• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

32 bit vs 64 bit: How it relates to video cards

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Mussels - How about updating the original post to include some new figures for example, 1.5/2Gb video cards. Surely these effect the amount of usable ram?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
EDIT : Lol, sorry for reviving the thread... in all honesty I read the last post as november...oh well.

Useful thread. First page was especially helpful.

I am currently thinking of buy a new computer. I will give the specs that I plan to use so I can then ask my question.


Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 870 Socket AM3 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz Socket AM3 8MB L3 Cache 125W Retail Box Processor
OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHZ Gold AMD Memory Kit CL8 1.65V
Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDMI Dual Mini Display Port Out PCI-E Graphics Card

My questions are - Using this build mainly for gaming (dx10/11) will the RAM be a bottleneck for the graphics card?

Are any of the components bottlenecks for each other?

Would I have considerably/more performance in gaming with a AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz 9MB Cache Socket AM3 Retail Box Processor using the same build?

Would I have considerably/more performance in gaming with OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz AMD Black Edition Memory Kit AOD Ready CL8(8-8-8-24) 1.65V using either builds?

Would I have consderably/more performance in gaming with Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7 890FX Socket AM3 8 Channel Audio Out XL-ATX Motherboard in any of the combinations?

And finally (sorry too many questions for a newbie :() If I had the Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI HDMI Dual Mini Display Port Out PCI-E Graphics Card in crossfire x2, would I need more RAM? What PSU would I need? Would it be compatible with any of the combinations?

DX10 and 11 dont duplicate the ram, so no, it wont be a problem at all. 4GB is still enough for every game these days.


the rest of your questions are better off asked in another thread, probably here System Builder's Advice


Mussels - How about updating the original post to include some new figures for example, 1.5/2Gb video cards. Surely these effect the amount of usable ram?

I think everyone gets the hang of it now. anyone using a 2GB video card in DX9 games in XP 32 bit, is gunna get what they deserve...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
DX10 and 11 dont duplicate the ram, so no, it wont be a problem at all. 4GB is still enough for every game these days.


the rest of your questions are better off asked in another thread, probably here System Builder's Advice





I think everyone gets the hang of it now. anyone using a 2GB video card in DX9 games in XP 32 bit, is gunna get what they deserve...
Haha... yeah it's pretty obvious come to think of it now :roll:
 

Rolano

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
4
Mussels, I think you don't have full understanding of address space mapping and Windows memory model.

For 32bit Windows, due to linear memory model only 4GB space is addressable.
Upper part is taken by kernel (mostly API functions mapping) and then goes down by each device drivers mapping their supported hardware IO into 32 bit address space. Video driver is one of them.

Physical memory is MAPPED into system address space for application use. Video memory is also directly MAPPED to kernel address space, it DOES NOT use physical RAM for it. Its Windows Vista and 7 Aero interface thing that does video frame buffer copy of application window like a texture because it is implemented so.

Video driver max mapped address space window can be 256MB if i remember correctly and there are some nuances in how kernel memory can be mapped by drivers. Also this kernel and driver memory mapping is always present in all threads so that is why in 32 bit systems with video card with more than 256MB memory maximum usable physical RAM to Windows (without special technique like PAE) can be 3.25 GB, but if other drivers map their portion of kernel memory "badly", you can get down to worst case of 2GB of useful physical memory.

Now about individual applications. In 32 bit Windows every application gets up to 2GB (3GB with -3GB flag) user space of these max usable 3.25 physical memory for their use. Much of it is same physical memory shared by several applications by using same DLLs.

In 64 bit Windows, 32 bit applications behave exactly the same way as in 32 bit and have exact same limitations as in 32 bit Windows.

For 64 bit applications there are several changes:
1. Kernel system space and driver mappings now take place in upper 8 TB (8 terabytes because current CPUs use only 48 bit physical address lines) of address space, so maximum useful physical memory is 8TB - kernel and driver needs.
2. Normal applications still get 2GB of user space.
3. Applications with -3GB flag get full 4GB user space.

So that is why 32 bit system without special techniques (PAE, ramdisk, etc) can only use 3.25-3.5GB of physical RAM, and 64 bit can use full amount of physical RAM (because no system can have 8TB of physical RAM today).

