• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3rd and 4th memory slot problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#1
<--Specs
I cleared cmos so settings are all at stock.

I can not get my computer to boot if I have a ram stick in the 3rd or 4th slot. Those are the two slots on the right side out of four slots. By not boot I mean that the computer turns on (fans lights etc) but I get no beeps and it shortly turns off without me being able to even enter the bios. It will turn on again repeating this over and over. :cry:
I can have upto the two left slots populated giving me 4gb of single channel ram. This setup will let me get into windows etc. It does not matter which of my four sticks are in which slots.

I have let the computer run for awhile hoping that the motherboard wills somehow find itself a fix. I also have cleared cmos repeatedly with the button and also by removing the battery. I have tried no other fixes beyond this.

I did just do two things that could possibly of caused this.
One, I just took apart my watercooling loop and installed an apogee drive II. Two, while my loop was apart I tried cleaning off excess soldering flux and residue from motherboard as I was curious as to if it would actually help with my overclock. I did get sticky surfaces and cleaned them with a toothbrush, 99% alcohol, and a coffee filter. I did this to my soundcard, gpu, and motherboard. Gpu and soundcard are having no problems at this time.

As always, any help is appreciated.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#2
Did you try swapping the DIMMs instead to make sure that they're good? Do we know that we're working with memory that's confirmed to work?

Without the other two DIMMs populated, does CPU-Z say you're running in dual-channel mode? If both DIMMs are on the same channel it could be a connection or IMC issue.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#3
Did you try swapping the DIMMs instead to make sure that they're good? Do we know that we're working with memory that's confirmed to work?

Without the other two DIMMs populated, does CPU-Z say you're running in dual-channel mode? If both DIMMs are on the same channel it could be a connection or IMC issue.
I can have upto the two left slots populated giving me 4gb of single channel ram. This setup will let me get into windows etc. It does not matter which of my four sticks are in which slots.
Single channel was confirmed with cpuz. I did test each stick alone, and they all got into windows. I then proceeded to try varying ram placements, figuring out that I can use the first two slots.

I should also note that I checked for anything odd like a bent pin or dust bunny in those ram slots. I did not find anything. I also used canned air and blew out the slots just in case.
This ram and motherboard have been playing pretty nice for the over a year. This ram also happens to by on the qualified memory list for this motherboard.

Newegg has pics of this model of motherboard if anyone wants to looks.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
Single channel was confirmed with cpuz. I did test each stick alone, and they all got into windows. I then proceeded to try varying ram placements, figuring out that I can use the first two slots.

I should also note that I checked for anything odd like a bent pin or dust bunny in those ram slots. I did not find anything. I also used canned air and blew out the slots just in case.
This ram and motherboard have been playing pretty nice for the over a year. This ram also happens to by on the qualified memory list for this motherboard.

Newegg has pics of this model of motherboard if anyone wants to looks.
If you're not over-tightening the cooler than your IMC could have a bad channel. Either that or the connection in the motherboard is bad, but you won't be able to confirm that without either testing your CPU in another board or testing another CPU in your board.

Can you run two DIMMs in either of the two sets of black slots or blue slots. Maybe it's only a single DIMM slot that is broken?

Try both blue slots together and both black slots together. I take it both DIMMs work when both blue and black closest to the CPU are populated when you say "closest to the left".
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#5
If you're not over-tightening the cooler than your IMC could have a bad channel. Either that or the connection in the motherboard is bad, but you won't be able to confirm that without either testing your CPU in another board or testing another CPU in your board.

Can you run two DIMMs in either of the two sets of black slots or blue slots. Maybe it's only a single DIMM slot that is broken?

Try both blue slots together and both black slots together. I take it both DIMMs work when both blue and black closest to the CPU are populated when you say "closest to the left".
I will loosen the cpu block and see if that does anything. I also have no other board and no other cpu I can test with.

