• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

3G speeds

Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107 (0.32/day)
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#1
so I brought me a virgin mobile smartphone about a week ago and today I was and still am having horrible speeds. speedtest has me around 60kbps. I started monitoring my usage today and I can tell I haven't used 2.5 gbs yet...nowhere near it. I mostly listen to pandora and watch streaming vids. I have virgin, which is run by sprint. I have read their speeds can really bog down. Anyone else experience anything like this? I forgot to mention that if u ever go over the limit they cap your speed to 250kbps. I don't understand what's happening here
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Unless you live pretty close to the transmitter 3g is hit and miss. I don't know about the US, but in sweden it's almost impossible to get advertised speeds unless you walk to the tower and connect the computer directly to it.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Just yesterday I did some test on both my Nokia N900 and Blackberry 9780, I use Virgin Mobile which uses the T-Mobile network; I got around 1500kbps download and, what's amazing for me, 1500kbps upload which is more than what I get at home on my desktop (20mbps down and 1.2mbps up).
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107 (0.32/day)
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#4
Well its up to 700kbps this morning which is still slow but more like normal. My top was 1100/800
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#5
I used to get those speeds. It would sit at 62-125 Kbps from 9AM-12PM. I figured it's when most people are using their free daytime minutes etc. I was using a HSDPA Mobile Broadband dongle with a 3G SIM Card inside it, connected to the PC.
12AM to 9AM I could get up to 1300Kbps. I was on Pay As You Go so no chance of being capped for going over limit. I live 0.35 miles from the closest tower thing. Also note I'm talking Kbps, not KBps.

I now hate them with a vengeance for sapping my life for over 3 years.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#6
1500kbps upload which is more than what I get at home on my desktop (20mbps down and 1.2mbps up).
It's actually roughly the same up speed.

I tested from work with 3 bars, on T-Mobile got 1850kbps down and 350kbps up
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107 (0.32/day)
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#7
Those are some good speeds. I hear they are working on their networks or throttling their speeds
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107 (0.32/day)
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#8
I just got an email back from them and they said if you have the unlimited plan, they don't do any speed throttling at all
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,145 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,290
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#9
I just got an email back from them and they said if you have the unlimited plan, they don't do any speed throttling at all
thats bullshit.

theres a network here called THREE that does all this mobile broadband malarky too. and i was signed up to them for about a year on a rolling contract.

When i first signed up with them, speeds were good but they heavily deteriorated over the next 5months, to the point where im getting less then 50Kb/s during the day which is just rediculous.

I had an older dongle that i was using, but i upgraded to a newer one that uses HSDPA+ and despite multiple reviews that claimed that HSDPA+ opened up their networks speeds to 21MB/s i dont think anyone elses connection on their network has ever reached that kind of speed.

Three strongly deny throttling. but yet cant explain why i can only download files @ 5kb/s and still load flash heavy/intensive pages in a blink of an eye during certain hours of the day,

and its something that has been pretty well documented on the internet so I know im not the only one having the problem.

I have since canceled my contract with them and switched over to something better, Unfortunately it still suffers from throttling during certain parts of the day but its less problematic the the only one. the only time it starts to throttle is between 3 or 4pm-12am.


whatever they tell you is lies. If they say they are not throttling, then chances are they been victims of their own success and sold too many unlimited data contracts and thus overloading their network can handle.

In my case with the previous contract - the bastards were throtting mobile broadband, so the customers on their unlimited data mobile phone tarrifs can have fast internet.

so dont believe a word that they say as they have probably been trained to deny it when you ask them
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#10
so dont believe a word that they say as they have probably been trained to deny it when you ask them
Most likely that the people on the phone are being lied to in the first place.
And yea, they definitely do throttle their speeds, for contract users and for pay as you go users.

Found any BTOpenZones near you yet? :p
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,145 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,290
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#11
Found any BTOpenZones near you yet? :p
nope, but i found a way around my 5gb a month limitation - its now unlimited, but the speed still suffers every so often
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
I got a Vodafone payg SIM card and I'm getting speeds between 5000kbps and 8000kbps on my N900 and no it's not WIFI. How is this possible? I'm in south London and the Vodafone mast is fairly close http://www.sitefinder.ofcom.org.uk/ :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,107 (0.32/day)
Likes
176
Location
Greenville, NC
System Name Champ's 1440P Rig
Processor Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 Mhz 4x4 Blue Ram
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1080 FE
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB/RAID 0 Western Digital Blue 1 TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XG270HU
Case Antec P100
Power Supply Corsair CX850M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard TT eSports Poseidon
Software Windows 10
#13
Okay, I know I'm past my 2.5 gigs by now and I think they have knocked me back a bit. I got 500 kbps constant this morning. I can't complain with that. I've had dial-up all my life and this at its slowest seems fast to me

Update: Well, maybe my man was right. I just did another speed test and its at 1032 kbps and I know I'm past my limit. I was at my client's house and they are somewhat outta the way. At home I think I'm half a mile from a cell tower. I'm not sure what they look like thou. There is another tower in a field a couple of house over

Just looked at a pic of one and I'm between two
 
Last edited: