• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

3 x 30Gb OCZ Vertex Raid 0 Array?

Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
313 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
Location
Dublin, Ireland
System Name Kablamo
Processor Some Intel i5
Motherboard some gigabyte board
Cooling h80i
Memory samsung sticks that got a good review a few years back
Video Card(s) 6950 acting like a 6970
Storage some solid state ocz drives
Display(s) Samsung T260HD (1920 x 1200)
Case bitfenix microatx case
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair 750 or similar
Mouse M65
Keyboard g510
Software win 10
#1
Thinking of putting together a 90gb raid array with 3 x 30Gb ocz vertex drives. In total it would cost about 400 euro... Would you do it? I sometimes worry about my sanity when it comes to computer gear....
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Yes, yes I would.
 

CyberDruid

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#3
Take a look at the G Skill Titan. The dual controller cures stuttering pretty much.
 

waxking1

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Likes
9
#4
I think I would just get the 120GB Vertex with 64mb cache. I haven't heard any reports of any stuttering in the Vertex series. Also wouldn't you need to purchase a controller card for the 3 way raid?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#5
The Vertex is the best SSD out now, doesn't use that junk controller that still stutters even with the dual crap and firmware updates. If you're going to get a high perf ssd for your desktop only get a vertex. I don't even trust intel now with that fragmentation stuff. Not that it matters, the vertex is faster and cheaper than the intel too.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,531
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
depends on your needs. if you're just a gamer, get one large one.

be kinda useless if your windows goes from 3 seconds boot time to 2.95, or your games go from 5 seconds to 4 seconds... you wont get a huge boost from multiple drives, like you would from a mechanical to one SSD.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#7
depends on your needs. if you're just a gamer, get one large one.

be kinda useless if your windows goes from 3 seconds boot time to 2.95, or your games go from 5 seconds to 4 seconds... you wont get a huge boost from multiple drives, like you would from a mechanical to one SSD.
really only this difference , so for me i chose large one ssd
 

sethk

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
63 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
#8
depends on your needs. if you're just a gamer, get one large one.

be kinda useless if your windows goes from 3 seconds boot time to 2.95, or your games go from 5 seconds to 4 seconds... you wont get a huge boost from multiple drives, like you would from a mechanical to one SSD.
Over a certain speed, maybe the benefits are less noticeable - depends on the user. I think speed benefits are still noticeable. Watch this video for the concept taken to extremes: http://www.engadget.com/2009/03/09/24-samsung-ssds-get-strung-together-for-supercomputer-fun/
If you prefer raw number, read some of the recent reviews running Vertex drives in RAID - the performance scaling is very impressive.

In fact SSD drives show a much better (closer to linear) scaling than mechanical drives in RAID because of the very low latency, leading to much less blocking (no need to perform head aligns). So I would not agree in general with the assumption that SSD drives will show less of a boost in RAID 0 compared to mechanical drives in RAID.

Running multiple drives in RAID is a pain and expensive, but the performance benefits for the hardcore are undeniable, compared to a single larger drive.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#9
the best use for a ssd i ever see was to use it for a ps3 :D
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
I'm about to get 2 30GB vertex for raid 0, so yes, I'd do it in a second!
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
I'm about to get 2 30GB vertex for raid 0, so yes, I'd do it in a second!
I am about to do the exact same thing! What kind of raid controller are you going to use? I am not all that familiar with raid, but would like to know if I could get away with using some onboard controller on a socket 775 motherboard. I am building the system from scratch, so if you could recommend a motherboard that would be able to realize the performance gains of the two ssds in raid 0, it would be much appreciated. If you think I have to get a raid controller, any ideas on which one and how much cache? I might just bail out on the concept if I have to get a raid controller over 200 dollars.

