• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4870 512mb Incorrect Memory Size?

Troy555

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
2303 Memory Size on a 512MB card?

Currently using Catalyst 9.6

Primary Adapter
Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Device ID 9440
Vendor 1002

Subsystem ID 0000
Subsystem Vendor ID 0000

Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16

BIOS Version 011.010.000.000
BIOS Part Number 113-AA48701G77.23
BIOS Date 2008/09/09

Memory Size 2303 MB
Memory Type HyperMemory
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,188 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,171
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
check with gpuz. whatever gave you that info looks unreliable
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,100 (0.35/day)
Likes
236
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G3
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-6500U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 520 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Samsung 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
#3
Its normal..., it takes system ram when needed, the so called hyper memory, my 4850 took exactly the same 2303 MB, gpu-z showed the right 512 mb.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Its ccc W1zzard,i've seen a few post about this on other forums,even on the asus support forum.Mines a asus 4870 512mb dark knight btw.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
he's using vista, it shows free system memory as well in some programs (like directX) since the cards can use it like a page file. my cards show as nearly 4GB of ram.



(yes i have a custom monitor driver)
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
Thats kinda odd.. I'm running W7 and things are reported correctly. The only time Hypermemory should be reported is if you have a really low end crappy card that takes system memory and uses it as a frame buffer to cut costs on the cheapy cards as manufacturers don't need to stuff as much vRAM on them.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
Thats kinda odd.. I'm running W7 and things are reported correctly. The only time Hypermemory should be reported is if you have a really low end crappy card that takes system memory and uses it as a frame buffer to cut costs on the cheapy cards as manufacturers don't need to stuff as much vRAM on them.
mines always showed like this, in vista and 7 - nvidia and ATI.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
I'd call that well odd then, doesn't happen at all with my HD4830s :wtf:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.20/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
It's accurate... Hypermemory is the amount of onboard memory plus the amount of shared system memory. A lot like the AGP aperture size on AGP cards.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
Again.. Hypermemory is used on low end craptacular ATi cards. It takes system memory and uses it as a frame buffer. On highend cards hypermemory isn't needed/used as the cards have their own frame buffer. Why its appearing with a 4870 is a total freak, maybe the catalyst driver isn't properly reading the sub vendor / Video card ID correctly.
 

Attachments

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
Again.. Hypermemory is used on low end craptacular ATi cards. It takes system memory and uses it as a frame buffer. On highend cards hypermemory isn't needed/used as the cards have their own frame buffer. Why its appearing with a 4870 is a total freak, maybe the catalyst driver isn't properly reading the sub vendor / Video card ID correctly.
its ok, me and my 7,864MB of video memory wont hold it against you. (pretty sure its counting video + free system ram combined, its weird)