• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2700x Mobo Bios flash?

Gerst05

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
5 (0.28/day)
Hello, I'm hoping to get a bit of clarification on purchasing a MB for my 2700x setup. I'm definitely leaning towards the x470 route, the ASUS Prime X470-Pro ATX AM4 Motherboard to be precise. My only concern is if its basically "plug and play" pop the cpu in and go type deal. Some threads I've been reading are saying that i will have to update my bios and do a flash-back? some can only be done from the manufacturer? No where does it say any of this when I'm shopping for MB's. There's definitely some conflicting reads out there and hoping someone can clear it up!
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
154 (0.25/day)
Location
Australia
Well the Asus website states that the 2700X is compatible even with the first release bios for that motherboard, so it should be good to go.

However there have been 14 bios updates since release so you should definitely do that after setup.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,674 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok listen up, x470 came out with Zen+ 2700, x570 came out with Zen 2 3000 series. Only a x370, b350 A320 would require a bios flash to run a 2000 or 3000 CPU, X470 needs a flash if running a 3000+ CPU...

So just pop it in, now ive heard atleast with AsRock if you flash to latest bios it helps even if you are not running a 3000+CPU.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,575 (1.74/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Flash up to the latest AGESA code.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,144 (0.23/day)
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3466mhz
Video Card(s) Titan V HBM2 12GB
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
let me know if you still need a 2700x... I still have mine and would help out a tpu member np.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
61 (0.04/day)
System Name Harm's Rig
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Air
Memory /G.SKILL DDR4 3600cl16 16GB EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1SSD / 1HHD
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
Hello, I'm hoping to get a bit of clarification on purchasing a MB for my 2700x setup. I'm definitely leaning towards the x470 route, the ASUS Prime X470-Pro ATX AM4 Motherboard to be precise. My only concern is if its basically "plug and play" pop the cpu in and go type deal. Some threads I've been reading are saying that i will have to update my bios and do a flash-back? some can only be done from the manufacturer? No where does it say any of this when I'm shopping for MB's. There's definitely some conflicting reads out there and hoping someone can clear it up!
Thanks!
I Just build that system ,2700x and ASUS Prime X470-Pro, and 16GB 3600CL16 G.SKILL ,will startup ,but need to do a bios update first .
 
Last edited:

