• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2900xt Bios hexing

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,397 (1.53/day)
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
So I just add the ATI Flash and BIOS's their right? Do i have to rename any files or can i keep them the way they are?
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,397 (1.53/day)
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
So I just add the ATI Flash and BIOS's their right? Do i have to rename any files or can i keep them the way they are?

you can rename the bios anything you can remember. I usually name it 2900xt.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
you can rename the bios anything you can remember. I usually name it 2900xt.

I give up, I have balls lol but not brains. I finaly managed to get in the DOS, but now every time I type atiflash -p 0 -newbios 12v.rom (and I have also tryed 12v.bin by renaming the files) -f i get command or filename not recognized. Im at a lost, sorry, I don't think I'll be doing this one unless someone makes an easy flasher ma boberr like that one guy did for the 2900pro to xt, that was so easy, you boot and then bam you chose what you want to flash and its done. Anyways sorry.:mad:
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,397 (1.53/day)
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I give up, I have balls lol but not brains. I finaly managed to get in the DOS, but now every time I type atiflash -p 0 -newbios 12v.rom (and I have also tryed 12v.bin by renaming the files) -f i get command or filename not recognized. Im at a lost, sorry, I don't think I'll be doing this one unless someone makes an easy flasher ma boberr like that one guy did for the 2900pro to xt, that was so easy, you boot and then bam you chose what you want to flash and its done. Anyways sorry.:mad:

Thats because it's a .rom not a dot BIN.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Thats because it's a .rom not a dot BIN.

Yeah I know, like I said I have tryed even renaming the .rom to .bin on all the files and not one of them work in the DOS.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.71/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
Are you sure the files are on the disc?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Are you sure the files are on the disc?

Yes I am, When I pop the disc back in, I go to my computer open the CD Drive and see all the files there. Come on DaMulta Surely you know what I might be doing wrong. If not all hope is lost.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.71/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
Oh your not on a floppy disc
 

cepoi

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
122 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.7 (300x9)
Motherboard Abit AW9D-MAX (stupid board...with Q6600 G0 only get 300 fsb..)
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory 2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 @ 950MHz (4-4-4-12)
Video Card(s) 2 x Asus HD2900XT 512MB DDR3 Crossfire @ 850/950
Storage 120gb maxtor sata2 + 160gb western digital sata2 + 200gb maxtor sata2
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 931BW 19" widescreen LCD
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850 watt
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.55/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
right.. after a night of trying to get my compact flash card to boot to dos, I succeeded, and flashed my 1gb 2900xt



as you can see, 3d mode voltage is now 1.3vots!!! yippee! lol...

have to go to work in 20 mins, but will try to see what i can get out of the core and post a gpuz validation screen, but my cards alive and healthy
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.34/day)
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
I don't mean to hijack the thread but I'm curious about something. JC, I see in your signature your scores are 3dMark05 20004 3dMark06 12008. Everytime I've seen someone's scores I either score higher in both or lower in both. But my scores are 18,604 in 3dMark05, yet 13,489 in 3dMark06. Is that more common than I think it is to outscore on one 3dMark bench and be outscored on another?

Edit: Just to be complete, I ran both again and copying and pasting exact scores so we can compare.

In 05...
Main Test Results
3DMark Score 18604 3DMarks
CPU Score 10851 CPUMarks

In 06...
Main Test Results
3DMark Score 13747 3DMarks
SM 2.0 Score 5674 Marks
SM 3.0 Score 5558 Marks
CPU Score 4918 Marks
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.11/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Found this thread on nordichardware.com, looks promising! im keeping tuned and hoping the voltage adjustments work!!

but so far clocks can be changed! :rockout:

http://www.nordichardware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?topic=9394&forum=45

maybe before long we will be able to voltmod our 1gb 2900's, wewt!

edit: i just had a thought...on the foxconn or wotever modded bioses for the 512Mb version of the 2900 with insane core speeds (obviously with voltage enhancements) we could modify these bios's to support the 1gb memory of the 1gb 2900 and then flash that... maybe it would work.


or, search for differences and take out the string for controlling 3d voltages and transfer that to the 1gb stock bios
Frikin sweet find, Mand!!!! Time for some good ol hex magic for Wile E.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.55/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.11/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
517 (0.08/day)
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
I'm just about to do mine, I'll try and explain what I did after I get it working
 

cepoi

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
122 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.7 (300x9)
Motherboard Abit AW9D-MAX (stupid board...with Q6600 G0 only get 300 fsb..)
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory 2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 @ 950MHz (4-4-4-12)
Video Card(s) 2 x Asus HD2900XT 512MB DDR3 Crossfire @ 850/950
Storage 120gb maxtor sata2 + 160gb western digital sata2 + 200gb maxtor sata2
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 931BW 19" widescreen LCD
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850 watt
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
anyone has a modified hd2900xt bios with higher clock...so that i can running CF with higher clock?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,333 (1.30/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Yeah so seeing how I could not flash my card, I decided to see what it was like by changing the volts in ATI TOol first. This what I managed to do, on stock cooling.


Then I decided to do more benchmarking of other sorts and on OpenGl Fur Benchmark and right at the start of teh Fury donut my computer just turned off. So I Think I'll be holding off of the flashing until my 600 Watt PSU get here, cause my 500Watt just ain't cuttin it.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.71/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
517 (0.08/day)
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
Okay my volts have been modded :D, I'm going to go see what I can reach.
Btw the command for flashing is:
atiflash -p 0 <biosname>.rom -f
Hope this helps
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,829 (1.74/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro

nflesher87

Staff
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,518 (0.77/day)
Location
Texas
That simply ROCKS!

Even with H2O cooling I get run-away temps (127c) at 810 or so in CCC "find max clocks". Don't think I'm a candidate for a voltage bump :(

those temps don't sound right bro :confused: maybe you need to reseat your waterblock?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
517 (0.08/day)
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
^^ woa... mine gets to 59oC when under 3dmark at 1.35v.... somethings wrong with your block or watercooling system...
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,397 (1.53/day)
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I don't get something here, I am changing the voltage with ATItool on mine, Riva Tuner confirmed, what would be the advantage of me flashing?
 
Top