• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2900XT extreme bios voltages issue

Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.56/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi all, well, I have successfully delved into the realms of tinkering with my 1gb 2900xt's bios, to much success.. however, I am having some issues with manual bios hexing.

I have compared 2 bios's, original and that modified for a higher voltage, and have isolated the hexadecimal string related to the 3d mode voltage control.

To get the voltage from that code you are required to invert the 2 block values and then convert it to binary. (shown on screeny)

All is fine, except for one thing, I cannot get the 3d voltage to go above 1.35 volts, EVEN tho I set the voltage in the bios to 1.45 etc, it just doesnt happen and there is no other modified code within the bios.

I know this is a long shot.. but does ANYONE have a clue why this may be the case, especially when others have used ATItool to take voltages to 1.45 etc..


Heat from that high a voltage isnt an issue, as even 3dmark 06 @ 930/1.35 volts just gives 62C on GPU.

Here is the screeny of the bios comparison:

 
Joined
Mar 26, 2006
Messages
517 (0.09/day)
Location
Stamford, UK
System Name The Money Sink
Processor Intel i7-5960X at 4.60Ghz
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike
Cooling Custom watercooling loop, single D5 -> CPU, dual D5 -> GPU's
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) 2 x 1080Ti @ Stock for the moment (40oC LOAD)
Storage 960GB Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe and 2 x 512GB M.2 SSD RAID0
Display(s) Dual Curved LG 34" Display
Power Supply EVGA 1600W G2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores ALOT
I found that my card was unstable with the 1.35 bios and I am finding I can clock better with 1.25v even though I am on watercooling and get better temps than what you get!
Sorry it's not really helping you answer your question but maybe try lower voltages and see if you get better results? I have a feeling the voltage regulators need cooling at that high voltage...
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.56/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
I found that my card was unstable with the 1.35 bios and I am finding I can clock better with 1.25v even though I am on watercooling and get better temps than what you get!
Sorry it's not really helping you answer your question but maybe try lower voltages and see if you get better results? I have a feeling the voltage regulators need cooling at that high voltage...

my card is totally watercooled, voltage regulators included, and 62C is after looped 3dmark for quite a while. under normal voltages I dont even break 51/52 (heh, I boot at 28c :p ). However, i am still on my 1.45v bios, even tho its just showing 1.35 via rivatuner.

and no, a lower voltage doesnt help, I tried from 1.2 --->1.35 then my 1.45 mod
 

super dank

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I don't know why it does this, but it just seems to be the way things are. :ohwell:

I'm considering hard modding my cards, but those smr's seem get smaller and smaller and smalller.....
 

nickless

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Location
EU
Processor C2Q 6600@4140 - 1.56v
Motherboard Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Vapochill XEII, Swiftech H20-220 Apex Ultra+
Memory Transcend Axe RAM 4x1GB PC2-9600[D9GMH]
Video Card(s) XFX 9800GX2
Storage 320GB SG SATA-II, 120GB WD
Display(s) 17" BENQ FP71V+
Case Asetek
Audio Device(s) On-board Realtek
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W
Software Win XP x86 SP3, Cat 7.11 | Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, Cat 8.3
Hi everyone,
I'm very enthusiastic of these Vmod bioses!
Now I'm with 2900 Pro1GB 1.35V and I've pass FUR rendering benchmark at 985/2466

Mark06 I've passed at 954/2466.


I have a crazy idea to try to pass FUR at 1GHz, but in Quantum Force 2900 Bios Editor there is up to 1.35V. I can't set with Ati tool 0.27b2 1.40V, because to be effective voltage control in Ati tool, fyrst I have to set the frequensy and after that voltage, but when I set 998MHz in Ati tool my PC go down. This is some bug in Ati tool and I hope in the next release it will be fixed.

@mandelore, can I ask You to make Vmod bios for HD 2900 Pro1GB with 1.40V and 1.45V 3D with this HEX editor, becuse I'm afraid I can get into a mess! One guy for XS told me:
"It' possible to HEX edit the bios to any voltage desireable. BUT, for some reason the card does not recognize higher voltage than 1.35"
For all that I want to try, but I can't make this mod, so I ask to You. If there is no effect I will return the old 1.35V bios.

Thank you in advance!

PP. Here is my bios with 1.35V
 

Attachments

  • 291G135V.zip
    37.2 KB · Views: 246
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.56/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi everyone,
I'm very enthusiastic of these Vmod bioses!
Now I'm with 2900 Pro1GB 1.35V and I've pass FUR rendering benchmark at 985/2466

Mark06 I've passed at 954/2466.


I have a crazy idea to try to pass FUR at 1GHz, but in Quantum Force 2900 Bios Editor there is up to 1.35V. I can't set with Ati tool 0.27b2 1.40V, because to be effective voltage control in Ati tool, fyrst I have to set the frequensy and after that voltage, but when I set 998MHz in Ati tool my PC go down. This is some bug in Ati tool and I hope in the next release it will be fixed.

@mandelore, can I ask You to make Vmod bios for HD 2900 Pro1GB with 1.40V and 1.45V 3D with this HEX editor, becuse I'm afraid I can get into a mess! One guy for XS told me:
"It' possible to HEX edit the bios to any voltage desireable. BUT, for some reason the card does not recognize higher voltage than 1.35"
For all that I want to try, but I can't make this mod, so I ask to You. If there is no effect I will return the old 1.35V bios.

Thank you in advance!

PP. Here is my bios with 1.35V

I have already modified bios's above 1.45volts, BUT, they just default to the highest (1.35v) supported by "this" method of bios modding. i need to find out quantumn forces method of modding above 1.35v as it is clearly different from my method, or the commonly used method. dont worry, i will let u know soon as i find out mate. at 1.35v im 945core 3dmark stable, and just know i can get more ;)
 
Top