• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 VRM Temps?

knightlag

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
System Name ROLLING THUNDER
Processor Phenom II 945
Motherboard ASUS M4A77TD Pro
Cooling 6x 120mm fans
Memory 6.0 GB A-DATA DDR3 133
Video Card(s) XFX 1GB HD4870
Storage 1x 250GB Seagate 7200RPM, 1x Barracuda 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer X193W
Case CM 690
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Gentoo Linux
Are these temps safe for the VRM on a 4850? I have a DuOrb Installed at the moment, didn't do the hacksaw thing with my stock cooler, though.




Specs:
E4500, P5L VM-1394, 4850 , 2.0 GB G.Skill DDR2 667 RAM, and I forgot the make/model of my PSU
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
how do you know the VRM temperature? the 3 gpu temperatures are different on-die locations
 

Andy_007

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
187 (0.04/day)
Location
Auckland,New Zealand
Processor AMD Phenom X4 B50 3.4ghz
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO USB3
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex Plus
Memory Team Group Dark 4gb 1800@9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Palit ATI HD 4850
Storage 1TB WD Blue, 2TB WD Green
Case Silverstone Sugo SG02
Audio Device(s) Onboard with Logitech X-530
Power Supply Silverstone Modular 500w
Software Window 7 Ulimate X64
how do you know the VRM temperature? the 3 gpu temperatures are different on-die locations
I have been told that GPU Temp #2 is VRM.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
nope not true ..

there are 3 sensors on the die (silicon), they are positioned in different strategic location, like shader core or memory controller. i dont know the exact locations and also don't know which number corresponds to which location. i do know for sure that all three are on the die, so inside of the gpu.
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
you better believe what wiz tell you, its his software and he knows best .
 

Andy_007

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
187 (0.04/day)
Location
Auckland,New Zealand
Processor AMD Phenom X4 B50 3.4ghz
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO USB3
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex Plus
Memory Team Group Dark 4gb 1800@9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Palit ATI HD 4850
Storage 1TB WD Blue, 2TB WD Green
Case Silverstone Sugo SG02
Audio Device(s) Onboard with Logitech X-530
Power Supply Silverstone Modular 500w
Software Window 7 Ulimate X64
nope not true ..

there are 3 sensors on the die (silicon), they are positioned in different strategic location, like shader core or memory controller. i dont know the exact locations and also don't know which number corresponds to which location. i do know for sure that all three are on the die, so inside of the gpu.
Thats interesting since someone over at XtremeSystems replaced his cooler but didnt put any heatsinks on the VRM's and Temp#2 was getting over 100 degrees and all the other temps where in the 40's.
 

knightlag

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
System Name ROLLING THUNDER
Processor Phenom II 945
Motherboard ASUS M4A77TD Pro
Cooling 6x 120mm fans
Memory 6.0 GB A-DATA DDR3 133
Video Card(s) XFX 1GB HD4870
Storage 1x 250GB Seagate 7200RPM, 1x Barracuda 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer X193W
Case CM 690
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Gentoo Linux
I had always assumed that #2 was the VRM temp. Now I feel silly. :p
Thanks for pointing that out, W1zzard. :respect:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Thats interesting since someone over at XtremeSystems replaced his cooler but didnt put any heatsinks on the VRM's and Temp#2 was getting over 100 degrees and all the other temps where in the 40's.
must be some coincidence .. can you link me to that thread? over 100° isnt that uncommon with the stock heatsink

edit: nm xs is down
 

Andy_007

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
187 (0.04/day)
Location
Auckland,New Zealand
Processor AMD Phenom X4 B50 3.4ghz
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO USB3
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex Plus
Memory Team Group Dark 4gb 1800@9-9-9-27
Video Card(s) Palit ATI HD 4850
Storage 1TB WD Blue, 2TB WD Green
Case Silverstone Sugo SG02
Audio Device(s) Onboard with Logitech X-530
Power Supply Silverstone Modular 500w
Software Window 7 Ulimate X64
must be some coincidence .. can you link me to that thread? over 100° isnt that uncommon with the stock heatsink

edit: nm xs is down
XtremeSystems is currently down but once it is back online i will try to find it for you. It just seems strange that GPU temp, GPU temp #1 and #3 are usually all around the same and GPU#2 is usually much different, My 4850 runs 54/52/66/51 under load at 100% fan stock cooler.
 

jmke

The Madshrimp
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
^bump, I'm also interested in knowing where the locations are of the 3 temp diodes, is #2 VRM or not?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.47/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
The 4870 and 4850 are two cards that use different forms of electronics for filtering. The 4870 uses digital phases, while the 4850 uses mosfets, inductors, capacitor phases. I doubt the 4850 has temp sensors on its "VRM" area; since when did mosfets have temperature diodes intergrated? There are only pins for input out put ground, etcetera, unlike VRMs which have a mini "socket" type thing.

The MOSFETs imho > Digital phases since they don't need that much cooling.

The digital phases, absolutely need a heatsink installed as they would die without them.

must be some coincidence .. can you link me to that thread? over 100° isnt that uncommon with the stock heatsink

edit: nm xs is down
They are talking about the 4870...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.07/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Yeah there was a big debate on which temperature was the VRM.
Funny thing is someone disagreed with W1zz and what the program he made was reading the temperatire from.

