• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2600k@stock/NH-D14 high temps. Any suggestions?

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Im getting high idle's at stock with my NH-D14.
2600k
Asus WS Revolution
8gb g.skill
corsiar ax1200
2xevga 580sc's

Idle @ 40degress
prime load runs at 59degress and again this is all at stock speeds.

Any experiences/suggestions? I left it running prime for 20mins and the heat pipes arent hot or even warm i would say. Seems obvious that its some sort of contact issue, but I already re-applied the thermal paste. Im using the paste that came with my NH-D14 by the way. Currently its running on my test bench (open air). Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
so you have a pic of the contact pattern with paste you applied?

I tell ya what..i have 2x2600..one is very hot, the other, not so much.

what is idle speed?

what is idle volts?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#3
Nice rig dude!

Ditto to what cadaveca said. Also . . .

What's ambient temp? If it's like 35C or something, then I'm not seeing a problem.

Also, while you're in the kitchen can you grab me a beer? :D
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
Nice rig dude!

Ditto to what cadaveca said. Also . . .

What's ambient temp? If it's like 35C or something, then I'm not seeing a problem.

Also, while you're in the kitchen can you grab me a beer? :D

Thanks! Beer comin' up. All i have is Modelo :toast:


Okay so coretemp reports 40's as idle and Asus bios (newest version) report 48's about 10 degrees off

cpu voltage in the asus bios is +1.120
Core Temp is shoiwng "VID" as 0.98 (idle)
cpu-z is idleing @ 1605mhz with "core voltage" 0.92 (idle)


Thanks in advance by the way.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#5
Thanks! Beer comin' up. All i have is Modelo
Ambient temps must be high if you have Modelo. :laugh:
Okay so coretemp reports 40's as idle and Asus bios (newest version) report 48's about 10 degrees off
The BIOS usually has a light load on the CPU which should make the temp higher in the BIOS vs. Windows. (I'm certain this is still true for the standard ASUS P8P67 w/ 2600K because I tested it myself.)
cpu voltage in the asus bios is 1.120
Core Temp is shoiwng "VID" as 0.98 (idle)
cpu-z is idleing @ 1605mhz with "core voltage" 0.92 (idle)
Looks normal to me.

You're sure the heatsink is firmly/evenly seated? You check the contact pattern with the paste as cadaveca mentioned?
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
so you have a pic of the contact pattern with paste you applied?

I tell ya what..i have 2x2600..one is very hot, the other, not so much.

what is idle speed?

what is idle volts?
Ambient temps must be high if you have Modelo. :laugh:

The BIOS usually has a light load on the CPU which should make the temp higher in the BIOS vs. Windows. (I'm certain this is still true for the standard ASUS P8P67 w/ 2600K because I tested it myself.)

Looks normal to me.

You're sure the heatsink is firmly/evenly seated? You check the contact pattern with the paste as cadaveca mentioned?

Will do. Thanks guys. I found a Stella dude! Wanna call it? :)

Thanks for taking the time cadaveca. Ill snap a pic and post. Peace.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#7
so r u overclocked at all or are u at normal speed? If u are at normal speed I would say its a little high
 

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.24/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#9
hows the weather over there? summer winter?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
482 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#11
seems bad contact is the cooler base concaved or the cpu??

because im using cooler master v8 in iraq (you know how hot here) with my q9560 oced to 3.6 doesnt touch 60c 4ghz @1.25about 68-70c
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#12
mesh, that's definitely an insufficient application of thermal paste. You want the full area of the CPU's heat spreader to have an incredibly thin layer of thermal paste to maximize contact area.

