• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

4850 how to get the standard fan cooler off?

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Pardon my grammar for i am Dutch. (Netherlands, not deutch -> germany)

Hi there, today i got my zalman graphics card cooler for this asus 4850 1 GB card.
The standard (roundish with plastic rim cap over it) started makeing an irritating snirping sound after about 9 months, only spinning at about 33 to 80% before. Putting it on 100% rpm made the sound go away for a while but it caught up, so now it just whines at low middle And high rpm's. Therefore: replacement was ordered.

I unscrewed the 4 'bottom' screws with the springs, but it does not come loose from gpu.
Is it 'cool-pasta-stickered' on to the GPU ?
Any tips or tricks how to get that thing off there? the force and twisting i applied was not enough. Perhaps more screws that are out of sight i have to remove?
Oh yeah it is dusty, i know, but with new casing (not open :) ) it is much better.



The 4 screws with springs underneeth, not seeable here, they where in the 6 sided bolts on printplate, are allready out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#2
take some needle nose pliers and twist the stand offs (6 sided screws) if they spin freely you may have to heat the cooler to loosen the hardned thermal paste. DO not FORCE it off!!!!! ati cards are direct die meaning if you force it it will take the gpu with it KILLING the card
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#3
Oh hey fellow Dutchie. I've had a similar 4850 and all I needed to do was unscrew the spring screws (the ones that go through the card) and twist the cooler off.

You could use a blowdryer to warm up the thermal paste a bit so it comes off easier, the standard thermal paste can be quite sticky.
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
take some needle nose pliers and twist the stand offs (6 sided screws) if they spin freely you may have to heat the cooler to loosen the hardned thermal paste. DO not FORCE it off!!!!! ati cards are direct die meaning if you force it it will take the gpu with it KILLING the card
Ok thanx, i will heat it in now open case in use.
BUT the 6 sided stand-off's are not twistable it seems.
So i hope that the Thrackan replyer, a fellow dutchman, in this thread has the 'solution' : if cpu is warm/hot, it will come off now the 4 screws are out of the 6 side stand-off's.
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
take some needle nose pliers and twist the stand offs (6 sided screws) if they spin freely you may have to heat the cooler to loosen the hardned thermal paste. DO not FORCE it off!!!!! ati cards are direct die meaning if you force it it will take the gpu with it KILLING the card
I used the card with BF BC 2 (game), it got warm, and the fan came of with a (very-)little resistance in twist motion. After disconnecting the onboard (on videocard) cooler-wire plug, it put it back in.
'DOS' came up but then: signal blink digital/analog meaning no monitor signal. Offcourse the monitorcable was plugged in the videocard, dvi port.
BUT with no cooling fan/ribs on it. Does it sence that or so? Also in pc case, i have seen a red little led on the videocard, never seen before lit up. On the bottom, but above when in case and when cooler is pointing down position.



I guess the 'ditch' aside the chip is the coolant ridge? it is about the 'wall' of coolingpaste paste on the cooler itself, square wide wise.
Or is it a chip crack?
This is all new for me, so pls. how to continue...?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
It must have the cooler on. Never run any computer hardware without it's cooler, you'll destroy the card for sure.
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
It must have the cooler on. Never run any computer hardware without it's cooler, you'll destroy the card for sure.
I will put it on if it is safe, now i do not dare it, yet.
Offcourse the cooler must be there when i will use the pc 'for 2 minutes and more', but is it a technical reason and the graphics card does know the cooler is not there, or should it show the windows screen until it burns up ?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
The card doesn't care if there is a cooler connected or not, it will run until it burns up. And with an HD4850 it will burn up pretty fast.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
I will put it on if it is safe, now i do not dare it, yet.
Offcourse the cooler must be there when i will use the pc 'for 2 minutes and more', but is it a technical reason and the graphics card does know the cooler is not there, or should it show the windows screen until it burns up ?
The cooler should never be off of the card for any period of time. Once the card has power the GPU will instantly get hot. You may have now damaged it running it without a cooler.
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
The cooler should never be off of the card for any period of time. Once the card has power the GPU will instantly get hot. You may have now damaged it running it without a cooler.
Ok ALL thanx for the replyes.

When i put the old original cooler back on the card, in pc, all worked.

So old one off again, cleaning, coolpaste on it, new zalman full copper cooler on gpu, after heatsinks on memory (there where non before so this is extra) offcourse.

In pc, power on, YES it still works !!

Everyone here thanx for the help and explenation !!
Yet another experience ritcher and that is worth something aswell.

No red led anymore, so i guess it hAs a no-cooling installed security.
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
The cooler should never be off of the card for any period of time. Once the card has power the GPU will instantly get hot. You may have now damaged it running it without a cooler.
1 more question to you all:
What is gpu MEMIO temperature? I have never seen this, and it is at 65 degrees Celsius after playing a 3D derby/race game (flatout2) with all high settings.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12
It's just another GPU sensor. It does usually run hotter than the "main" sensor. Nothing to be concerned about. :)
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,153 (0.57/day)
Likes
872
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage ssd's baby
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#14
Oh noes. you did not run it with the cooler off did you? I would never get away with doing something like that.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#15
Lol, yeah thats a lesson learn for sure!

It appears you may also want to take to cleaning your PC more as well.
It looks like the old cooler had been to the beach with all that light coloured dust.

I personally would have just gone out and bought an aftermarket cooler like the scythe Musashi or a AC Twin Turbo Pro. (If you have the reference shaped HD4850 PCB).

The ASUS cooling on those units seem really inadequate.

No contact RAM coolers or coolers on the VRMs at all.

But since it now goes....thats the main thing :)
 

4850

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-usd/products/vgacoolers/vf900-cu
Lol, yeah thats a lesson learn for sure!

It appears you may also want to take to cleaning your PC more as well.
Well it was an open 'caseing', very "COOL" looking, but a dust collector also.

It looks like the old cooler had been to the beach with all that light coloured dust.
Yep, that to, the dogs take some sand in some times ! :) (Really i live nearby the North-sea.)

I personally would have just gone out and bought an aftermarket cooler like the scythe Musashi or a AC Twin Turbo Pro. (If you have the reference shaped HD4850 PCB).
That is what i have now, old one off, new one on, zalman all copper, " ultra quiet high performance dual heatpipe vga cooler VF900-CU " so is stated on the box designed by the marketing department :)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#17
Good the cooler at least comes with cooling for the RAM and the fan is working :)

With my AC Twin Turbo I had to edit the GPU BIOS to get the fan working by itself without help of software or external power. -_-''

Not that AC told me I needed to use external power or software to make the fans work otherwise.