• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

3Mbps Comcast internet enough?

Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#1
Well, it's time to consider my options again regarding internet because Comcast likes to mug me, force me to open my wallet, smack me around, and tells me to like it.

My situation: Currently I use Comcast's 15 mbps connection connected to a wireless router. 2 computers in the house. I mostly do gaming like MMO and FPS on one PC. Other PC is mostly for streaming (not netflix) like youtube and stuff.

If I change to the only other available other option than changing ISPs is 3 Mbps Economy plan, will that be enough for my needs?

Whats the average DL speeds like? I do downloads/torrent, but usually overnight, not while gaming or youtubing. Can I still play games like TF2 BF3 and MMO while streaming a non-HD video?

Thanks everybody.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
You'll get .375 MBps (Megabytes). Yes, it should be enough however you will probably want to have your PC hardwired into the modem.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#3
You can always try it and go back if you can't stand it.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
166
Likes
84
Processor Intel Core i7 5820k
Motherboard MSI X99S-GAMING7
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 16GB G.SKILL DDR4
Video Card(s) Geforce GTX970
Storage Samsung 840 Evo
Display(s) Samsung U28E590DS UHD
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Raze Naga
Keyboard Filco Majestouch
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#4
In theory it should be fine.

Remember that there is 8 bits to a byte so to convert 3Mb/s into MB/s you need to divide it by 8. 3000/8 = 375 so as erocker stated you will get 0.375 MB/s maximum download speed as opposed to your current maximum of 1.875 MB/s.

Depending on what is being streamed you may notice some lag issues, however I would imagine everything should run fine.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
370
Likes
12
System Name My Baby
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99S GAMING 7
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360mm on CPU / Corsair H110 on GPU
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X @ 1400MHz with Corsair H110/30c @ Full Load
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VH242H 23.6" 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850G2
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#5
heck no 3mb isnt enough for gaming. thats like the new age dial up. i ban everyone with a slow connection like that from my cod matches. with ur 15mb ur just cutting it close to being good enough... dont make it worse
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#6
heck no 3mb isnt enough for gaming. thats like the new age dial up. i ban everyone with a slow connection like that from my cod matches. with ur 15mb ur just cutting it close to being good enough... dont make it worse
Um no

It'll run fine assuming ur not torrenting or something in the background.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,857
Likes
1,384
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#7
3mbs is plenty. I use to use UVerse 3mbs for netflix, vudu, Xbox live gaming, PSN gaming, streaming, FPS gaming on pc plus more and never had a problem. now i have 6mbs though
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#8
I get 3MB/s speed, and I curse it... why can't we get T3 here?....
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
Loves his Fibre Connection :rockout: I could have 400/400 if I wanted(I have avoided even looking at the price tho:laugh:)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#10
heck no 3mb isnt enough for gaming. thats like the new age dial up. i ban everyone with a slow connection like that from my cod matches. with ur 15mb ur just cutting it close to being good enough... dont make it worse
I'm on a 100/2mb plan and when I'm capped its 256k/256k and I can still play online games fine with no lag. Just depends how far you are from the server, not the net speed.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
370
Likes
12
System Name My Baby
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99S GAMING 7
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360mm on CPU / Corsair H110 on GPU
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X @ 1400MHz with Corsair H110/30c @ Full Load
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VH242H 23.6" 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850G2
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#11
you guys that say 3mb is fine for gaming just dont know what your talking about. lol
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397
Likes
5,475
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
you guys that say 3mb is fine for gaming just dont know what your talking about. lol
Gaming likes low latency more than more bandwidth. You won't see a game eating up that much bandwidth. What really matters is how quickly you receive those packets and how long it takes to communicate with the server. Bandwidth is a deciding factor when you're downloading large files or streaming video.

You sir, have no clue what you're talking about. So don't presume that you're right and everyone else is wrong because you think you know what is going on.

I get 3MB/s speed, and I curse it... why can't we get T3 here?....
You know Cable and Fiber can go faster than T3, right?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#13
Heh, well someone should tell shaw that... they actually call my plan "extreme speed". 25mb/2.5mb/s is hardly that. Funny thing is, I think they actually laid fiber optic cables throughout town recently.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#14
you guys that say 3mb is fine for gaming just dont know what your talking about. lol
Well, I played online games for 2 years in my off-campus college apartmemt that only gave you 95 kB/s (0.8 megabits) each direction and barely had any issues at all besides there being too many people on the service and causing latency fluctuations.