The die of the 2600K is a good bit longer than it is wide so I opted for the two line method of paste application.
2600K with die superimposed: http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/reviews/processor/i7-2600K/intel_core_i7_2600K_transparent.jpg
Two line method: http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/..._Methods/Square_TIM_Application_Two_Lines.jpg

With regard to flatness of the 2600K, if it's anything like the one I have it's not very good: concave in the center and also dipping at the corners. I'm far too lazy to sand the IHS though :roll:

is the cooler base concaved
Dude, thats an NH-D14 -- it's flatter than flat.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#13

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
I just cleaned both my chip and cpu real good like. I do notice that the corners dip. The dipped corners are pretty obvious in the right light. Thanks again.
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
37
Location
Slovenia
System Name Sata Buster
Processor i5 6600K@4.6GHz 1.250Vcore
Motherboard MSI Z170A-M3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB DDR4 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti OC TwinFrozr
Storage Intel 330 240GB SSD + WD 1TB RE4
Display(s) Asus P279q
Case Fractal R3
Audio Device(s) Int. Realtek - Yamaha RXV596 - Sennheiser HD280
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Software Win7 64bit
#16
Pea method all the way. I am having my 2600K+D14 overclocked to 4.7GHz with 1.35Vcore and not exceeding 32*C in idle with all power saving options OFF.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
482 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#17
Pea method all the way. I am having my 2600K+D14 overclocked to 4.7GHz with 1.35Vcore and not exceeding 32*C in idle with all power saving options OFF.
wow thats great do u live in a freezer or something:eek: what about load temps?
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
Im gonna get some sleep, been up since 5am. Tomorrow Im gonna re-seat (pea style) one more time and see what happens. If my temps still suck im then im not what what to try next. Thanks guys, ill let you know tomorrow. Peace
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#19
Hi

If you have no luck H2o is the way to go

atb

Law-II
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
Im gonna get some sleep, been up since 5am. Tomorrow Im gonna re-seat (pea style) one more time and see what happens. If my temps still suck im then im not what what to try next. Thanks guys, ill let you know tomorrow. Peace
Yeah, I've got about 29c-34c idle in a 17c ambient, wwith EIST idle clocks(1600mhz and lowered votlage is EIST clocks).

You know, I'm using an H70, but with the fans in silent mode...but I do have the D14 and C14, I can toss the D14 on one of my CPUs and see how it does. I'll get around to that in a bit, gotta get some work done on my review for next week.
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
Yeah, I've got about 29c-34c idle in a 17c ambient, wwith EIST idle clocks(1600mhz and lowered votlage is EIST clocks).

You know, I'm using an H70, but with the fans in silent mode...but I do have the D14 and C14, I can toss the D14 on one of my CPUs and see how it does. I'll get around to that in a bit, gotta get some work done on my review for next week.

Thanks dude but you dont have to do that. You gave me an idea though. Im gonna head over to Fry's and buy an h70 and if I find my temps still suck with the H70 im gonna return it for a full refund :). I just woke up so ima head out now. Once installed ill let you know. Peace.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
It's actually not that big of a deal..I use the NH-C14 on my SB-based review rig, so mounting the NH-D14 is pretty easy. The review rig is completely seperate from the rig I work and game on, as having my work PC in pieces while writing for reviews would suck! I just need to prioritize my time.

That said, your temps seem a bit high, but maybe that's all due to ambient. Your load temps are fairly decent, and match mine almost perfectly on the H70.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#23
Could the 40 degree idle temp be PWM related? As cadaveca says, loads are good, and for good load temps the cooler has to be on right, or damn close to it;)

My thought is the lack of CFM from Noctua at low speeds would cause a slight raise in idle temps versus most other fans, no?
 

mesh

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
Thanks for all the replies guys.

Back, whew! Okay so i purchased the H70 and installed and it seems that its fairly consistent. So the issue is not the Noctua becuase with the H70 I get around the same temps as the Noctua. I would give the edge to the Noctua because it was able to match the H70 but with higher ambient temps. Im sure once ambient rises the H70 will fall behind. Noctua is much, much quieter also. Ill probaby end up returnig the H70 as i dont have any memory clearance issues with my ram which would be the only reason for me to buy this cooler. I will admin that i was expecting more after reading reviews. Could it be that this this chip is extra spicy? Man, am i gonna have to run stock? I cant remember the last time I did that lol. Anyone have any thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
482 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#25
oh this is what i call bad luck