I hope this helps to clear things up.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Mussels, I think you don't have full understanding of address space mapping and Windows memory model.

i certainly DONT understand all of it.

the whole point of this was to bring everyone out who does understand it, or parts of it, and get all that knowledge together since no one seemed to have a clue about it.


All i know for fact is that 32 bit OS's are a limitation to many modern games, and a 64 bit OS with LAA applications can alleviate that - the rest of this is trying to figure out why that is (which is hard with so little information available on the internet and contradicting opinions), and getting people to at least realise there IS an issue, even if they dont understand it completely.


thanks for providing more information, i'm sure people will read it and appreciate it.
 

Rolano

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
4
Yeah, nice point about making people informed about operating system they use.

There is very nice blog detailing how Windows internals work. Here are some useful links for this discussion from there:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/07/21/3092070.aspx
http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/11/17/3155406.aspx

Added:
It seems, I also have made some mistakes in my previous post, so please read the links I provided for full picture, the info there is guaranteed to be correct.
 
Last edited:

Ulysses

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6600 @ 3.5G
Video Card(s) 6950
Display(s) iiyama 26"
Interesting thread, but it certainly does *not* work the way it's described in the 1st post.
I still have windows XP (32bit) :eek:, and even though I have a 2GB 6950 windows is still able to manage 3.5G (it only "wastes" 0.5G for I/O space). Makes me wonder: is it making use of the video card's 2G ???
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
Interesting thread, but it certainly does *not* work the way it's described in the 1st post.
I still have windows XP (32bit) :eek:, and even though I have a 2GB 6950 windows is still able to manage 3.5G (it only "wastes" 0.5G for I/O space). Makes me wonder: is it making use of the video card's 2G ???
with your kind of system i would be using seven because it has dx10 and 11 support unlike XP
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
In a 32 bit system you don't technically have 4gb RAM. You can install that much, but 3.19GB or something like that is all that is seen by the OS. Anything above that is wasted which is why most systems sold today with a 32 bit OS installed come with 3GB RAM.

You should have more than that for gaming, though, because even though a particular game might not see anything above 2GB, overhead penalties from the OS are reduced. How many times have you experienced slowdowns while playing because Windows needed to access the pagefile? It's hard for your game to import data from the hard drive with all that pagefile work going on and still maintain a seamless display. These days with people with gaming rigs with huge memory configurations there is virtually no pagefile access, but for those of us lower down on the foodchain it can still get to be a problem.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Interesting thread, but it certainly does *not* work the way it's described in the 1st post.
I still have windows XP (32bit) :eek:, and even though I have a 2GB 6950 windows is still able to manage 3.5G (it only "wastes" 0.5G for I/O space). Makes me wonder: is it making use of the video card's 2G ???
no, in a 32 bit OS its not possible to use that.


32 bit apps in a 32 bit OS only get 2GB address space total, so there is no way you can use all 2GB of video ram (unless your app uses 0MB of ram)
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
with your kind of system i would be using seven because it has dx10 and 11 support unlike XP
Ditto. 7 doesn't suffer the performance penalties that Vista did, either. There's no longer any reason to still be using XP unless you have mission critical apps that actually require it, like some businesses do. Home users should move to 7 and skip Vista and they should be upgrading to x64.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
282 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
Memory 6gb DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD6870
Storage Seagate 1tb
Display(s) Acer AL2216W
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Ultra LS-550
no way to tell Vram that i know of. it needs to be supported in the video cards and drivers for that to work.

I THINK some Nvidia cards + GPUZ can show Vram used, but not all of them, and not ATI.
crazyeyes posted some charts in another thread that showed the amount of VRAM that some games were maxing out at. The only one I remember clearly was Oblivion and that game was maxing out at 600megs of VRAM usage with all the bells and whistles turned on. Games have advanced a lot since then so VRAM usage has to be pushing the limits of a 1GB card by now if it hasn't already surpassed it. When 28nm hits, I wouldn't be surprised to see more cards with more than 1gb installed than there are now. 1.5gb will probably be the minimum for anyone who wants to play games with any sort of eye candy turned on.
 

