• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3850 AGP OC'ing, Vmods, experiences, suggestions, where to buy

Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
Well after some testing , i have few ideas to share .

HD3850 OC adventure .

With the system in idle , i was testing OC modes , on my VGA.
With CCC "Catalyst Control center" looked to be an easy task .

BUT !!

Unfortunately i found that the ultimate VGA clocks ,
are very Dependant on the temperature , of the VGA cooler .

The same successful high clocks , will fail the test ,
if the VGA are warm , after some time on gaming or benchmarks.

I got extremely surprised , by noticing how delicate is the balance of heat VS high clocks.

In my Sapphire card with the stock cooler,
the combination of high clocks as :
GPU 700 Memory 830 , was always a qualified combination,
no matter how hot the cooler was .

Does it worth to get better VGA cooler ?
In my case no , at list by thinking about performance gain.
I plan to replace it , but there no rush , as the stock cooler does the job and has tolerable noise level .

HD3850 OC adventure Part 2

I run the "Crysis benchmark" at 1280x1024 medium details, Physics=Low .
Even with VGA at high clocks , i did not see gain on the fps.
Some people call this effect as CPU bottleneck .
By having in mind , that the bottleneck becomes lower on lower resolution, its all about what any one has in his mind to use his system for .
Personally i do not care , about the top place in the benchmarks score board.

Conclusion no 2 : "Crysis benchmark" are unrealistic way to judge your systems performance with the game it self.
The free run of the camera , its not on the game play . ;)

30/1/2009 9:05:23 πμ - XP
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX9 1280x1024, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=2, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: Custom
Custom Quality Values:
VolumetricEffects=Medium
Texture=Medium
ObjectDetail=Medium
Sound=Medium
Shadows=Medium
Water=Medium
Physics=Low
Particles=Medium
Shading=Medium
PostProcessing=Medium
GameEffects=Medium
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 66.18s, Average FPS: 30.22
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
Average Tri/Sec: 21033696, Tri/Frame: 696009
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.32
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 57.37s, Average FPS: 34.86
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
Average Tri/Sec: 24530608, Tri/Frame: 703675
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 57.15s, Average FPS: 35.00
Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 51.10 at frame 75
Average Tri/Sec: 24611902, Tri/Frame: 703238
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
And now some additional technical info about ram chips , found on my card.

They are Hynix Semiconductors H5RS5223CFR sub type "N0C"

H5RS5223CFR-N0C It supports 1GHz speed .
Max voltage 2.10

Sapphire can supply max = 1.254 ( Bios info)
at the core .
Sapphire default Bios programed voltage = 1.214 at the core .

So in conclusion , Mem MHz goes as high as the voltage aloud it to go.

True memory voltage on the PCB its unknown to me , but its risky to find it out too.

http://www.hynix.com/datasheet/pdf/graphics/H5RS5223CFR(Rev1.4).pdf
Page 3
 

Attachments

  • 1Hynix.jpg
    1Hynix.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 444
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU

mbvl

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Location
Northern California
Processor Athlon XP-M 2500 (OC to emulate 3200)
Motherboard Abit AN7 (socket A)
Cooling Air
Memory 2 x OCZ 1024 PC3200 DDR (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X850 XT PE
Storage 2 Raptor 74GB Raid 0 system (plus 2 older for stuff)
Display(s) Viewsonic A71f+
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Ultra X-connect 500
Software XP SP2
Newbie here.

I found these forums and this thread while looking into getting one of the subject cards. After much reading I decided to go for it and got a Sapphire 512 AGP 3850 from NewEgg for $109 plus tax and shipping.

Now I'm at sea. It installed just fine and worked for ordinary stuff from the gitgo. But none of my benchmarks run -- 3DMark03 and 05 freeze at the splash screen, PCMark04 ran once but now freezes, and even 3DMark2001 SE crashed with a BSOD. All this straight out of the box.

I updated the drivers using Sapphire's 9-1 hotfix. I've "looked at" the card using ATITool, ATI Tray Tools, RivaTuner, CCC, and I've dumped the BIOS. There are inconsistencies amongst the tools as to what the clocks are set at, but everything looks ok.

If you look at my system specs, you will see that this is basically a four year old system. I haven't really done much tweaking since right after I built it, so I'm more than a bit rusty, but I'm embarrassed that I can't figure out what's wrong.

Is my system just not capable of handling this card? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: if I try to change the clocks using any of the usual tools, instant BSOD.

