• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

4170 vs. 4350

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,653
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#52
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,120 (0.67/day)
Likes
553
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Team Delta DDR4 3000 2x8 GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX980 DCUII
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#53
@ Brickstin

I checked out you manual which only talks to Hybrid Xfire but it looks to me like you could use 1+2 or 1+3 slots.
I do wonder thogh if you were going to spen $250 why not just get 1 good card?? like a 670 or 760 or 7870 or 7950. These are all great cards. Less headaches and less heat. Just my opinion..
 

Brickstin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#54
Found single Non SLI one

@ Brickstin

I checked out you manual which only talks to Hybrid Xfire but it looks to me like you could use 1+2 or 1+3 slots.
I do wonder thogh if you were going to spen $250 why not just get 1 good card?? like a 670 or 760 or 7870 or 7950. These are all great cards. Less headaches and less heat. Just my opinion..
wait.. those look like nVidia Model Numbers.. Can you link me those?




and Hybrid xFire? I havent even had the chance to glance at the manual .. x.x I've been to busy off line.


Did anyone else also get a chance to confirm the board I bought is a 6+2 Phase?

Because if it's not then I think I royally screwed my self over x.x
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,120 (0.67/day)
Likes
553
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Team Delta DDR4 3000 2x8 GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX980 DCUII
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#55
GTX670 or GTX760 just do a search at newegg.
As far as the power phasing I cannot find anything definate excet that the original versions were 4+1+1 phase.
 

Brickstin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#56
Lol

GTX670 or GTX760 just do a search at newegg.
As far as the power phasing I cannot find anything definate excet that the original versions were 4+1+1 phase.
I Contacted BIOSTAR... I swear to God.. this guy was an idiot I asked him if he knew if the motherboard I got if he knew what phases this thing had: he didn't even know. I was like.. UM.. ok...

Where did you find that information? Please point me in the right direction?

Is it in the manual? I am reading it now. on the first few pages so far. : )
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,120 (0.67/day)
Likes
553
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Team Delta DDR4 3000 2x8 GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX980 DCUII
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#57
Someone took some time and put together a list here for Mobos and phasing. Like I said the original is listed there but there wasn't any info I could find on Ver5. Judging by the pic it was hard to tell for sure but it still looks like 4 phase to me.
 

Brickstin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#58
oh dang...

Someone took some time and put together a list here for Mobos and phasing. Like I said the original is listed there but there wasn't any info I could find on Ver5. Judging by the pic it was hard to tell for sure but it still looks like 4 phase to me.
Darn.. those phases... well since its only 4+1+1 phases and stuff.. looks like I wont be able to do much over clocking on this thing then.. x.x

Well im just going to set the Vram speeds ect and all that crap to its main stock speeds.

Might throw the core into turbo mode anyways; and set the HT link to its proper speed if its safe loaded.

I'm going to get a more powerful watt Power supply to support this.

I also found this.. the 4350 has better core performance for its watt usage!

So that CPU will be more stable then the older model: I am ordering it tonight :3

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/AMD-FX-4350-vs-AMD-FX-4130
I cant figure out if the 3570's North Bridge Frequency controller is:

the 4170 is is 2.2 GHz

Does anyone have any information on the North Bridge Frequency on the 4350?

I couldn't find it on CPU-world.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,101 (0.64/day)
Likes
345
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
#59
Darn.. those phases... well since its only 4+1+1 phases and stuff.. looks like I wont be able to do much over clocking on this thing then.. x.x

Well im just going to set the Vram speeds ect and all that crap to its main stock speeds.

Might throw the core into turbo mode anyways; and set the HT link to its proper speed if its safe loaded.

I'm going to get a more powerful watt Power supply to support this.

I also found this.. the 4350 has better core performance for its watt usage!

So that CPU will be more stable then the older model: I am ordering it tonight :3

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/AMD-FX-4350-vs-AMD-FX-4130
I cant figure out if the 3570's North Bridge Frequency controller is:

the 4170 is is 2.2 GHz

Does anyone have any information on the North Bridge Frequency on the 4350?

I couldn't find it on CPU-world.
If you mean cpu/nb, probably about 2400 MHz

That's one of the things I remember about FX..cpu/nb doesn't go so high :)
 
Joined
May 22, 2013
Messages
1,120 (0.67/day)
Likes
553
System Name Gamer/ HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Cooler Master V8
Memory Team Delta DDR4 3000 2x8 GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX980 DCUII
Storage Corsair Neutron 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung 42" 1080p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Power Supply Corsair 750
Software Win10 Pro
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/johan45/
#60
Darn.. those phases... well since its only 4+1+1 phases and stuff.. looks like I wont be able to do much over clocking on this thing then.. x.x

Well im just going to set the Vram speeds ect and all that crap to its main stock speeds.

Might throw the core into turbo mode anyways; and set the HT link to its proper speed if its safe loaded.

I'm going to get a more powerful watt Power supply to support this.

I also found this.. the 4350 has better core performance for its watt usage!

So that CPU will be more stable then the older model: I am ordering it tonight :3

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/AMD-FX-4350-vs-AMD-FX-4130
I cant figure out if the 3570's North Bridge Frequency controller is:

the 4170 is is 2.2 GHz

Does anyone have any information on the North Bridge Frequency on the 4350?

I couldn't find it on CPU-world.
As long as you have decent cooling you should be able to OC it some just have to wait and see. You may need some active cooling on the VRM as well but really no way to tell till you have it in there trialing it.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
971 (0.24/day)
Likes
184
Location
NorCal
System Name Modest Box
Processor Pentium G3258 @ 4.7 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 16GB
Video Card(s) Galax GTX 1060 6GB EXOC White Edition
Storage OCZ Vertex 460A 480GB
Display(s) Dell U2412M
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA 450W Bronze
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#61
The "silicon lottery", CPU cooling and case ventilation are going to have more bearing on your ability to do a reasonable OC than the power phase count. Everything I've been able to glean from reviews and forum posts say that even at 4+1 Biostar boards (either 9xx chipset) are decent overclockers.
 

Brickstin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#63
Woot

As long as you have decent cooling you should be able to OC it some just have to wait and see. You may need some active cooling on the VRM as well but really no way to tell till you have it in there trialing it.
Well the inside of my work room is always fairly cool, about well no higher then 70*F I try to keep this room cool since it's also my work room and during the winter I just close the heat vents and let my Computers heat up the room for me HAHA: that's one way to save Natural Gas bills

I was thinking of possibly using some Watercooling but I am going to try everything with all the fan setups and ventilation systems I have already set up on this unit. I'm pretty much doing a board swap and still using my existing case.

I will upload photos later ;3