I have tried, I believe all placement of ram. I have tried blue + blue and black + black. The only combination I can get to work is the two left slots. Not all 8gbs was bought at the same time. I also have been keeping the two sets together. By that I mean I have tried 1st set of 4gbs in both blue slots and set 2 in both blue slots etc.

Yes, closest to the left is closest to the cpu.

The part I find oddest is that I get no beeps or anything.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
So it won't boot if you place only 1 dimm in either of the right most slots?

Sounds like you have a bad channel on your CPU if that's the case.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#7
So it won't boot if you place only 1 dimm in either of the right most slots?

Sounds like you have a bad channel on your CPU if that's the case.
Correct.

Bad channel? Blue + Blue makes a dual channel. Wouldn't it be bad channels? My knowledge on cpu memory channels doesn't go far beyond the definition of single/dual/quad channel memory and how it works on the motherboards I have had.

Why all of the sudden? Could it be that placing my new cpu block, I over tightened? It is not delided, not that it can be either. The instructions say to tighten the until the springs are fully compressed which is where I went to.

I am going to let it run a few more while the motherboard trys to make a fix while I sleep. Has helped before.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#8
You may have a magically bent pin... it happens :\
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#9
I have tried is removing the processor; clearing cmos; reseating the processor. No luck.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
Bad channel? Blue Blue makes a dual channel. Wouldn't it be bad channels? My knowledge on cpu memory channels doesn't go far beyond the definition of single/dual/quad channel memory and how it works on the motherboards I have had.
Right, so the first blue and black is one channel, and the second blue and black are the second channel. By populating just the blue slots, you're saying put 1 DIMM on the first slot for each controller since dual channel requires both channels to be populated. Populating the first two lets you run in single channel off one channel. Populating either the 3rd or 4th dimm slot alone not booting is either a bad connection with the motherboard or a bad IMC, but if it did boot it would be using the 2nd channel instead.

Did you ever run memory in both blue slots or both black slots or has memory always been in the first two slots?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#11
Right, so the first blue and black is one channel, and the second blue and black are the second channel. By populating just the blue slots, you're saying put 1 DIMM on the first slot for each controller since dual channel requires both channels to be populated. Populating the first two lets you run in single channel off one channel. Populating either the 3rd or 4th dimm slot alone not booting is either a bad connection with the motherboard or a bad IMC, but if it did boot it would be using the 2nd channel instead.

Did you ever run memory in both blue slots or both black slots or has memory always been in the first two slots?
By that description, I am unable to boot or even get into the bios if a memory slot is in the second channel.

When I first got this system I had 4gb, 2 sticks in the blue slots. A few months later I bought another 4gbs, 2 sticks and filled all the slots. I have tried all ram placements in the slots including blue + blue only and black + black only. The second channel did work until I most recently put it back together if that is what you are getting at. To put it very simply, it will not boot or beep if either the third or fourth slot are populated at all.

I would like to thanks you for your help so far and your very very quick responses.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
By that description, I am unable to boot or even get into the bios if a memory slot is in the second channel.

When I first got this system I had 4gb, 2 sticks in the blue slots. A few months later I bought another 4gbs, 2 sticks and filled all the slots. I have tried all ram placements in the slots including blue + blue only and black + black only. The second channel did work until I most recently put it back together if that is what you are getting at. To put it very simply, it will not boot or beep if either the third or fourth slot are populated at all.

I would like to thanks you for your help so far and your very very quick responses.
You're welcome. If I didn't want to help I wouldn't post half the time at TPU :p and you're more than welcome.

Just so I understand this correctly, no matter what memory configuration, if a DIMM is in the 3rd or 4th slots (with or without any other dimms populated,) it will turn on, fans will spin but it will just hang without posting or beeping? Since all the DIMMs work in in the first two slots it's not bad memory, that's for sure. The real question is if it is the motherboard or the processor, and I'm not exactly sure how to figure out which it is. Considering there is no beep it could be the CPU but I don't have enough information to say that for certain. It is very suspicious that the entirety of the second channel is having trouble though which makes me lean towards the IMC, but could be wrong.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#13
Correct.