If worse comes to worse, I might just get a 30 GB vertex as a system disk, but I don't know what kind of benefit I should expect from that.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#12
yea i'm just using the onboard intel chipset ich9r controller. I think we can get away with using the onboard controller for up to 500-600MB/s. I don't know what motherboard you have so I can't say if yours has a raid controller or not but if it does then there's no real need to go out and buy a raid card. I mean you'll probably gain 5-10MB/s on the onboard controller, if that. Hope that helps, I'll post once I get my vertexes...it's starting to get itchy waiting for them!:banghead:
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#13
It's been my idea to RAID0 two of the 32Gigger (I was thinking Patriot) SSD's for a WHILE now, so yes, YES I WOULD! :)
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#14
cheapskate1988, by any chance were you born in '88?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#16
Me too, but I don't have $3500 :/
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
You guessed it. 1988 was a great year to enter this God-forsaken place we call reality. It's been a good time so far.

I think I have got some of the final specifications for this computer I'm going to be building over the summer. Gotta save a bit more, but I still have some concerns. Principally, I am still not sure if the OCZ Vertex 30 GB, which is an MLC-based drive, is going to last long enough if I put the page file on it. The SLC products are just way too pricy right now, but I would want this drive to last for a least five years until the prices come down for an SLC replacement.

Do you think it would be reasonable to put my page file on the the RAID Disk? My plan would be to put XP, the page file, major applications and the occasional game on the 58 GB partition that the RAID 0 would create. I would then have a traditional hard disk as the main storage drive. Would having applications and the page file on the same SSD partition slow the apps down and defeat the purpose?

Bunch of questions, I know, but I am very eager to hear your results. I am going to be using a GIGABYTE GA-EG45M-UD2H LGA 775 Intel G45 HDMI Micro ATX with an ICH10R south bridge. It'll have an E8500 Wolfdale, 4 GB of Mushkin DDR2 1066, and my current HD 4670 1 GB GDDR3.

I am not a heavy gamer, but enjoy the occasional round of Fallout 3, Call of Duty 2 or any of the Total War games. My main goal is to have a workhorse computer because I cannot stand waiting on technology. Hopefully we won't have to anymore.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#19
sweet another '88 child!

Since I have 8gb of ram I chose not to have a page file at all. It's pretty much useless to me. And the last time I put my page file on another raid 0 volume I had, one of the drives had an error and it cost me a clean install and some loss of files. So with my experience of that, never again will I have page file or if needed, put a page file on a raid volume. But then again that's just my luck, you might have a better experience. who knows?

The problem with page file on the SSD is that you want to extend the life of your SSD as long as you can and that means lowering random writes as much as possible. Page file would mean increased random writes to the SSD, and over at the OCZ forums one of the features they suggest you turn off if you can is pagefile, along with prefetch and superfetch, and drive indexing.

Hope that helps, should be getting my vertexes today or tomorrow.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
I guess you are right. 4 GB is probably sufficient to disable the page file anyway. Especially in XP. It cant be doing all that much if XP doesn't really occupy all that much physical memory anyway.

Now there will be no moving parts, but better yet, no moving virtual memory constantly filling up and dumping itself.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
255 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Glendale, Arizona
System Name Don't Stop, Get It Get It 2.0
Processor i5 2500K 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 PRO
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage 120GB X 2 Vertex 3 RAID 0
Display(s) Yamakasi 27inch LED
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Corsair AX 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#21

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#22
I guess you are right. 4 GB is probably sufficient to disable the page file anyway. Especially in XP. It cant be doing all that much if XP doesn't really occupy all that much physical memory anyway.

Now there will be no moving parts, but better yet, no moving virtual memory constantly filling up and dumping itself.
Disabling the pagefile is a bad idea, regardless of the amount of ram you have. Some programs require it to run properly, regardless.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#23
Disabling the pagefile is a bad idea, regardless of the amount of ram you have. Some programs require it to run properly, regardless.
yep
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
Good to know. I know there has always been some debate about pagefiles. Any recommendations then on where to place the page file? Could its being on an MLC limit the lifespan to under five years? It would be a little disappointing if the performance gains were lowered by having to put it on a conventional disk.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
Good to know. I know there has always been some debate about pagefiles. Any recommendations then on where to place the page file? Could its being on an MLC limit the lifespan to under five years? It would be a little disappointing if the performance gains were lowered by having to put it on a conventional disk.
With the super low seek times, I'd try to leave it on the SSD first. I would compare putting it on a separate drive tho, just in case.