• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3800+ X2 user, post your memory OCs please

Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
I am trying to determine if my memory controller on my CPU is holding me back, or if my memory is bad and I need to RMA.
If anyone has a socket 939 AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, then please post your memory speeds and settings. Here are mine, and they aren't even stable in Memtest, but they are stable enough for gaming. This is 9 MHz below the stock rating on these modules
Team Xtreem Cronus Micron
 

Attachments

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,117 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I do not have the 3800x2 but know a fair bit about memory, may I suggest you try knocking down the Trc from 8 to 9 or 10 and see if that helps stability, let me know if it helps.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,117 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Lol that would help also!
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
Oh yea ROFL sorry.
Abit AT8 32X RD580 Crossfire mobo
AMD3800+ X2 @ 2.655 GHz
Team Xtreem Cronus 2*1Gb
OCZ GameXtream 700W
 

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.13/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
I am trying to determine if my memory controller on my CPU is holding me back, or if my memory is bad and I need to RMA.
If anyone has a socket 939 AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, then please post your memory speeds and settings. Here are mine, and they aren't even stable in Memtest, but they are stable enough for gaming. This is 9 MHz below the stock rating on these modules
Team Xtreem Cronus Micron
I haven't messed w/ that tool, but I can install it and run it once for you.

I do have a 3800+X2 w/ a ASUS A8N-SLI and Corsair XMS LED Series DDR400 1GBx2.
The CPU is clocked at 2.4GHz by upping the FSB only. The DDR is at 400MHz if I go any higher then it Blue Screens. I changed the Time-ings, but it didn't matter.

Hopefully that can help you. Other then that, please post a link to download that tool you used, and I will run it this week some time.

1STRIVE

P.S. Where it says Fequency on your Memory tab it shows 241MHz is that times 2? or is that your problem?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.97/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I am trying to determine if my memory controller on my CPU is holding me back, or if my memory is bad and I need to RMA.
If anyone has a socket 939 AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, then please post your memory speeds and settings. Here are mine, and they aren't even stable in Memtest, but they are stable enough for gaming. This is 9 MHz below the stock rating on these modules
Team Xtreem Cronus Micron
Have you tried lowering your cpu overclock and then using a lower memory divider to push the ram without pushing the limits of the cpu?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,843 (3.06/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
Oh yea ROFL sorry.
Abit AT8 32X RD580 Crossfire mobo
AMD3800+ X2 @ 2.655 GHz
Team Xtreem Cronus 2*1Gb
OCZ GameXtream 700W
i am using the same board/cpu and psu and when i was pushing it i was getting 2.65 stable with my gskill ram. i dont think your mem is holding you back, im pretty sure youve reached your OC limit.
 

MGrant1957

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
X2-3800+s..

Seem to have a max stock-cooled speed of around 2.6-2.7GHz

since you are not running your mem at 1:1 you are running into the mem-controller bandwidth limitation.

your best bet would be to drop your CPU multiplier, to say 7 or 8, set your HTT to something like 3 or 4, lock your VDD to 1.375V or 1.4V and your memto 2.8V and then run your clock up in 10MHZ increments until you run into stablility probs.

I've been able to get my Twinx-2048-4000PT up to DDR540 at 2.5-3-3-7-1t, CPU at 9s (2430)and the HTT at 1080.
MB is an ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe, PS is Thermaltake 750W.
hope this helps.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2006
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Location
Jonesbor, AR United States
Processor Q6600 G0 SLACR @ 3.76 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula X38
Cooling D-Tek Fuzion Nozzled
Memory 2x2 GB Geil Esoteria @ DDR2-1129
Video Card(s) 2 Diamond HD 2900XT 1GB Crossfire 940/075 MCW60
Storage 2 Western Digital 500 Gb Maxtor 250 Gb
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM-37W3 1080P 37" HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor Silver w/ 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude
Power Supply Silverstone DA850 850W
I've tried running the divider at DDR400 (1:1) and I failed Memtest there too. The only reason I'm running the divider at 11 is bc of the unstable memory.
I've tried the upper limits of these timings' ranges:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=90438
I used a 2t command rate as well. This reduced the bandwidth to ~4500 Mb/s from 6300 Mb/s @ 241 MHz!
I'm not concerned with reaching a higher CPU clock just yet, but I haven't been able to reach the rated speed of the memory without failing memtest and Orthos blended.
When I'm running HT=250, divider 1:1, making the memory=250 MHz, I fail in around 2s, regardless of VDIMM (2.6-2.85)
I guess that I just recieved some bad sticks..........
They have a lifetime warrenty though.
 
Top