• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

4850 temperatures

blaher

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I've installed an Arctic Cooling Accelero S1, Rev2 on my HIS 4850 which keeps the GPU nice and cool, but the sensors for GPU number two and three are extremely hot. Can anybody tell me where had these sensors are located, and if this is normal?
Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
I think those are the transisitor things that are at the back near the power connections. You should get some ramsinks for them because if they burn out the card will die.

Yes sensor two is the transistor's. Get some ramsinks or cut the one off of the stock cooler.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#3
that looks scary. turn the card off quick ;/
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#4
I am told those are VRM temps. Turn your comp of NOW! and get some ramsinks on them!

I have Zalman ramsinks on mine, with a 40mm fan directly on them, that gives me 70c load....they are hot
 

blaher

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I am told those are VRM temps. Turn your comp of NOW! and get some ramsinks on them!

I have Zalman ramsinks on mine, with a 40mm fan directly on them, that gives me 70c load....they are hot
I do have a heatsink on the back of the card. I used a hacksaw to cut off the back of the heatsink on the original stock cooler, so I don't know why it is so high. I used the 8 RAM heat sinks that came with the Accelero S1, on the RAM.

Even when the card isn't under load and I have the case off with the house fan blowing directly on it, it's still pretty high.



Thanks for your replies, I'll try re-seating the heatsink, or buy some Zalman ones.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Are you running a fan on the Accelero itself? What kind of thermal material do you have between the heatsink and vrm's? Did you make sure that it's making good contact?
 

blaher

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
No, there is no fan on the Accelero itself, but as I said, there is a huge domestic house fan blowing directly onto it and I'm still getting high temperatures.

The thermal material I'm using is the stuff that came with the stock heatsink. A kind of flimsy rubber mat. Hopefully, as you say, it's not seated correctly and re-seating it will at least alleviate the problem. I can't do that just now, but I will do it ASAP and let everyone know how it goes.

Cheers.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
The fan might be causing negative airflow.. Try taking it off and see what happens.
 

ghost101

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
1,328 (0.32/day)
Likes
164
Location
London
#9
I've installed an Arctic Cooling Accelero S1, Rev2 on my HIS 4850 which keeps the GPU nice and cool, but the sensors for GPU number two and three are extremely hot. Can anybody tell me where had these sensors are located, and if this is normal?
Thanks.
Lol. Let me guess, this is being run passive. Hence no air moving over the RAM and VRMs causing very high temps. Especially Temps 2 which is the VRM temps.

edit: I see youve pointed a house fan whch has improved things. I'll repeat, you need more air moving over the VRMs. You need to strap on a 120mm fan or something. Since the cooler itself comes in no contact with the RAM and VRMs, you need to cool them as well as the aluminium fins. I hope you havent caused any long term damage.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#10
I do have a heatsink on the back of the card.
The VRM's are on the front, the 2 packs of 4 chips, below the PCI-e connector, cool those.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#11
try the turbo module, some people said that worked better ;)
the stock cooler works nicly at 30% fan speed
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#12
Could you also give us your ambient temperature in the room?
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit

blaher

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Thanks for all your replies.

It turned out the flimsy thermal tape from the stock cooler wasn't sitting properly. I bought some extra heatsinks about the same size as the included Arctic Cooling S1 RAM ones anyway. I used those instead on the VRMs with some thermal adhesive, rather than the useless tape.
It's a wonder any heat is transferred through the stock cooler's tape, even when it is sitting flush.

Ambient temperature about 25degsC


Moral of the story is:
 

poonsmjj

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Hi everyone,

just a question, have I done something wrong b/c I feel like my temps are a bit high.... I'm also using an accelero s1 with zalman heatsinks for the ram and have strapped a 120mm fan for additional cooling...



What's going on? Have I done something wrong??? Thanks for your time!
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#16
Have you cooled your VRM's?....If not, then do so.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,165 (0.27/day)
Likes
433
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#17
See below for what the 3 GPU temps mean:

...there are three sensors inside the gpu die at different strategic locations
the locations are display io, memory io and shader core. all those locations are inside the gpu in different areas
You might not have your heatsink making perfect contact with the GPU core.

I've lapped and polished the stock cooler of one of my cards and noticed a big difference in temps.



This weekend I might polish the cooler of my other card.
 

poonsmjj

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
See below for what the 3 GPU temps mean:





You might not have your heatsink making perfect contact with the GPU core.

I've lapped and polished the stock cooler of one of my cards and noticed a big difference in temps.



This weekend I might polish the cooler of my other card.

That's weird... so it's all related to the GPU? I thought temp2 and temp3 were related to the VRMs at the far right end of the card. I have already put some zalman ram heatsinks on those as well... so it's just some heatsink lapping that will do the trick???
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,165 (0.27/day)
Likes
433
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#19
I wouldn't recommend lapping it unless you are experienced in lapping. You could easily mess up your heatsink. You should just make sure that the core is making good even contact with the base of the cooler. Anyways your temps arn't that bad and shouldn't effect the performance of the card at stock speeds.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,065 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,973
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
you could have high temps if the cooler is not on evenly or if the thermal paste is too thin
 

poonsmjj

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
you could have high temps if the cooler is not on evenly or if the thermal paste is too thin
bingo!!! Thanks to you I tried resetting the GPU - I found out that I was having poor contact b/c i tried to push those L-shaped plastic tabs as far as I could... this resulted in the gpu and heatsink having poor contact.

Here are some new results:

 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,165 (0.27/day)
Likes
433
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#22
Glad to see you got it fixed ;)
 

rav3n

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
I think those are the transisitor things that are at the back near the power connections. You should get some ramsinks for them because if they burn out the card will die.

Yes sensor two is the transistor's. Get some ramsinks or cut the one off of the stock cooler.
what are those chips on the back of the card? can you post a pic?
i have a 4850 wc with mcw60 + zalman ramsinks on memory + small heatskinks on mosfets + fan blowing to the card
even with all that stuff 3dmark crashes during runs, so it could be any other component that is failing due to heating



games, furmark and ati tool are ok
in any 3d load application memory heatsinks are very hot to the touch
im gonna make huge homemade ramsinks, but im out of adesive tape. i´ve ordered it but e.t.a. is ~5 days
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#24
You need to apply bigger heatsinks on VRMs. About that memory, you shouldn't worry about it.
 

HSM

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
Hi!
Is it possible, to monitor the temperature of the memory chips or the VRM part with the Radeon HD 4850?