• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2gb 1066mhz or 4gb 800mhz?

Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#1
Which to buy

A 2GB 1066MHZ Dominator DDRII

Or

A 4GB 800MHZ Dominator DDRII
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#2
Which to buy

A 2GB 1066MHZ Dominator DDRII

Or

A 4GB 800MHZ Dominator DDRII
Get the 4GB 800 MHz with CL4: they will end up being faster then the 1066 CL5 and, with 2 times as much RAM.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#3
both are CL5
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#4
I'd give this a read it'll answer your question and then some...
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#5
So the answer is 4GB 800MHZ
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#6
^^
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
4GB no question about it. i use 4GB while playing a lot of my games.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
Ok, now if you would have asked 4GB of 667mhz. I would have said to take the 2GB of 1066. ;)
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#9
I would get 2gb of 1066mhz if you ever plan on OCing a Core2Duo.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#10
If your os is 32 bit version you will only be using about 3 gb of the the 4 gb kit
I'd go for the 2 gb kit, have not seen any games that use upto 4 gb .... let alone 2 gb
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#11
I guessed as much.

However, if you get the CL4 version (it's more expensive), you'll be able to OC it to 1066, as shown here.

IF you can afford it, by all means, choose these! If you can not afford it, i would recommend the 4 GB @ 800 CL5: even though they are slower then the 1066 ones, Windows works better with more RAM.
If you do choose the 4 GB kit, you'll need either XP 64 or Vista 64 to enjoy the full 4 GB.


I just bought 2 pairs of these myself and i should be getting them tomorrow morning: going from 2 GB of CL4 @ 800 to 8 GB of CL4 @ 800, all Corsair DHX dominators.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#12
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#13
i run a kit of these and a kit of pats but i can do 1100 5-5-5-15 with them both

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145590
Currently, i have 1 kit of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145177

I had 2 kits but i RMAed 1 of them and they (the store) send it back saying all tests on the kit were OK, with zero errors but, yesterday, one of the RMAed sticks passed 12 times MemTest but the other wouldn't even boot :shadedshu

Yesterday, i bought 2 of these (different store) @ 102 euros each kit (look @ how much it costs @ NewEgg ...):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145194

They should arrive in about 8 to 9 hours or so ... :rockout:

EDIT

With 2 kits of 2*1 GB (when all 4 were still working), the best i got was 940 @ 4-4-4-10:


Corsair Dominator DHX CL4 6400 @ 940 MHz
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#14
Does 32bit softwares work on 64bit???

If so then I can buy 4gb otherwise I will get 2gb....
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#15
Yes 32Bit software will run on 64Big OS but that depends on the program itself. Check around before you order just in case you really need a certain program.

As for ram everyone definately told you right, I'm using 2Gigs of Patriot Extreme (PC9200) and 2Gigs of GeIL Black Dragon (PC6400) and I'm running them in 800Mhz mode with cas4 timings. I plan on getting another set of the Patriot Extreme's though as I can run those alone at cas3 up to 840Mhz on CL1 timings which is ridiculously fast! I've been thinking though I may buy the Patriot 1066 Kit (4Gigs) and use that with my Extreme's at 800Mhz on whatever the lowest cas I can get...I doubt the 1066 will do cas3 but it'd be really really nice!

Oh yea, if you're interested the Patriots can also do cas4 up to 1141Mhz with no problems on stock voltage nice and cool to the touch. :)
Good luck either way :)

K
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#16
ok thanks,, so i'll be hitting the 4gb if I could get x64 otherwise 2gb (800mhz) will be engough....
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#17
If you do choose the 4 GB kit, you'll need either XP 64 or Vista 64 to enjoy the full 4 GB.


I just bought 2 pairs of these myself and i should be getting them tomorrow morning: going from 2 GB of CL4 @ 800 to 8 GB of CL4 @ 800, all Corsair DHX dominators.

how do you find out if you have 64 or 32 windows XP? I have windows XP Pro 2002 version. if i have 64 XP can i run full 4 gigs?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,567 (0.42/day)
Likes
611
Processor i5-6600K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2530 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I Mini
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) R9 NANO / VEGA 64 / VEGA 56
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Acer XR382CQK
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID
#18
how do you find out if you have 64 or 32 windows XP? I have windows XP Pro 2002 version. if i have 64 XP can i run full 4 gigs?
It should say right on top of the disc. If it doesn't, then its prob 32. XP was never really big in 64 bit. Chances are you have 32 if your not even sure what it is.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,567 (0.42/day)
Likes
611
Processor i5-6600K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2530 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I Mini
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) R9 NANO / VEGA 64 / VEGA 56
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Acer XR382CQK
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID
#20
32 BIT. I dont think dell shipped 64 bit xp that much if at all. I would bet 1,000000000 its 32 bit
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#21
Right click my computer and select properties it should tell you there. Most likley it is 32bit though as Cybrnook said.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
I would get 2gb of 1066mhz if you ever plan on OCing a Core2Duo.
I know were your coming from i use 2x 2GB sticks and it was hard to oc because denser sticks sometimes cant OC worth of crap but if you unlink them you can push the processor wicked far and you can independently oc the ram to its limit best of both worlds imo. i have 4GB and i will never go back
 

Ub3RUniT

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
but look at those pages:
http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX.pdf
http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX.pdf

the CL4 looks better but if you look at that JEDEC standart you will see that CL4 is a CL 5.. and you need Overlock it by yourself... so what's the point buying a CL4 sticks if you don't overlock them..
btw theres not Dominator on 800mhz... only on 1066 or DDr3
so i am buying a new pc.. and i don't understand.. CL4 or CL5 because CL4 and CL5 are the SAME FFS and i am not overcloking so what would be better??? CL4 or CL5 cuz' they have the same latency....