3 Mbps is plenty. You failed to mention anything out the upload speed which is even more critical for online gaming. You could have 40Mb/s download but 0.001Mb/s upload and you would not be able to play. However, if you have about 384 Kilobits upload or higher that should be just fine for gaming. Most people with 10 or 20Mbps down only have around 1 megabit upload speeds.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#15
In my case, a certain sim I fly online is just passable with my bandwidth. Other online games require much less bandwidth. I suggest you google around and find out what the bandwidth requirements are for the particular game you want to run online. 3mb/s may indeed be enough. Just doesn't cut it for mine, and I suppose others uses. But honestly, in this day and age with multi gig dls for some things, I'd get faster.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#16
In my case, a certain sim I fly online is just passable with my bandwidth. Other online games require much less bandwidth. I suggest you google around and find out what the bandwidth requirements are for the particular game you want to run online. 3mb/s may indeed be enough. Just doesn't cut it for mine, and I suppose others uses. But honestly, in this day and age with multi gig dls for some things, I'd get faster.
What sim you flying?

Once you go fibre you can never go back. When I came over to view this place before I bought it. The first thing I asked when I came in the door is did it have "Lyse"(our fibre provider) The Modem is down on the first floor by the front door in a "cupboard" He opened up and I was finished with my "viewing":laugh: I saw enough in the Realtor pics. Funny thing is I live in a pretty small rural town(Farm country) But yeah it's here.

I ran a test last night actually. Like Jstn7477 said Upload counts too. I never have that problem...:wtf:

 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#17
Rise of Flight. Really likes fast connections, especially in a server with high ai and a lot of pilots. Your connection smokes mine, my upload is the weak point for sure:

Just noticed I'm faster than 83% of Canada? That's pretty sad.....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
That's one I never tried. Play a little IL-2 Cliffs of Dover(it's just a broken, sinking ship, had so much potential) I'm on War Thunder Beta but not played it much at all. What I did play was fun in a Semi-Sim kinda way. I used fly IL-2 46 almost daily. Played that for 5yrs or so.

Being a Canadian that kinda makes me sad too.Not much progress made. I guess that's Cable? You need to find out where them Fibre Cables are goin and see if you can "get some":laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#19
well if it helps any here are the requirements for youtube Youtube Requirements, basically what you need to take from that is 500kbps, or about 64 kilobytes per second download rate, and that's probably for the lowest quality with some buffer time.

as for gaming most just state "broadband" which is pretty much anything but dail up and "dsl lite". 3Mbps is enough I guess for gaming and whatnot, esp for comcast since their speeds stay constant, and often you get faster than advertised. for example, we're on a 12Mbps plan and we can get download rates of 1.8-2.0 Megabytes per sec, though many times it is around the 1 Megabyte range, depending on servers and whatnot.

The biggest issue for gaming is typically latency... which so far comcast has been pretty good with.

as someone else mentioned, you would be getting about 384KB/sec bandwidth, 1Mb = 128KB. Should be enough to game and stream standard def youtube vids



that's with streaming radio and my friend on Star Wars: The Old Republic at the same time, and while on an old 54Mbps connection on my laptop's WiFi... its my Thinkpad

I'd like to add... I ran a CS1.6 server on a 3Mb connection for a while. it was an 8 player server on an old P3 750 with 512megs ram... it ran pretty decent as long as i didn't touch the mouse lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
370
Likes
12
System Name My Baby
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99S GAMING 7
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360mm on CPU / Corsair H110 on GPU
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA TITAN X @ 1400MHz with Corsair H110/30c @ Full Load
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VH242H 23.6" 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850G2
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#20
bandwidth greatly effects your latency at such a low low bandwidth. dont believe any of the people who are guessing things to say and putting it on a forum without even checking if theyr right. i know from actually researching and especially from my own experience living with 3mb speed in 3 different locations. there is a massive performance issue with 3mb in FPS games and a small but noticeable issue in mmorpgs. at the bare minimum you should at least get 6mb if you can. i have a good isp and usually get a 5-20ms ping in FPS and 5-50ms ping in mmorpgs. when i had 3mb shit dsl at this same house i got about 200-400 ping in fps and 300-500 in mmorpgs. so yes it makes a big difference.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#21
I agree, higher bandwidth is going to always equal lower latency, especially if you only use part of it. A slow connection will always be that.. a slow connection. It's why I pay for the highest speed I can get locally, and if faster comes, I'll upgrade. There is a balance between how fast an isp can reliably provide a certain speed, and acceptable latecy. Higher speed usually equals better latency as well, or else the isp should get out of the business!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#22
And yes INSTG8R I've flown IL2 1946 for years, plus an obscure WW1 sim called RB3D. Rise of Flight is awesum, and if you have a capable system, you really should try it. It's free to try forever, and you can just add planes ect if you want. http://riseofflight.com/en
Sorry, I just really love this sim.
Edit: and wow stayplation3... 7ms ping?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397
Likes
5,475
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#23
bandwidth greatly effects your latency at such a low low bandwidth. dont believe any of the people who are guessing things to say and putting it on a forum without even checking if theyr right. i know from actually researching and especially from my own experience living with 3mb speed in 3 different locations. there is a massive performance issue with 3mb in FPS games and a small but noticeable issue in mmorpgs. at the bare minimum you should at least get 6mb if you can. i have a good isp and usually get a 5-20ms ping in FPS and 5-50ms ping in mmorpgs. when i had 3mb shit dsl at this same house i got about 200-400 ping in fps and 300-500 in mmorpgs. so yes it makes a big difference.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2154290293.png
With any Good ISP you will get reasonable pings. I'm at my in-law's summer house which has 3/1.5Mbit and my ping is something like 40ms to google. Maybe your DSL was just crap. Just because it is a dedicated line doesn't mean that it is good or that there isn't any noise on the telephone line. With all of this said, you're still wrong. Even to a local ISP in the state next to me, pings are pretty reasonable. It's all based on the hardware being used by the ISP and how far away you are from some of the largest network backbones where ever you live.

