• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3850 Cold Boot Problem

Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
#1
I have a (I believe) GeCube 3850 256MB reference board that only properly cold boots 5-10% of the time. Most of the time the card fanspeed stays at 100% and the screen never initializes although the PC continues to boot. I flashed it with an updated BIOS and it still does the same thing. Is the card just junk? Anybody heard of this before?

Thanks,
Dan
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.36/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#2
My 3850 was doing the same thing. I don't think it was the cards fault though. My dvd burner wasn't reading every data disk I put in it, and 1 of my hdd's in raid was not detecting every boot. I eliminated the 1 hdd and put in a good combo drive I had laying around. It has only been a day since the part swap, but I have no boot problems now. You may have a optical or hdd that is causing the boot problem.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
#3
My 3850 was doing the same thing. I don't think it was the cards fault though. My dvd burner wasn't reading every data disk I put in it, and 1 of my hdd's in raid was not detecting every boot. I eliminated the 1 hdd and put in a good combo drive I had laying around. It has only been a day since the part swap, but I have no boot problems now. You may have a optical or hdd that is causing the boot problem.
Thanks for the advice but unfortunately the same thing occurs in two completely different systems that both work OK with other cards so I'm pretty sure it is the card's fault.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,459 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,126
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#5
Try not cutting the power to your monitor between boot-ups and see if that changes anything.:)
 

Paintface

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
389 (0.11/day)
Likes
72
Processor E5200 @ 3.7ghz
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P35 DARK
Cooling Zalman CPU + case cooling
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4GB 1066
Video Card(s) Saphire 4890 Vapor-X OCed
Storage Raptor 74GB + 640GB sata + 1TB sata ( all WD)
Display(s) BENQ 24inch LCD 1080p
Case my desk
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply OCZ gameXstream 700w
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
#7
Hello, long time reader i figured ill register to give you my input :)

I had the same problem for a long time.

My setup was a MSI K9A mobo, AMD 6000+ x2 , corsair 650w PSU and a Powercolor 3870

It took me a long time to figure it out even though im still not sure what the cause was...

From the very moment i assembled my new PC it wouldnt boot at all, no signal on my screen but all the fans were running, if you waited several minutes screen would suddenly pop up with the windows loading screen on it, so i figured something during the early boot stages went wrong, i pulled out for example my USB stick, disable USB stick booting or any other devices in the BIOS and it would work again.IT would go well for a long time, sometimes weeks and then it all came back with the same problems.

second problem i had was my PC crashing during gaming, especially when alt tabbing my screen would freeze, 5 seconds later it would artifact and go black on the screen...

both problems made me turn the PSU on and off alot, which eventually made it die completely, i dont know if it was already unstable and dying with me turning it on and off alot finishing it off completely. Being unable to wait on a replacement i bought a OCZ 700w PSU which seemed to fix the crash problems, at least it was alot less frequent.

Till one day my PC wouldnt boot anymore at all, i put my 3870 into my brothers computer who has the exact same mainboard, and it started up perfectly.
Got myself again a new MSI K9A and it started up right away, and never had that problem again.

was an expensive and frustrating adventure, i dont know if it was the new Mobo/PSU combo that fixed it, but thats the best info i can give you so i would suggest trying other(better) PSUs and mainboard if thats possible to rule out card problems.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#8
^^ good man, registering to help someone out. Stick around.

I had a similar problem with AGP 3850. My first guess was "the PSU isnt big enough". Bought a new one. No difference. In fact... worse.

It turned out it wasnt the GPU but the mainboard. The new PSU was 650W, the old one was 420W. The old one actually had a better 12v and 5v line than the 650W, so the mainboard was a little more stable.

Swapping to a new mainboard fixed the problem immediately.

Important question: Is it stable ONCE you get into Windows? ie ONLY a cold boot problem?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.14/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
#9
^^ good man, registering to help someone out. Stick around.

I had a similar problem with AGP 3850. My first guess was "the PSU isnt big enough". Bought a new one. No difference. In fact... worse.

It turned out it wasnt the GPU but the mainboard. The new PSU was 650W, the old one was 420W. The old one actually had a better 12v and 5v line than the 650W, so the mainboard was a little more stable.

Swapping to a new mainboard fixed the problem immediately.

Important question: Is it stable ONCE you get into Windows? ie ONLY a cold boot problem?
Thanks for replying, guys. Yes, it is stable once in Windows. My friend used the card for months and it didn't bother him since he rarely powers his PC down, but I power mine down at least once a day. I am almost sure it is the card because it has the same problem in two different PCs (mine - nforce 430 chipset, antec 380w earthwatts - his amd 770, antec 450 trupower). I had a MSI 3850 a few months ago that worked fine in my system.