I think your temperatures are right.

The idle of temperature 2 would not have gone down as much as it did if it wasn't being cooled.
My idle temperatures are nearly twice what your are on the stock cooler.

1:-79
2:-84
3:-80

But this is the way the HD4850 series are with stock cooling.
If AMD saw this as a problem they would not have released the card.
My HD4850 is still running like a champ and is by far the best card I have owned.
 

nanohead

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
122 (0.03/day)
Yeah, but........ something is going on with that other temp for sure. I have water cooled 4850s, and temp 1 and 3 are always cool (28-38 depending on load and room temp), but the other one is like 65-80.

I have nothing cooling the power modulation portion of the card, just water blocks on the GPUs and memory. I had some enzotech sinks on them, but they fell off (a true PITA)

I'm not sure what that other temp is for either. It is possible that it has a calibration problem like the main CPU temp on the Gigabyte MA78G 780G series boards, where CPU temp is always like 85-100C, but core temp is always like 25-35. This is clearly a faulty measurement (I have several of these boards in my family's machines, and they all say this)

I'm gonna rig up some heatsink mechanism for the power section, as there is no way I'm hacksawing the stock heatsinks.

It would be nice to understand the mystery of that other temp though. WiZZard, I'd be willing to test or probe. Ya got any debug code :rockout:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
It would be nice to understand the mystery of that other temp though.
no mystery .. reseat your waterblock, it is not making good contact with one of the edges of the core. is your waterblock even designed in a way to cool the whole die? or just the center of the die?
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.15/day)
Regardless of the electronics and circuitry used between the HD4850 and HD4870, they both use the same RV770 GPU core. So whatever temperatures Gpu-Z is polling, they are going to come from the same place for both cards. It's already been established what temperatures 1, 2, and 3 are (Display IO, Memory IO, and Shader Core). If you're seeing a large discrepancy between the temperatures, chances are very good that the VGA heatsink/waterblock isn't making proper level contact with the GPU core. This problem has been seen numerous times now, here on the TPU forums...

PS: I may be horribly wrong about everything I just said, but it's my educated opinion...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Regardless of the electronics and circuitry used between the HD4850 and HD4870, they both use the same RV770 GPU core. So whatever temperatures Gpu-Z is polling, they are going to come from the same place for both cards. It's already been established what temperatures 1, 2, and 3 are (Display IO, Memory IO, and Shader Core). If you're seeing a large discrepancy between the temperatures, chances are very good that the VGA heatsink/waterblock isn't making proper level contact with the GPU core. This problem has been seen numerous times now, here on the TPU forums...

PS: I may be horribly wrong about everything I just said, but it's my educated opinion...
nope you are exactly right
 

SpookyWillow

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
as people have said, the 4850 does not have a VRM temp diode. the 4870 on the otherhand does and that temp can be monitored with one of the latest beta versions of everest.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
as people have said, the 4850 does not have a VRM temp diode. the 4870 on the otherhand does and that temp can be monitored with one of the latest beta versions of everest.
gpuz 0.2.7 can read those vrm temps too
 

SpookyWillow

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
dont have a 4870 so i never noticed, only what i read elsewhere :p
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.47/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
MOSFETs have better temperature tolerances compared to 4870's VRMs... therefore higher temperatures are less likelier to cause damage. Atm waiting for Gigabyte to release a non VRM 4870, because VRMs SUCK. May someone enlighten me why they have to use them?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.08/day)
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
gpuz 0.2.7 can read those vrm temps too
Really? All I see is GPU Temperature, GPU Temp.(DISPIO), GPU Temp(MEMIO) and GPU Temp.(SHADERCORE) and VDDC Slave #1-3 Temperature. Which is which? :S
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,515 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
everest vrm temp is one of the three slaves i guess
 

kfahn

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Just so that everyone knows, I was having this issue of getting temps around 45 degrees C for gpu temp 1, and 100+ for 2 and 3 on my 4850, and after reading this thread, I decided to look again at the way that the sink was seated on my gpu. It turns out that the lower .5cm was exposed below the die. I am using the Accellero Twin Turbo, and after looking at it, it turns out that you can adjust the alignment of the sink, so I lowered it to cover the whole area surrounding the die, and it lowered my temperatures from the high 100's to maximum of 70.

If anyone is interested in getting the Twin turbo, I can recommend it, my temperatures under furmark went from 64/95 to 38/58 with the card at 700/1145 overclock. None of the other gpu temperatures ever go over 80 degrees under load. The fans area at 60%, which is completely inaudible.
 

kfahn

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
keep in mind that with the latest Catalyst 8.8 the system keeps Furmark at bay, lowering temps
http://en.expreview.com/2008/08/26/ati-officially-optimize-catalyst-for-furmark-making-it-run-slower/
That is quite interesting, and I was completely unaware of it. That aside though, Furmark still manages to stress my GPY by about 5 degrees more than ATI tool has ever been able to, so I think that I will stick with it. Any word on a newer version of Furmark that might sidestep this "upgrade"?
 
Top