• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2x 74gb WD Raptor 15k raid 0 vs 4x 80gb 7.2k 2.5 raid 0

Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#1
2x 74gb WD Raptor 10k raid 0 vs 4x 80gb 7.2k 2.5 raid 0

i am currently running 2x 74gb Western Digital Raptor hard drives for my main OS drive its pretty fast but LOUD and they need a fan sitting right next to them to keep them cool and 140gb really isn't enough space once games get installed

i am upgrading 4 laptop hard drives to 500gb for someone and this leaves me with 4x 80gb 7200rpm laptop drives. my questions are:

will 4x 2.5 7200rpm 80gb laptop drives be much faster than the 2x 15k rpm raptors?

can i stack 4 laptop hard drives without them overheating?

should i run raid 0 on them? 4x drives are twice as lightly to fail than 2x or sacrifice a drive and some speed and do raid 5 on my amd 785g chipset?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
I'd probably just RAID-0 or RAID-5 all six of them, given their size. But that's just me, not caring about the noise and my HDD bays are fan-cooled. I'd also lean toward RAID-0 given the so-so RAID-5 performance of the SB750.

Perhaps just install the 4 x 80GB on your open ports, RAID them, and see how they bench vs the Raptors before going through the process of installing the OS on them and reinstalling apps.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#3
I'd probably just RAID-0 or RAID-5 all six of them, given their size. But that's just me, not caring about the noise and my HDD bays are fan-cooled. I'd also lean toward RAID-0 given the so-so RAID-5 performance of the SB750.

Perhaps just install the 4 x 80GB on your open ports, RAID them, and see how they bench vs the Raptors before going through the process of installing the OS on them and reinstalling apps.
unfortunately my motherboard only has 4x SATA II ports so i cant hook everything in all at once. i am going to make an image of my current array but i am not sure what imaging software works with AMD raid any suggestions? and i think i remember something about copying arrays to a different drive configuration that if you do you lose performance due to sector alignment or something?:wtf: not sure tho. does anyone know anything about this?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Keep with what you have already. Although if your going have the drives anyways try it like why the hell not.

Having one big array is not really the best way to go as if it ever needs rebuilding it slows every thing down. I find it better to have multiple arrays than just 1.

Never let me down yet
Acronis True Image WD Edition Software
http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en

Although i have only tested it with Intel chipsets but been able to copy a raid array to a single drive and back to a array.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
unfortunately my motherboard only has 4x SATA II ports so i cant hook everything in all at once. i am going to make an image of my current array but i am not sure what imaging software works with AMD raid any suggestions? and i think i remember something about copying arrays to a different drive configuration that if you do you lose performance due to sector alignment or something?:wtf: not sure tho. does anyone know anything about this?
So the board in your specs is the one in question? That would be nVidia (nForce 630a), not AMD. At first I thought you might be talking about a different system. Luckily it doesn't matter which system you're using :)

As far as the OS is concerned, it sees 148GB. Doesn't matter to it how it was formed or if it was a single drive. Same goes for the imaging software. It's sees 144GB to copy (minus free space, if it has the ability to shrink). After the array is created, all the software will evaluate is that the 144GB image will fit onto your 320GB "drive".

Can't give any specifics as to which one to use as I don't do a lot of imaging.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#6
So the board in your specs is the one in question? That would be nVidia (nForce 630a), not AMD. At first I thought you might be talking about a different system. Luckily it doesn't matter which system you're using :)

As far as the OS is concerned, it sees 148GB. Doesn't matter to it how it was formed or if it was a single drive. Same goes for the imaging software. It's sees 144GB to copy (minus free space, if it has the ability to shrink). After the array is created, all the software will evaluate is that the 144GB image will fit onto your 320GB "drive".

Can't give any specifics as to which one to use as I don't do a lot of imaging.
lol no the motherboard in question is a Foxconn Cinema II premium with a 785g+SB750. i have set up the 4 drives with the motherboard and put a fresh install of 7x64 on it and done some benchmarks and it runs about the same speed as my 2 raptors around 130mb's. but is almost totally silent!
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#7
i ran hd tune and this is what i got. i also noticed that all my drives were not 7200rpm one is 5400 :(.

 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,098 (0.66/day)
Likes
811
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#8
Access time is an important metric as well. 14.9ms is at least double what a single raptor is.

For Large Single files it doesn't matter as much. But for games that load hundreds of assets before launching that access time can make a big difference in load times.

Also CPU Usage is important, and yours is showing some odd negative numbers. My guess is the Raptor Raid 0 setup will use less CPU power than the 4 disc RAID 0. With a Athlon X2 you may want to reserve those cycles for games instead of managing a hard drive array.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#9
Access time is an important metric as well. 14.9ms is at least double what a single raptor is.

For Large Single files it doesn't matter as much. But for games that load hundreds of assets before launching that access time can make a big difference in load times.

