1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 vs 2 gigs

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by exodusprime1337, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    so i've got an issue, my 2 gig kit came back from rma today and all for 1 gig sticks work now but here is the problem. The memory is ddr2 1150 @5,5,5,12 2t stock. with only 2 sticks in i can do this but with 4 i cannot. In fact i'm only getting about 960Mhz @5,5,5,12 2t with all 4 sticks in. Now i'd like to run vista x64. am i better off with 32 bit windows @1150 with only 2 gigs or am i better off with vista x64 with 4gigs at 960mhz??
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,162 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,026
    Location:
    Florida
    Vista 4GB i can tell you know that i can feel the speed even when i ran XP x64 wioth 4GB the diffirence ws noticable i have an idea for ya though try this

    my NB is touchy so i had to do some experimenting but i figured this out

    if you want to try running those sticks fast with 4GB try this

    5-4-4-15

    and instead of ram voltage bump your NB up a bit ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,847 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,023
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'd go for 4GB at a lower speed personally...do some bandwidth comparisons. And remember that you don't need the highest possible to attain good results...but I've found 4GB of slower memory was better for me than 2GB of faster memory. I mostly game, browse the web, do some encoding here and there, watch videos, etc...more games are using more memory, so are programs, when you multitask it can help, etc...really to me I see no point in running less than 4GB now that I've had 4GB.

    I am just running a cheap 2x2GB G.Skill PC8000 kit that runs 1000, 5-5-5-15 @ 2.0v stable...actually it runs at 1033 at 2.0v stable..My bandwidth and latency are not the best...but I can't really tell a difference aside from less hitching in games and less slow down during mass multitasking due to having that extra memory there.

    That is just my experience and 2c though, plus Vista x64 has treated me very well, very stable, speedy (for me at least), my games load fast and play very well, have no complaints really.

    I hope that helps!

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    yeah i lost about 300Megs/s on read/write/copy and about 3ms latency from 38.5 to about 42ms.

    it's treating me good, i usually run the stuff at 5,5,5,12 2t at 1150 but right now i'm running 5,5,5,12 at 960. it's not bad i mean vista 64bit does seem a bit more responsive and i love having 4 gigs of memory, no more maxing out in cod4/WoW. i just wish i could keep all 4 sticks at 5,5,5,12. @ 1150.

    Also what should i set my nb at for voltage it goes from 1.2 to 1.5??
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,162 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,026
    Location:
    Florida
    just a heads my mushkins at 950mhz

    [​IMG]

    2x2GB kit
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,162 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,026
    Location:
    Florida

    you can do 1.5v hell mines at 1.7 its the only way it handles the ram and the quad at the same time.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)