• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2gb 800 or 4gb 533

Levi28001

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Triple Power
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 710 2.6ghz 'oc 3.2ghz
Motherboard XFX AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling CPU Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro,1x140mm,1x120,2x80,1x60
Memory 2 gb 800/2gb 533 'oc 4gb 650mhz
Video Card(s) xfx gtx 260 core 216 'oc 695/1500/1101
Storage Samsung Hd300
Display(s) Hp w19
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Earth Watts 500w
Software Windows XP/Vista
#1
Right now in my system i have 2 gb of 800mhz oc'd to 936mhz, but i have 2gb 533 laying around

(I should be able to get this up to 650+?). I have been having problems with not enough ram in

gta 4. So i was wondering if more was better.:confused:


Note i have xp 32 bit.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#2
possibly. depends on your motherboard though.

ram has nothing to do with gaming. its your cpu and graphics card.

this is the point where you have to even it out if your going to attempt something like this.

wait a lil for more inputs from members
 

Levi28001

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Triple Power
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 710 2.6ghz 'oc 3.2ghz
Motherboard XFX AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling CPU Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro,1x140mm,1x120,2x80,1x60
Memory 2 gb 800/2gb 533 'oc 4gb 650mhz
Video Card(s) xfx gtx 260 core 216 'oc 695/1500/1101
Storage Samsung Hd300
Display(s) Hp w19
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Earth Watts 500w
Software Windows XP/Vista
#3
Eh i am one of those people if i think of trying something, i usually do :). I have alreadys stuck it in and run some benchmarks and gta4.

No more freezing in gta 4 and passmark memory benchmarks have improved. 15% overall but 37% in large ram. :D

Lost a little speed Read and copy dropped 1000mb/s and latency jumped but write stayed the same.

XP only picks up 3.4 gbs.

Will try overclocking somemore on my cpu to bump up the ram.

Anyone got any idea on top speed of the 533 i might be able to get? At 625 now.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
ram has nothing to do with gaming. its your cpu and graphics card.
:laugh:

If only.

So the fact when I play GTA IV my RAM usage is about 75%, so 3 GB.

No i'd be fine with 128mb still :rolleyes:

800 MHz tends to be the sweet spot for gaming, so your better off getting another 800 set,and then taking the leap to 64-bit if you can to actually make use of that.

As it stands, with a 32-bit OS you may as well stick with 2 GB.
 

Levi28001

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Triple Power
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 710 2.6ghz 'oc 3.2ghz
Motherboard XFX AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling CPU Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro,1x140mm,1x120,2x80,1x60
Memory 2 gb 800/2gb 533 'oc 4gb 650mhz
Video Card(s) xfx gtx 260 core 216 'oc 695/1500/1101
Storage Samsung Hd300
Display(s) Hp w19
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Earth Watts 500w
Software Windows XP/Vista
#5
Yeah i got vista i can install just haven't yet, not a fan at all of it. Waiting for windows 7 :p.

2GB with xp on gta4 was maxing out ram and trying to use virtual memory or something. 2.2gb+ were being used anyways. Probably why the recommened ram for xp is 3gb


And yeah i didn't get the second post

"ram has nothing to do with gaming. its your cpu and graphics card."
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#6
possibly. depends on your motherboard though.

ram has nothing to do with gaming. its your cpu and graphics card.

this is the point where you have to even it out if your going to attempt something like this.

wait a lil for more inputs from members
I dont know where you heard that, but ram makes the difference in a game playing smooth or if you dont have enough it will run choppy as hell.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#7
The capacity of RAM is (nearly) always better than the speed. I'd take 4GB of DDR2-533 over 2GB of DDR2-1066 any day. The difference between DDR2-533 and DDR2-1066 isn't that much. And it takes benchmarks to show the difference. In normal usage, you really won't notice the difference.

The max frequency the sticks will reach depends on the actual memory chips on the Dimms. I'm sure you've heard that the Micron D9's are the best to have. I have a DDR2-675 kit that does DDR2-1066 stable. So it's hard to know how well the RAM will OC.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#8
On XP 32 bit I don`t know. On other hand Vista and win7 X64 4GB at as high you could take them.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#9
yeah tell him to get micrond 9'ds seriously HAHA like he can find them.

hello more ram = better but still timings are still going to be better.

hmm it doesn't take much to get the game running but like he said he's getting choppy ass graphics. upgrade to 64 bit keep your ram and play again see how you do