• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2nd PSU fan won't spin

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#1
I just got a brand new Seasonic M12 600W for a build i'm doing and i having a problem with it. The first thing i do when i get a new PSU is test it with my Rexus PSU tester (the one w/ LCD screen). So as usual i plugged in the 24 pin and 8 pin connectors into the PSU tester and plugged in the power cord. Everything is OK (good voltages, etc), except for the fact that the 2nd 60mm fan on the PSU won't spin, in fact it starts spinning for about 1 second and then stops. The big 140mm works fine. What does this mean, do i have a bad PSU? The only thing i can think of is that the other fan will start when i plug more stuff into a PSU (remember i only plugged in 2 connectors for testing). I'm gonna start testing the other connectors one by one as per the PSU tester's manual, may be it will start spinning? Anyway, has anyone ever heard of this kinda thing before?
 

Viscarious

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
951 (0.27/day)
Likes
149
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE
Motherboard ASUS M3A32MVP Deluxe 790FX
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracers 4G (1G x 4) 800Mhz CAS4
Video Card(s) VisionTek HD3870 + a VisionTek HD3870 OC Edition Xfire'd
Storage 320G WD SATA + 160G
Display(s) Gateway HD 19" 4ms
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply 650W Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows Vista 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores candle_86 is a fanboi
#2
Its prolly only for when the PSU trips its thermal limit and then kicks on.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#3
So this is normal for a PSU w/ 2 fans? Everything else checks out: i tested all connectors one by one and they are good. Voltages are almost perfect as well, so i can't find anything wrong with it other than that silly fan.
 

Viscarious

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
951 (0.27/day)
Likes
149
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE
Motherboard ASUS M3A32MVP Deluxe 790FX
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracers 4G (1G x 4) 800Mhz CAS4
Video Card(s) VisionTek HD3870 + a VisionTek HD3870 OC Edition Xfire'd
Storage 320G WD SATA + 160G
Display(s) Gateway HD 19" 4ms
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply 650W Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows Vista 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores candle_86 is a fanboi
#4
I dont see any reason not to use it. One 80mm fan isnt going to do much anyways. And since its got a 140mm fan as well, you'd be crazy to send it back and wait for a week or two just for 20-30 CFM.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#5
I didn't say i'm sending it back, i'm just trying to find out if this is normal. I'm going to call Seasonic and ask them, hopefully they can answer my question.
 

Viscarious

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
951 (0.27/day)
Likes
149
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE
Motherboard ASUS M3A32MVP Deluxe 790FX
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracers 4G (1G x 4) 800Mhz CAS4
Video Card(s) VisionTek HD3870 + a VisionTek HD3870 OC Edition Xfire'd
Storage 320G WD SATA + 160G
Display(s) Gateway HD 19" 4ms
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply 650W Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows Vista 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores candle_86 is a fanboi
#6
I hope so too, haha. Im betting its a thermal trip thing.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#7
I read in a magazine that this is common, the second fan just kicks in if the temps are too high or at a certain level. So dont worry.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#8
I hope so too, haha. Im betting its a thermal trip thing.
I agree, what you say makes sense, still i'd like to hear it from them. I'll post an answer after i find out. I hope their tech support is not horrible.

Edit: thnx MRCL. Looks like we posted at the sime time, lol
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
More than likely a thermal trip that starts the fan spinning. I've gotten a few PSU's that do that, though usually they have a sticker on them telling you the fan might not spin unless it is needed.

Edit: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowI...ption=SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM 600W Power Supply

If you look at the picture from newegg, the sticker I was talking about is supposed to be on your Seasonic. Maybe they just left it off at the factory as an oversight or something, but that fan is definitely temperature activated. It is hard to read in that picture, but the sticker says "Temperature Activated Fan Rotates only when required".
 
Last edited:

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#10
duh, boy am i dumb. i didn't even see that sticker until you pointed it out. I read the manual and the other sticker with voltages but not that one. In that case problem solved. thnx newtekie :)