Ulysses

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6600 @ 3.5G
Video Card(s) 6950
Display(s) iiyama 26"
There has to be some mechanism for applications to use VRAM greater than 256 megs, because that's all that gets allocated in the memory address space... (e.g. XP32bits: E0000000-EFFFFFFF and yes I know I do need to go 7 to get DX11 :p)
I am not sure the articles quoted are relevant to games running in full screen mode, especially the part about XP having to duplicate video stuff into system RAM: sounds too dumb to be true, even for MS...
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
well read the links on the OP, the inbuilt thing may not be reporting correctly
 

Ulysses

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Q6600 @ 3.5G
Video Card(s) 6950
Display(s) iiyama 26"
That reasoning is a bit strange... if Windows didn't know for itself where things were in memory, how could anything work :wtf: So yes, the windows system memory report has more credibility than some web article :rolleyes:
Edit: besides, the article http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/07/21/3092070.aspx states that under 7x86 each 1GB card is "only" being mapped for 256MB each, which seems consistent with my findings under XPx86 ;)
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
That reasoning is a bit strange... if Windows didn't know for itself where things were in memory, how could anything work :wtf: So yes, the windows system memory report has more credibility than some web article :rolleyes:
Edit: besides, the article http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/archive/2008/07/21/3092070.aspx states that under 7x86 each 1GB card is "only" being mapped for 256MB each, which seems consistent with my findings under XPx86 ;)
from what i've gathered, thats the minimum amount reserved.


256MB video memory + 256MB reserved system memory (for the mapping) adds up nicely with the 3.5GB usable memory most people see in a 32 bit OS with 4GB of ram


obviously more can be used, unless you think that only 256MB of VRAM is used with any game.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
Processor Intel Core i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz
Motherboard DH55TC Intel Board
Cooling Intel E41997-002 DCT-DAB03 DELTA
Memory 2G Kingston KVR1333D3N9
Video Card(s) DDR2 512MB Inno3D GF-8400-GS PCI-E VGA
Storage Wester Digital 320GB
Power Supply Rise 500W-P4
Software MS Office 2007, AutoCad 2009, Primavera 3.1, Nero8/Nero9, Avira Antivirus and USB Disk Security
wow! nice info muss.. but 64 bit OS is compatible with any type of CPU unit? like Core 2 Duo, Dual core, quad core, etc.?

sorry for the duplicated post.. my internet connection wasn't respond and that is why..
how to delete that previous post? ..sorry.. i'm in a hurry..
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
i deleted your duplicate post, but i still dont understand the question you're trying to ask
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
I believe he's trying to ask, if all of the CPUs he listed(plus etc.) are 64bit OS capable.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
I believe he's trying to ask, if all of the CPUs he listed(plus etc.) are 64bit OS capable.
oh. well this really isnt the place to find that, CPU-Z can tell you on any working system, and google can find out for any other. All modern CPU's are 64 bit.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Yeah the guy's actually good for something now and then! :p
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
410 (0.16/day)
Likes
15
System Name 01001
Processor AMD FX-9370 4.4GHz 8-Core
Motherboard ASUS SAPPHIRE 990FX R2.0
Cooling NOCTUA DH-14
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW ACX 2.0 Video Card (2-Way SLI)
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD (OS & Software) and WD BLACK SERIES 3TB x6
Display(s) ASUS 23" IPS
Case COOLER MASTER Cosmos II (Black) ATX Ultra Tower
Audio Device(s) DENON 7.2 Receiver with 4K
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steel Series Megafresh
Keyboard Microsoft Ancient POS PS/2
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 & Windows 10 Pro x64 (Dual Boot)
So for when the computer I'm building is fully finished will be using 64-bit operating system, 8GB system RAM and a 2GB GPU. Can I still use the 4GB application/exe patcher? Would it make a difference especially for games?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
So for when the computer I'm building is fully finished will be using 64-bit operating system, 8GB system RAM and a 2GB GPU. Can I still use the 4GB application/exe patcher? Would it make a difference especially for games?
yes. thats the situation its designed for.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,507 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,264
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
4GB here.. sitting with 2.735GB Free and 1.5GB GPU. 2.7+1.5=4.2GB... HUH? What did I miss?

W764
 
Status
Not open for further replies.