Source: I do this for a living.

Story: Just two days ago I was doing latency and bandwidth testing and the only time latency suffers alongside bandwidth is when there is interference on the signal you're receiving. For example, there was interference on a RJ45 twisted-pair UTP ethernet cable running BASE1000-T, but I was only getting 4-11MB/s when I should have been getting at least 95MB/s and the only reasons for it was because there are a lot of alien crosstalk and the run of CAT5e, it was too long, and out of spec for BASE1000-T. There were significant issues with BASE100-TX as well. So don't go telling me what I already know.

Example:

Notice the 3Mb down, 1.5Mb up, and 23ms latency. Don't spread false information, please.


I agree, higher bandwidth is going to always equal lower latency, especially if you only use part of it. A slow connection will always be that.. a slow connection. It's why I pay for the highest speed I can get locally, and if faster comes, I'll upgrade. There is a balance between how fast an isp can reliably provide a certain speed, and acceptable latecy. Higher speed usually equals better latency as well, or else the isp should get out of the business!
Ever use satellite internet? You could have 15Mbit down and your response time could still be 250-400ms, there really is no correlation with bandwidth and response time UNTIL you exceed your bandwidth, then you have to wait for the last bit of information to get transmitted until the next gets sent, and for games 3Mbit/1.5Mbit is prefectly adequate. Video and media, not so much.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#24
Ping is a measurement of latency (network efficiency) and has nothing to do with bandwidth or throughput.
If given a specific route, and all things remain constant, a 6Mb connection will not give you a better ping than a 3Mb.

That being said, there are several factors that could cause one to think their bandwidth speed affects their ping times.
1) Better line conditions (different ISP subnets) for users of higher bandwidth accounts.
2) Faster routers (the ping turn-around time comes into effect here, a faster turn-around at the router means a lower ping) for people with higher bandwidth accounts.
3) Bandwidth contention. If the ping has to fight for time on a saturated (or near saturated) network it will affect the latency. If you are checking the ping results while playing a game, on a low bandwidth connection, your ping could be affected. For a true latency check the ping needs to run uninhibited by other network traffic (which is basically impossible, but you can facilitate it by doing pings while not doing anything else on the internet).
4) Server load at the receiving end. This is only the case when you are pinging something like a game server and not an interim router. It is possible that the server is set up to process high speed connections at a higher priority than lower speed ones, for obvious reasons.

Aquinus is also right in mentioning the delay of satellite connections. I got MUCH better pings on 56K dial-up than I did on my 1.5Mb satellite connection. My dial-up connection would give me pings in the sub 200ms range (not very good, but hey it was dial-up) whereas my satellite connection hovered between 1800 and 2000ms (approx. 10x worse).
Obviously having 1.5Mb/s bandwidth on satellite was far superior for downloading over roughly 50Kb/s using a dial-up modem, but I could play online games with dial-up (although it sucked) that were impossible to play on the higher bandwidth satellite because of the horrible latency.

To accurately compare a 3Mb to 6Mb connection, you would need to run a traceroute on both and see where the packets are being routed and the latency at each hop.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
Bandwidth CAN affect latency, but it also doesn't a lot of the time, and latency is what affects games.

Generally, if you stay with the same ISP, your latency will be the same. Even if you are dropping the bandwidth from 14Mb/s to 3Mb/s, the latency will stay pretty much the same. However, if you saturate the 3Mb/s connection, which is easier to do than a 14Mb/s connection, then packets start to have to wait to get through, and latency rises. So with a 14Mb/s it would likely be possible to torrent in the background while playing games, but with a 3Mb/s you probably can't.