Mark
 
Last edited:

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.00/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Welcome to the forums Mark!

Did you remove the previous drivers first at all? I highly recommend you trying these steps....

1.) Remove all ATi related software via Add/Remove programs.

2.) Download CCleaner & also get Driver Cleaner Pro.

3.) Run CCleaner, remove all the temporary junk that you have and then run the registry cleaner...

4.) ... reboot

5.) When prompted enter into your BIOS and check that your AGP transfer rate is set to 8x, (In Catalyst Control Center this is listed as AGP speed) you can also experiment with your AGP Aperture size, I don't know the default, I presume it would be 256MB but if you still experience your BSODs and benchmarking programs not working with one value, try lowering it.

6.) Another feature to experiment with is AGP Fast Write - sometimes having this enabled can cause instability from my own experiences (I've owned two nForce 2 based motherboards).

7.) Once you're happy with your BIOS settings, boot back into Windows and run Driver Cleaner Pro. Select everything ATI even if you know you don't have it. This will do a specific registry clean for all things ATi. Once complete, reboot your machine...

8.) I'd definitely download and install the latest DX9.0c update if you haven't already. Run that before installing the 9.2 drivers.

9.) I'd also make sure you have the latest .Net software installed and associated hotfixes/service packs. CCC uses 2.0 as a base, so it's also good to install the updates for 2 and work your way up to 3.5 SP1 which I believe is the latest version.

10.) Once you've installed all the aforementioned and rebooted the appropriate times, I'd then go ahead installing the 9.2 hotfix driver and see where that gets you.

I hope that helps!
 

mbvl

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Location
Northern California
Processor Athlon XP-M 2500 (OC to emulate 3200)
Motherboard Abit AN7 (socket A)
Cooling Air
Memory 2 x OCZ 1024 PC3200 DDR (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X850 XT PE
Storage 2 Raptor 74GB Raid 0 system (plus 2 older for stuff)
Display(s) Viewsonic A71f+
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Ultra X-connect 500
Software XP SP2
Innocent,

Thank you for your prompt reply. Here's the status of your suggestions.

I did remove the old driver using CCleaner in Safe Mode. I will try Driver Cleaner Pro -- maybe there is still some registry junk. I did check for AGP 8x in the BIOS and in CCC. The aperture size is still at the default (255) and I think I tried it at 128 also. I will try toggling AGP Fast Write. I do have DirectX 9.0c. I have .Net 3.5. Does 9.2 (from ATI) support AGP or do I have to edit the .inf? (For some reason the Sapphire driver site isn't working just now.)

Two more quick questions:

In the MB BIOS the AGP voltage can be set from 1.5 to 1.65. In the VGA BIOS it ranges from 0.974 to 1.254. What am I missing?

In ATI Tray Tool it says that the BIOS clocks are 669/829, but the current core and memory clocks are set at 13.5. Does that make any sense?

Thanks again,

Mark
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.00/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Innocent, Thank you for your prompt reply.

Not a problem!

Here's the status of your suggestions.

I did remove the old driver using CCleaner in Safe Mode. I will try Driver Cleaner Pro -- maybe there is still some registry junk. I did check for AGP 8x in the BIOS and in CCC. The aperture size is still at the default (255) and I think I tried it at 128 also. I will try toggling AGP Fast Write. I do have DirectX 9.0c. I have .Net 3.5. Does 9.2 (from ATI) support AGP or do I have to edit the .inf? (For some reason the Sapphire driver site isn't working just now.)

You should be able to download the actual 9.2 AGP hotfix via AMD's support site.

Two more quick questions:

In the MB BIOS the AGP voltage can be set from 1.5 to 1.65. In the VGA BIOS it ranges from 0.974 to 1.254. What am I missing?

The AGP voltage in your MB BIOS is for the AGP slot when the VGA BIOS is giving the range for the GPU itself.

In ATI Tray Tool it says that the BIOS clocks are 669/829, but the current core and memory clocks are set at 13.5. Does that make any sense?

