re-seat the CPU, maybe I'll do this before bed.

Keep the suggestions coming!
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,167 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,807
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
Just checking but did you try it out of the case. No graphics card one stick ram. Use the onboard graphics. Nothing else hooked up. Personal Ive never had a Gigabyte not post.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#10
Re-seated the cpu and I'm in the bios... going to power off, reinstall everything and see how it goes. think this just gave me my second wind. Maybe I had the water block on too tight?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#11
When you say you tried 8 sticks of ram, do you mean really 8 different sticks or 8gb of the 16gb kit? Try only one ram stick in different slots. The most no boot issues i had when building sb rigs where ram related.

Edit:
Ups, to slow i guess. Glad you managed to get it going.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
405 (0.12/day)
Likes
69
Location
US
System Name Main Rig/Wife/Spare/Spare2/Server
Processor FX8350/i73770k/i72600k/i7 920/q9550
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD5/Gigabyte UD3/Asrock Extreme/Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling XSPC/CM Seidon 250/Corsair H50/Sunbeam/OCZ Vendetta 2
Memory 16gb/16gb/8gb/6gb ddr3/8gb ddr2
Video Card(s) R9 290/GTX 670/GTX 570/HD6970/HD4350
Storage 2x840 1xvelociraptor/2xS511 1xwd black/2xC300 1xwd black/1x OCZ Vertex 1xspinpoint/1xOCZ Vertex
Display(s) 2x24in/2x 24in/2x 22in/1x 24in
Case Raven/CM690/CM690/Antec/Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Xi-Fi Titanium/Xi-Fi Fatality/Audigy 2/Realtek Onboard/Realtek Onboard
Power Supply Corsair/Corsair/Antec/Antec/CM
Software Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit/Win 8.1 64bit
#12
When you say you tried 8 sticks of ram, do you mean really 8 different sticks or 8gb of the 16gb kit? Try only one ram stick in different slots. The most no boot issues i had when building sb rigs where ram related.

Edit:
Ups, to slow i guess. Glad you managed to get it going.
I really did try 8 different sticks of ram ;) I have a couple i7 920 systems that I yonked the ram out of, lol.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,167 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,807
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
Install one thing at a time and check if it still posts. Good feeling to see it post ? love it

Personally I go stock on everything until I know it works properly. Including the HS. Ive had to many not post due to some after market item not working right
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
very possible the block was too tight, glad to see you got it somewhat sorted out.