Gerst05

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
5 (0.28/day)
thanks for the feedback. After some consideration the ryzen 5 3600 is only 10$ more and seems like a better CPU in general. @harm9963 how have you found the 2700x to perform what that mobo? I guess my same question still applies but to a 3600. Or would i be better off going to the latest x570?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,041 (5.85/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
thanks for the feedback. After some consideration the ryzen 5 3600 is only 10$ more and seems like a better CPU in general. @harm9963 how have you found the 2700x to perform what that mobo? I guess my same question still applies but to a 3600. Or would i be better off going to the latest x570?
If you want to go with X570 your least option is Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS. In terms of features is about the same with ASUS Prime X470-Pro but the TUF has better VRM that can handle easily any 3000 AM4 CPU, without much effort and has the expensive PCI-E 4.0 tracing. Overall the TUF X570 is a better board and cost around 30$ more in US market. If you combine this now with a 3600 you can easily ugrade later to a bigger 3000 or 4000 CPU.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,674 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you want to go with X570 your least option is Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS. In terms of features is about the same with ASUS Prime X470-Pro but the TUF has better VRM that can handle easily any 3000 AM4 CPU, without much effort and has the expensive PCI-E 4.0 tracing. Overall the TUF X570 is a better board and cost around 30$ more in US market. If you combine this now with a 3600 you can easily ugrade later to a bigger 3000 or 4000 CPU.
Is TUF as good as ROG like it was in AM3+ days?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,055 (2.86/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
thanks for the feedback. After some consideration the ryzen 5 3600 is only 10$ more and seems like a better CPU in general. @harm9963 how have you found the 2700x to perform what that mobo? I guess my same question still applies but to a 3600. Or would i be better off going to the latest x570?
Depends on use case. If you're on a budget go for Max b450 from MSI. Otherwise you're getting entry cpu with feature heavy board. You have to ask yourself a question whether you really need PCI gen 4 as x570 boards cost extra.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,041 (5.85/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
Is TUF as good as ROG like it was in AM3+ days?
I really cant tell that with confidence... but probably not.
If you see entire X570 line of ASUS, has top products the ROG boards, some middle(?) too, and the TUF on low segment. Sure its feature segmentation, but it has to be more than that.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,674 (6.42/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I really cant tell that with confidence... but probably not.
If you see entire X570 line of ASUS, has top products the ROG boards, some middle(?) too, and the TUF on low segment. Sure its feature segmentation, but it has to be more than that.
I liked the tuf boards then robust, rugged and a unconventional color layout, no RGB either.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
61 (0.04/day)
System Name Harm's Rig
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Air
Memory /G.SKILL DDR4 3600cl16 16GB EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1SSD / 1HHD
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
thanks for the feedback. After some consideration the ryzen 5 3600 is only 10$ more and seems like a better CPU in general. @harm9963 how have you found the 2700x to perform what that mobo? I guess my same question still applies but to a 3600. Or would i be better off going to the latest x570?
2700X is so much superior to my FX8370e 4500 , you feel and see the difference at 1080p at 4K,it's margin of error , my system was GPU 1080 Ti bound, how many people lived down the street from a Micro center, i had the 3600 first with the Asus x470 , no signal ,no bios, make a long story short ,got the 2700X, did the bios update, still had the 3600, i did try both , the experience was the same for me , and that was what sold me on 2700X, i did exchange my G.SKILL 16GB 3600 cl18 to 3600 cl16 , got lucky on a price change , 5 dollars more, 2700X perform's well on the $89 Asus x470 , can't complaint at all
if i had a load of money, x570 and a 3800 is what i would have today, not next year, just remember this ,Asus x470 was $189 dollars when it came out, and now i have it for $89 dollars new, its up to you.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,041 (5.85/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
Overall, the 2700X and 3600 are about the same.
3600 is winning (5~10%) in single thread and gaming, while 2700X is winning (10~15%) in multicore workloads. It all comes down to... in what you interested mostly. And there is a difference in power consumption and heat. Either the 3600 is winning (by 5~10%) or loosing (by 10~15%), its doing it with 20~30% less power. Although I wouldnt keep its stock cooler cause its sucks. Account to that too.
 
Last edited:

Gerst05

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
5 (0.28/day)
Yeah both processor's seem about the same even on bench. About to pull the trigger on the 3600x combined with the b450 tomahawk max.
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16.
Phanteks PH-ES515PTG_SWT Enthoo Pro M SE with 2X Halos RGB Fan.
EVGA 2070 super black.
Corsair 750w gold.
500gb Evo 970 plus Samsung.

Still debating on whether or not to upgrade the GPU cooler. Really not in the budget as I'm sure the wraith will work.. Wanted to spend most my budget on the GPU as 679$ CAD for the 2070 super is ALOT. Cheapest one I could find. Not to sure where I could cut costs here as this seems to be a solid build after all the research.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,041 (5.85/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
Yeah both processor's seem about the same even on bench. About to pull the trigger on the 3600x combined with the b450 tomahawk max.
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16.
Phanteks PH-ES515PTG_SWT Enthoo Pro M SE with 2X Halos RGB Fan.
EVGA 2070 super black.
Corsair 750w gold.
500gb Evo 970 plus Samsung.

Still debating on whether or not to upgrade the GPU cooler. Really not in the budget as I'm sure the wraith will work.. Wanted to spend most my budget on the GPU as 679$ CAD for the 2070 super is ALOT. Cheapest one I could find. Not to sure where I could cut costs here as this seems to be a solid build after all the research.
If you found 3600X close in price with 3600 then ok, otherwise if the asking price is alot more, it doesnt worth the 200MHz.

What Corsair 750 gold?
 
Last edited:

Gerst05

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
5 (0.28/day)
If you found 3600X close in price with 3600 then ok, otherwise if the asking price is alot more, it doesnt worth the 200MHz.

What Corsair 750 gold?
Corsair CP-9020195-NA RM Series RM750 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular...
 
Top