• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

32" HDTV picture

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#1
Ok, so i got my new HDTV and hooked up to my computer through HDMI because theres no VGA connection. Im a perfectionist when it comes to my picture, so this is doing my head in. first off, i have to have it set to 720p because text on 1080p is unreadable and generally looks horrible, but when im gaming at 1080p is not as bad, but still bad, like, its so dark, blurry, and there are outlines of objects for some odd reason.

i bought a cheap HDMI cable and used the DVI to HDMI adapter i got with my graphics card and im not sure if im doing anything wrong. Any ideas why it looks horrible or did i just buy a crap tv?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Ok, so i got my new HDTV and hooked up to my computer through HDMI because theres no VGA connection. Im a perfectionist when it comes to my picture, so this is doing my head in. first off, i have to have it set to 720p because text on 1080p is unreadable and generally looks horrible, but when im gaming at 1080p is not as bad, but still bad, like, its so dark, blurry, and there are outlines of objects for some odd reason.

i bought a cheap HDMI cable and used the DVI to HDMI adapter i got with my graphics card and im not sure if im doing anything wrong. Any ideas why it looks horrible or did i just buy a crap tv?
Sounds to me like it's a 720p only TV. Maximum resolution should be 1366x768.

1080p will be unreadable because it's actually displaying 1080i which is inferior when it comes to text.
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#3
hmmm, not sure. but it looks ok when gaming at that res, just annoys me because of the outlines and its not that good quality.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
What model is the TV?
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#5
techwood 32832

just tried that resolution, looks horrible. im running 1280 x 720 right now.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
i got a technosonic 32", not a good experience with hdmi. vga was alright i got it to 1360x760 then i just stretched the screen for the missing 6 pixels, so try 1360x768 and not 1366
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Yeah, from what I can find (not much) the maximum resolution is 1366x768 meaning it's a 720p only HDTV.

However when running with HDMI, depending on the TV, the resolution will default to 1280x720

My 32" LG ONLY looks good at 1366x768 when I have my PC hooked up, anything less, and the text is unreadable.
 

AKlass

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
297 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
MD
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180~MO 3.16ghz 316x10
Motherboard Gigabyte 945GCM-S2C
Cooling HDT S963 2x120mm Rosewill intake fans 2x80mm Rosewill exhaust fans
Memory 2 x 2GB Wintec Ampo DDR2 632 5-4-4-14 2.0v
Video Card(s) ATI 5770 950/1400
Storage 750GB WD Caviar Black SATA
Display(s) Sceptre x42 naga
Case Apevia Qboii
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8768
Power Supply OCZ ModXstream 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate (X64)
#8
Im pretty sure they're right when they say you're using 1080i because I'm on 1080p and everything looks fine. I'm using HDMI on my screen
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#9
nope, im forcing 1080p and 1080i just looks worse ;/
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#10
nexus, that resolution looks horrible on this tv, what the hell is wrong with this thing haha
 

AKlass

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
297 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
MD
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180~MO 3.16ghz 316x10
Motherboard Gigabyte 945GCM-S2C
Cooling HDT S963 2x120mm Rosewill intake fans 2x80mm Rosewill exhaust fans
Memory 2 x 2GB Wintec Ampo DDR2 632 5-4-4-14 2.0v
Video Card(s) ATI 5770 950/1400
Storage 750GB WD Caviar Black SATA
Display(s) Sceptre x42 naga
Case Apevia Qboii
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8768
Power Supply OCZ ModXstream 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate (X64)
#11
My 42" looks fine..

hmm whats the native rez of the screen?
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#12
apparently 1920 x 1080 according to windows, but it looks fucking horrid ;/
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#13
Like Darknova said your TV is incapable of displaying anything over 1366x768 correctly, any resolution above that is going to look like crap.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#14
yeah on tv's 1366x768 look the best. i had same issue with my old tv, 1080 just look grainie. Some tv will do 1080p or i. But can't change the hertz to 60. Windows keeps changing it to 30.



note: Best solution is to use actual monitor, thats the main reason i switch back to a monitor. so now i can do 1080p
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#15
One thing to note about HDTVs is they will always look like crap compared to monitors. Couldn't tell you why. I just know if you buy a 23 inch Samsung HDTV and a 22-24 inch Samsung Monitor you're going to want to barf when you're using the HDTV. Even with both using HDMI. Your best bet is one of those 1080p monitors. Really bugs me that the monitors have such better image quality, not just resolution, yet cost so much less. The not having a tv tuner really doesn't account for the price difference either. The only down side to the monitors is the size... but I find if you're using it for a monitor and a tv your space must be small enough to not need a big tv.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.70/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#16
My Westinghouse 42" 1080P looks absolutely perfect on my computer. Gaming is a whole other experience.

