1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

400Gb wifi!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Mussels, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    [​IMG]



    made you look - its just a bug that cropped up installing a wireless card into a machine here.


    Edit: For those that skip the thread and read just the first post, a solution was found.

    Some google keywords:

    412.3Gb wireless
    TP Link TL-WN651G
    Atheros AR5005GS
    Windows 7

    Solution:
    Downloaded the latest win 7 drivers here and manually installed the NDIS5x64 drivers (aka windows vista) - the NDIS6 (7) drivers DID NOT WORK.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,964 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    :laugh: that's awesome!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    sad part is i cant make the card work normally, so no wifi in that machine >.<

    I wonder if its a driver issue (TP link card, no 7 drivers - just MS defaults) - or if the cards buggered (brand new)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Have you tried Vista drivers? I'm running a TP Link router and Wifi card, and they work great in 7 with the latest Vista drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yup, tried generic drivers, atheros drivers, TP link drivers... and different PCI slots.


    Seems like this brand spanking new card is not 7 compatible, what useless bastards TP link are. (they have a 'beta' driver section for windows 7, but the cards not listed)

    edit: thanks to station drivers i'm at least able to find drivers from 2010, as opposed to 2007. Pity they dont work.


    edit: how bloody weird! They have a windows 7 folder (which does NOT work)

    They also have an "NDIS5x64" folder/driver, which DOES work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Ptep Guest

    Which model TP-Link card is it? Ive had no issues with W7 and any of the TP-Link stuff that ive used so far, id say chances are the card has snuffed it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    TL-WN651G

    you obviously missed the last post where i got it working - it needs the latest vista driver and it works, whereas the latest win7 driver doesnt... go figure.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Ptep Guest

    Haha, sorry i missed the bit where you said it worked, i must have skim read your post!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    try to get it to over 9000
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    9000KB/s - wireless NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,512
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i FINALLY solved this problem.


    i got two new USB wireless N adaptors today, one a ralink one a realtek - and both had the same problem as the PCI card i tested in this thread.


    Finally narrowed it down, the problem is a compatibility issue with kasperskys NDIS web filter.

    simply untick the filter, and all is well
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)