Also CPU Usage is important, and yours is showing some odd negative numbers. My guess is the Raptor Raid 0 setup will use less CPU power than the 4 disc RAID 0. With a Athlon X2 you may want to reserve those cycles for games instead of managing a hard drive array.
i did notice the access time and thats what i loved about the raptors but that being said i have owned them for about a year and that noise is starting to bug me. i am going to connect them back up and benchmark them and see how much of a diffrerence there is

my cpu is a 1055T x6 so that should be fast enough and i thought you only needed alot of CPU for raid modes that have parity like 5 or 6?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
886 (0.24/day)
Likes
136
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#10
I could be wrong but I don't think WD ever made a 15,000 RPM 74GB Raptor. It does say "2x10k" in your signature so maybe it was just an error, or wishful thinking :laugh:

How about posting the HD Tune benchmarks for your Raptor RAID for comparison?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#11
I could be wrong but I don't think WD ever made a 15,000 RPM 74GB Raptor. It does say "2x10k" in your signature so maybe it was just an error, or wishful thinking :laugh:

How about posting the HD Tune benchmarks for your Raptor RAID for comparison?
wishfull thinking lol... i was looking at 15k sas drives going real cheap on ebay shame the controllers are a small fortune.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
i did notice the access time and thats what i loved about the raptors but that being said i have owned them for about a year and that noise is starting to bug me. i am going to connect them back up and benchmark them and see how much of a diffrerence there is

my cpu is a 1055T x6 so that should be fast enough and i thought you only needed alot of CPU for raid modes that have parity like 5 or 6?
Try getting HD Tune pro amd lower the Automatic acoustic management of the Raptors and see how they do. How ever i don't know if it stay that way with a trail version od HD tune Pro.

Or even try Winaam.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#15
If the noise is getting to you try some Scythe Anti Vibration mounts. I know they are for 5.25 bays but they do dampen the sound. I ran 6 Raptors in RAID 0 for quite a while and I kind of like that thumpity sound they make.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#16
Raptor 74GB are Sata 1 only...

Anyhow why not just buy a cheap SSD 60+GB it will be much faster then your Raptor's in raid0 those drives are so hold that even a single 1-2TB HDD would perform as good as your Raptor in raid0 if not better lol!

If you can't afford a SSD buy a big 7200 HDD , my 1TB HDD does 106.3MB/s average all the time just higher access time but who is going to notice a few 1000 of 1 second or is it 1 000 000/1?
Anyhow some 2TB HDD can get 110-125MB/s average now put two of those in raid0... :nutkick: at your Raptor's all day long...
HDD are so cheap now that i wouldn't waist time on older Raptor tech which is obsolete this days
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#17
Raptor 74GB are Sata 1 only...

Anyhow why not just buy a cheap SSD 60+GB it will be much faster then your Raptor's in raid0 those drives are so hold that even a single 1-2TB HDD would perform as good as your Raptor in raid0 if not better lol!

If you can't afford a SSD buy a big 7200 HDD , my 1TB HDD does 106.3MB/s average all the time just higher access time but who is going to notice a few 1000 of 1 second or is it 1 000 000/1?
Anyhow some 2TB HDD can get 110-125MB/s average now put two of those in raid0... :nutkick: at your Raptor's all day long...
HDD are so cheap now that i wouldn't waist time on older Raptor tech which is obsolete this days

i have had the raptors for over a year they are still much faster than 1 large 7200rpm drive when it comes to small files and for loading stuff that is what you need. i know an ssd would kick both their asses but they are still £115 for 120gb

i copied my normal OS to the 4x laptop drives using Acronis True Image and after a day of using them i can feel that they just not as fast especially starting windows up i can notice the extra time. but its almost totally silent and I have 320gb compared to 140gb for the pair of raptors so i think i am going to keep using the laptop drives for now and Ebay the raptors i could then use the cash to invest in an ssd.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
886 (0.24/day)
Likes
136
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#18
i have had the raptors for over a year they are still much faster than 1 large 7200rpm drive when it comes to small files and for loading stuff that is what you need.
Yes, I've noticed that people who bash the 10K drives often don't realize how important seek times and access times are. Unless you are using a SSD or 15K drives, the Raptor/VeliciRaptors are unbeatable when it comes to quickly loading small files. In games I'm usually in the room right behind the guy with a SSD. ;)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#19
i have had the raptors for over a year they are still much faster than 1 large 7200rpm drive when it comes to small files and for loading stuff that is what you need. i know an ssd would kick both their asses but they are still £115 for 120gb

i copied my normal OS to the 4x laptop drives using Acronis True Image and after a day of using them i can feel that they just not as fast especially starting windows up i can notice the extra time. but its almost totally silent and I have 320gb compared to 140gb for the pair of raptors so i think i am going to keep using the laptop drives for now and Ebay the raptors i could then use the cash to invest in an ssd.
Good luck, you will need it running a 4 drive raid0 array, it's twice more likely to fail compared to your raptors and slower to boot (no pun intended) I see no logical reason to change