As for the OP, take back that TV. Get a 1080P or a normal monitor. Or just quit trying to force 1080p or other resolutions that your tv doesn't support.
 

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#17
thats the problem, it does support it. just dosent look like anything you would expect, im comtimplating taking it back.
 

AKlass

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
297 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
MD
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180~MO 3.16ghz 316x10
Motherboard Gigabyte 945GCM-S2C
Cooling HDT S963 2x120mm Rosewill intake fans 2x80mm Rosewill exhaust fans
Memory 2 x 2GB Wintec Ampo DDR2 632 5-4-4-14 2.0v
Video Card(s) ATI 5770 950/1400
Storage 750GB WD Caviar Black SATA
Display(s) Sceptre x42 naga
Case Apevia Qboii
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8768
Power Supply OCZ ModXstream 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate (X64)
#18
One thing to note about HDTVs is they will always look like crap compared to monitors. Couldn't tell you why. I just know if you buy a 23 inch Samsung HDTV and a 22-24 inch Samsung Monitor you're going to want to barf when you're using the HDTV. Even with both using HDMI. Your best bet is one of those 1080p monitors. Really bugs me that the monitors have such better image quality, not just resolution, yet cost so much less. The not having a tv tuner really doesn't account for the price difference either. The only down side to the monitors is the size... but I find if you're using it for a monitor and a tv your space must be small enough to not need a big tv.
My 42" up there is actually a monitor and it has a Tuner built in since it uses a humongous box that everything hooks up to
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
yeah on tv's 1366x768 look the best. i had same issue with my old tv, 1080 just look grainie. Some tv will do 1080p or i. But can't change the hertz to 60. Windows keeps changing it to 30.



note: Best solution is to use actual monitor, thats the main reason i switch back to a monitor. so now i can do 1080p
What looks best varies from TV to TV. My Vizio looks perfect at 1080p@60Hz. Some TVs look better at 720p or 1366x768.

thats the problem, it does support it. just dosent look like anything you would expect, im comtimplating taking it back.
From everything I've seen, it doesn't support 1080p or 1080i natively. Try using either 1280x720 or 1366x768. Also, make sure you go into advanced options and select the highest refresh rate as possible.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#20
thats the problem, it does support it. just dosent look like anything you would expect, im comtimplating taking it back.
Take it back :). If it don't do the res you want and it's not clear enough.

Whats the price of it ?.. don't mean to be nosy but if you say i am sure some will have a quick look around for you..

My 1st was a Vizio 37" set me back $600 from walmart the unit was ok until i got my hands on a HDMI cable and found the quality was no were near what the d plug connection was. So spent a extra $100 and it's been totally worth it as at the time at least another in the price range would of been about $300+.

also for the extra $100 this toshiba owns the Vizio's totally.


Now the one i use now as i sent that back is the other way around were the d plug res is not as high as the HDMI input which is fine by me as i have more than one comp plugged in to it.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.70/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#21
Yes it is a run of the mill tv anyway. When it comes to things like that, don't go for the cheap stuff. You get what you pay for.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.07/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#22
Did you change the picture scaling in catalyst control centre ? When I was using an ati card 1920 x 1080 appeared crappy until I changed that. Also there might be a few functions on the remote control that will fix it ?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#23
What looks best varies from TV to TV. My Vizio looks perfect at 1080p@60Hz. Some TVs look better at 720p or 1366x768.



From everything I've seen, it doesn't support 1080p or 1080i natively. Try using either 1280x720 or 1366x768. Also, make sure you go into advanced options and select the highest refresh rate as possible.
yeah your right! but with most 32" and below TV's 1366x768 and 720p is about the best your gonna get. Now most 42" will do 1080p just fine, but theres few games that support it. Or atleast look good play it. Now i can crank my up to 1080p, but it doesn't seem any better than playing at 1440x900. But to me i like performance and quality. I just like watching my movies in 1080p ;)
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#24

ObSo-1337

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
34
Location
Scotland
System Name ObSo1337
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.44 Ghz
Memory Cosair 4 GIG 820 Mhz 4-4-4-12 kinda stable ;D
Video Card(s) XFX HD 4890 XT 920/1100
Storage Seagate 500Gig 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung syncmaster 2243MWX | 32" HDTV
Case Diablo A+ Twin Turbine
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply 750w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#25
it was £250 and i messed around with the scaling and it never helped ;p