1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3800+ blue screen of death

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by PuMA, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    724 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I got this new system, and when im trying to OC, it runs fine for like a minute and then comes the blue screen of death

    heres some info:

    HT is 4x and runs at 8600 mhz
    ddr400 clock is at 172
    fsb 220 2640 mhz
    temps idle 43 with arctic cooler 64 silencer pro, (I got 34C with stock cooler, hmm should i change it??) occt gives cpu unstable at start of torture test

    specs:

    amd athlon 64 3800+ s939
    msi k8neo4-f
    asus geforce 7600 gt
    400 wtt Psu
    1024 ddr400

    any1 know what might be the problem
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Singapore
    A AMD RUNNING AT 8600MHZ? You kidding me?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    724 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    860 mhz

    anything over 220 FSB is unstable, even when I raised voltage by 0.04 V
    I think the processor just dosent oc very well
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    158 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    If you raise voltage a bit from default, your CPU's stable OC should increase, otherwise it's probably mainboards fault.

    Always remember that overclocking is a gamble - no one has guarantee to overclock as good as others did, you just might got a not so lucky ticket :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,896 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    temps man, temps.



    Reset your AC64, lapp the bottom and use AS5, and face it up, this actually does make a 2 or 3 degree difference for me on three different machines.


    I run stable at 3.0 on my 4000+ at 1.57 or above volts, and never cross about 51 degrees celcius running F@H 100% useage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    158 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    at FSB=220 temps shouldn't be a problem with ANY thermal greeze.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    724 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I bet its mainboard's fault, alltought it has allkinds of neat oc stuff, I can't get my fsb above 220

    any idea if 20-40 fps is right, if im playing new company of heroes
    I use 1240x1024 and everything normal- high????
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,896 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    Harrrr....... ;)


    F@H 100% CPU useage at 2.9Ghz
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    id put money on memory timings and vcore\vdimm voltages needing to be higher.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,789 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    "HT is 4x and runs at 8600 mhz... underclock
    ddr400 clock is at 172... underclcock
    fsb 220 2640 mhz.. the fsb is just a number..
    temps idle 43 with arctic cooler 64 silencer pro, (I got 34C with stock cooler, hmm should i change it??) occt gives cpu unstable at start of torture test".. not even cooking..

    dunno what it is but the above is not much of an overclock.. most of it is an underclock.. he he he.. and it aint heat..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    PUMA: Supply us the BSOD "stopcode" data please...

    Per my subject-line/title above of my post? Please, supply us the EXACT "B.S.O.D." stopcode data (the 0x0000 stuff)... thanks, because it DOES tend to help quite a lot usually!

    APK
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. vortexkrow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey, it looks like you are having trouble overclocking.

    Here check out this very good guide here..
    www.i4memory.com/amd64

    Good luck mate!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,896 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    The memory is underclocked, so voltage isn't a issue.
    The HTT is underclocked so raising NForce voltage isn't a issue.
    The processor is getting a 200Mhz increase in speed at stock voltage and BSOD's.
    It runs 43C IDLE? so load that and add 20C to it, 63C is Ok? I think not.


    Mebey the board is defective, but the chip is too warm for being idle and having a AC64 on it. I run at 2.9Ghz, a 500Mhz OC with 1.57 volts and run F@H 100% at 41C LOAD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,789 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    my sandy core is running about 40c idle.. about 55 or so load.. its running 3 gig at 1.375 vcore and has a zalman 9500 sat on top of it..

    mobo temp readouts dont mean a lot only relatively on the same mobo..

    either yours is wrong or mine is wrong or more likely they are both wrong.. he he

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    724 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I replaced the a64, with stock cooler, and now its like 34-36 idle, I think about 45-50C on 100% stress. My CP gives blue screen of just about everything related to overclocking, and it says that nf4 driver (.inf thing) has crashed. I updated my MOBO nf4 drivers to latest, but I havent tried OC'ing yet. I'll try it today, when I get back home and check in here to give u the latest.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    724 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I have speedfan for monitoring temps, but im a little confused, about what the cpu temp should be. In bios I see cpu temp at 38C, but in speedfan (in help said that the highest reading is most likely cpu temp) I see temp called core and its 47C idle and 55% 100 % stress. wich1 should I believe.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)