13.5MHz? That doesn't make sense. Hmmm.... are you able to do a screenshot? I'd check Event Viewer as well to see if you're getting any errors created by CCC or anything else ATi or GFX related.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Location
pennsylvania
mbvl set your aperture size as 128 meg,also try 4x agp,set your agp voltage at the highest possible setting.you may end up trying different nforce drivers for stabibility
ive seen threads before about it.I had problems with a via chipset and i fixed it by changing my agp strength in the bios.I could run in 4x agp mode but 8x crashed .try the 4x setting first if that doesnt work get a newer nforce driver maybe that will help.
 

mbvl

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Location
Northern California
Processor Athlon XP-M 2500 (OC to emulate 3200)
Motherboard Abit AN7 (socket A)
Cooling Air
Memory 2 x OCZ 1024 PC3200 DDR (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X850 XT PE
Storage 2 Raptor 74GB Raid 0 system (plus 2 older for stuff)
Display(s) Viewsonic A71f+
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Ultra X-connect 500
Software XP SP2
13.5MHz? That doesn't make sense. Hmmm.... are you able to do a screenshot? I'd check Event Viewer as well to see if you're getting any errors created by CCC or anything else ATi or GFX related.

Here's what my four tools say about my clocks:
 

Attachments

  • ATITool.jpg
    ATITool.jpg
    26.7 KB · Views: 357
  • CCC_Overdrive.jpg
    CCC_Overdrive.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 428
  • GPU_Z.jpg
    GPU_Z.jpg
    47 KB · Views: 347
  • VGAClocks.jpg
    VGAClocks.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 458

mbvl

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Location
Northern California
Processor Athlon XP-M 2500 (OC to emulate 3200)
Motherboard Abit AN7 (socket A)
Cooling Air
Memory 2 x OCZ 1024 PC3200 DDR (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X850 XT PE
Storage 2 Raptor 74GB Raid 0 system (plus 2 older for stuff)
Display(s) Viewsonic A71f+
Case Antec Sonata
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Ultra X-connect 500
Software XP SP2
I did another clean install. I uninstalled the old driver; ran CCleaner; in BIOS checked AGP aperture size (currently 128) and disabled Fast Write; rebooted into Safe Mode; ran Driver Cleaner Pro 1.5 (new version for me); rebooted; updated my DX 9 stuff (there were some newer fixes); installed Sapphire 9.2 (the ATI version wouldn't load -- probably that 9505 vs 9515 thing); rebooted.

Not much change. Ordinary browsing works just fine. 3DM03 started but crashed at the start of test 2 with BSOD.

Mark
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,261 (0.23/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming / EVGA Titan SC
Storage Intel 512 SSD,Samsung 9701Tb, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
Well I cant get 3DM06 to run on this Vista, but here's a Vantage run

 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
643 (0.12/day)
System Name PIA
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550M Steel Legend
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory 2x8GB Gskill DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super
Storage Samsung EVO 970 1TB
Display(s) 2xAOC Curved 24" 144hz
Case Cooler Master MasterBox Q300L
Power Supply CORSAIR RMX (White) RM750x
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL
Software Windows 10 Pro
Should become available this month (january), Powercolor supposedly(rumored) has an agreement with Circuit City and other distributers to sell them.

:toast:
whats that?
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,604 (0.50/day)
System Name Dire Wolf III
Processor Intel Core i7 1165G7 (25W)
Motherboard LENOVO LNVNB161216
Memory 40GB DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), Intel Iris Xe (iGPU)
Storage SK Hynix 512GB NVMe + Kioxia 256GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W (29", 2560x1080, 75Hz)
Case Lenovo ThinkBook 14s ITL
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential White
Keyboard NEWMEN GM610.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Just got mine...

I just got my HD3850 AGP for my P4@4.2Ghz rig since the HD3650 on it wasn't really cutting it. I'll put some benchmarks in the coming days. The HD3650 went into my nostalgic Tualatin rig (What a waste of a GPU, talk about overkill, but it is fun !).
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,604 (0.50/day)
System Name Dire Wolf III
Processor Intel Core i7 1165G7 (25W)
Motherboard LENOVO LNVNB161216
Memory 40GB DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), Intel Iris Xe (iGPU)
Storage SK Hynix 512GB NVMe + Kioxia 256GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W (29", 2560x1080, 75Hz)
Case Lenovo ThinkBook 14s ITL
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential White
Keyboard NEWMEN GM610.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Some 3DMarks.

All results at 1440x900, but that's all but identical in the number of pixels to 1280x1024 (98.8% of the pixel count). I just have a 19" monitor hooked up to the P4 currently. Specs in my specs tab, the HD3850 is a Sapphire w/512Mb GDDR3 and it is OC'ed to 715Mhz Core and 945Mhz Mem.

