1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 + 2x 4870 CFX questions

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Fitseries3, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I have 2x 4870's and a 4850.

    my board....

    [​IMG]

    i will have the 4870's in the blue slot and the furthest black one with the 4850 in the middle.

    will this work properly?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i guess im just gonna try it out.

    anyone have a LONG CF bridge i can buy?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok... since no one is being helpfull today im tackling it myself.

    maybe someone can tell me how the hell to OC and fix the fan on 3 cards now?

    3 gpu CFX is enabled. there is the option for 2 and 3 gpu in CCC but no overdrive at all.

    any suggestions? AGCT?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,166 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    At this point in the day the forums seem a little stagnant. It's better to ask earlier because the people in europe will be awake :)
     
  5. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    do u mean u have an x2 and a 4850?
     
  6. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    no, 2 4870's and a 4850
     
  7. paulo7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok...... heres where im at...


    1st 4870....
    800/1000

    4850...
    650/1000

    2nd 4870...
    500/1000

    i can change the 1st 4870 and the 4850 but NOT the 2nd 4870. WTF?

    i saved the profile in CCC and tried to edit it but it's empty. what now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    errrrrrr....

    now the driver keeps crashing in the cpu test of 3dm06. wtf man? this is crap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hows this?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is that a good score?
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pretty damn good. i'd tell you my 06 score but 06 wont run at all. not even at stock.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Why 03? Why not vantage or 06?
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ^^^
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    what about vantage?
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    trying now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Yup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That seems low for 3 4800's..
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    there is a # of things that are wrong here. this damn p45 is a shitty OCer with ram so my mem is running crappy. the video cards wont OC much in 3gpu mode either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,352 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,436
    What are all the lanes running at? x8x4x4? You may actually get a better score removing the 4850. Either way, cool stuff man!:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yup... but it's pci-e 2.0 so it's not that bad really. i need my p5e3 back from dark. help me convince him;).

    06 still wont run.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,352 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,436
    Does 06 just lockup or does it give you an error?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    it stops. i can ctrl+alt+del out of it and the comp runs fine for hours but not 3dm06.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,170 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I think you'd be better off with the 4870s in lane 1 and 2
    and forgetting about the 4850 ( at least on this board)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im actually getting 1400 - 1600pts higher at the same cpu clock i benched the 2x 4870's at.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)