I don't post a problem here at tpu if it is not a hard one that I can't fix. ;)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
Correct.

I don't post a problem here at tpu if it is not a hard one that I can't fix. ;)
Heh, yeah. I hate to recommend it but unless you have another CPU or motherboard to rule each of them out your best option is to buy a new one to test with or RMA the CPU and see what happens.

You could grab a celeron for backup and test with it, but you still are looking at ~$40 USD.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#15
I wonder how much single channel memory would hit me in performance.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
I wonder how much single channel memory would hit me in performance.
It depends on the application, it would benefit multi-threaded applications more than anything else but you're chopping your memory bandwidth in half by doing it.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
I'd RMA the board first. In my experience it is far more likely that the RAM slots on the board got damaged than the CPU loosing a channel on the IMC.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#18
I'd RMA the board first. In my experience it is far more likely that the RAM slots on the board got damaged than the CPU loosing a channel on the IMC.
I agree. I really don't think the cpu went bad. If anything the board is the one that had the possibility of some abuse. I was reinstalling watercooling stuff and I did wash the board. It did dry for about 48-56 hours.

I washed my gpu and soundcard also an they came out fine. I don't know. I was curious if it would actually help my overclock.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,350 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,145
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#19
I wonder how much single channel memory would hit me in performance.
Almost no difference....I did this on accident when I got this board....
Could you post a screen of CPU-Z memory tab
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
I agree. I really don't think the cpu went bad. If anything the board is the one that had the possibility of some abuse. I was reinstalling watercooling stuff and I did wash the board. It did dry for about 48-56 hours.

I washed my gpu and soundcard also an they came out fine. I don't know. I was curious if it would actually help my overclock.
Wash? What did you wash it with?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#21
I cleaned it with rubbing alcohol. I used a toothbrush also. It used a toothbrush and a distilled water to rinse off some dish soap I used because there was a sticky spot that wasn't just going away. You must of missed that part of the OP.
Two, while my loop was apart I tried cleaning off excess soldering flux and residue from motherboard as I was curious as to if it would actually help with my overclock.
I am now pretty sure it is bent pins. I keep trying to get it to boot with ram in those slots. I noticed that the two right slots are harder to get a stick down than the two good ones. I can not see anything obstructing it; there is no visible difference between the two good slots and the two bad ones.

I'll get a cpuz shot next time I boot into windows on it since you asked jm.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
I cleaned it with rubbing alcohol. I used a toothbrush also. It used a toothbrush and a distilled water to rinse off some dish soap I used because there was a sticky spot that wasn't just going away.

I am now pretty sure it is bent pins. I keep trying to get it to boot with ram in those slots. I noticed that the two right slots are harder to get a stick down than the two good ones. I can not see anything obstructing it; there is no visible difference between the two good slots and the two bad ones.
Aw, that's a shame. Time to pack that mobo up and ship it back if it is still under warranty. At least it isn't an ASUS board. :p

Please let us know how the RMA goes though, several years ago I had an excellent experience with MSI support. I'm just curious since it has been quite some time and I haven't heard anyone complain about it yet.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,350 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,145
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#23
MSI customer service is excellent here in the US. Just don't be specific and play dumb.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#24
MSI customer service is excellent here in the US. Just don't be specific and play dumb.
I was very specific when I broke my MSI motherboard several years ago and I got it back in 2 weeks. I think not being specific could be bad. Tell them exactly what your machine is doing, but don't speculate for them though.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,350 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,145
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#25
I was very specific when I broke my MSI motherboard several years ago and I got it back in 2 weeks. I think not being specific could be bad. Tell them exactly what your machine is doing, but don't speculate for them though.
Its good to tell them what its doing but nothing more...they will ask for less info and the process moves faster...Never tell them stuff like you washed the board...just tell them you have 4 memory sticks and 2 don't work and you tested all 4 sticks and they work fine but slots X and X do no t work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.