3DMark03:


3DMark05:


3DMark06:
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.00/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Would you be able to run 3DMark06 at 1280 x 1024 at all Yukikaze, I'd be interested to see your score.

^^
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,604 (0.50/day)
System Name Dire Wolf III
Processor Intel Core i7 1165G7 (25W)
Motherboard LENOVO LNVNB161216
Memory 40GB DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), Intel Iris Xe (iGPU)
Storage SK Hynix 512GB NVMe + Kioxia 256GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W (29", 2560x1080, 75Hz)
Case Lenovo ThinkBook 14s ITL
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential White
Keyboard NEWMEN GM610.
Software Windows 10 Professional

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.00/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
Really?

That's a lot lower than I expect tbh.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,604 (0.50/day)
System Name Dire Wolf III
Processor Intel Core i7 1165G7 (25W)
Motherboard LENOVO LNVNB161216
Memory 40GB DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), Intel Iris Xe (iGPU)
Storage SK Hynix 512GB NVMe + Kioxia 256GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W (29", 2560x1080, 75Hz)
Case Lenovo ThinkBook 14s ITL
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential White
Keyboard NEWMEN GM610.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Really?

That's a lot lower than I expect tbh.

The CPU is a limiting factor here. There is only so much (so little ? hehe) that the P4 will do. Pre-GPU-OC and Post-GPU-OC results are in the same ~6.8k 3DMark06 vicinity, for example.

It does run Mass Effect at 1440x900 maxed out without a hitch. I'll benchmark games with and without AA next week.
 
Last edited:

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.00/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,589 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
www.tweakguides.com

look for Driver Cleanup procedures there aswell, Make sure Direct X is up to date and also pickup the ATI Hotfix 9.2 Driver for AGP cards, you will have to go to AMD knowledgebase to pick them up but you can look under radeon 1950 for the info (AGP drivers are all the same)
Innocent,

Thank you for your prompt reply. Here's the status of your suggestions.

I did remove the old driver using CCleaner in Safe Mode. I will try Driver Cleaner Pro -- maybe there is still some registry junk. I did check for AGP 8x in the BIOS and in CCC. The aperture size is still at the default (255) and I think I tried it at 128 also. I will try toggling AGP Fast Write. I do have DirectX 9.0c. I have .Net 3.5. Does 9.2 (from ATI) support AGP or do I have to edit the .inf? (For some reason the Sapphire driver site isn't working just now.)

Two more quick questions:

In the MB BIOS the AGP voltage can be set from 1.5 to 1.65. In the VGA BIOS it ranges from 0.974 to 1.254. What am I missing?

In ATI Tray Tool it says that the BIOS clocks are 669/829, but the current core and memory clocks are set at 13.5. Does that make any sense?

Thanks again,

Mark
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Location
pennsylvania
has anybody else got cuda to work with there 3850 agp?Im curious to see if im the only one that has tried it yet.
 

camrcr

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Location
Indiana
Hi everyone, got my HD 3850 last week and have been trying to resolve the 9505-9515 problem. I got the drivers working but I have no control over the AGP in smartgart and gpu-z has the card assigned 8x@pci. I have a gigabyte K8U-939 board and single core amd 3700and have tweaked the agp settings all kinds of ways and no luck. Bios problem on the 3850? its the sapphire model, and waiting to hear back from them
 

camrcr

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Location
Indiana
nvm i finally figured it out.........works like a champ now.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,589 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
so may we have your solution so those who encounter the same problem may be able to fix theirs?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
Location
Volos, Greece
System Name ATLAS
Processor Intel Core i7-4770 (4C/8T) Haswell
Motherboard GA-Z87X-UD5H , Dual Intel LAN, 10x SATA, 16x Power phace.
Cooling ProlimaTech Armageddon - Dual GELID 140 Silent PWM
Memory Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400 997123F 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 OC 6GB (single fan) Micron
Storage WD Raptors 73Gb - Raid1 10.000rpm
Display(s) DELL U2311H
Case HEC Compucase CI-6919 Full tower (2003) moded .. hec-group.com.tw
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music + mods, Audigy front Panel - YAMAHA quad speakers with Sub.
Power Supply HPU-4M780-PE refurbished 23-3-2022
Mouse MS Pro IntelliMouse 16.000 Dpi Pixart Paw 3389
Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600
Software Win 7 Pro x64 ( Retail Box ) for EU
All the AMD based boards with AGP , needed the "All in One " AMD patch , to find their way about performance .

There is no other cure or magic that some one could do .
 
Top