• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

4GB 1600MHz or 8GB 1333MHz ?

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#1
Im putting together a gaming rig for a friend but Im not sure how much RAM to install:confused: Which would be the best:

4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1600MHz DDR3 or 8GB (4 x 2GB) of 1333MHz DDR3 :confused:

I thought that 8GB of RAM would be the way to go because I want the system to last him a good while before it needs upgrading.

This system will be mainly for gaming and surfing the net. No encoding or anything like that.

PS: CPU used will be Phenom II X4
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
Depends on timings. I'd rather have the faster ram.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
As a gamer, I would rather have 4GB of the faster ram. I had 8GB ram once, but I sold half of it cause I didn't come anywhere near close to using it... 4GB is just fine for today's games (and tomorrow's)
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#5
Go for the Crucials (and keep it at 4GB), AMD likes tighter timings and 1600 CAS 9 isn't impressive, heck it's not even average for the price you're paying whereas 1333 CAS 7 is the usual.

Those Crucials can probably do 1600 without breaking a sweat.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#7
If only from those two, the 1333 ram. It has better timings per clock. It will likely easily do the same speed and timings as the 1600Mhz ram you listed.

That 1600Mhz ram is pretty poor, tbh. There's an OCZ kit just above it with CAS7 timings at 1600Mhz, and it's 4 quid less.
Oh, the OCZ Obsidian? I was considering that tbh (I used to only use OCZ myself back in the day lol)

So maybe go for 4GB of 1600MHz DDR3 with some good timings and forget about the 8GB ;)

What would everyone recommend (from ebuyer) out of the 1600MHz 4GB range?
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#8
The speed difference between the 1333 & 1600 isn't going to be noticeable in anything but benchmarks, or major video editing.
Latency, on the other hand, will make a difference.
Get low latency - the lower, the better.
Also, if you're not going to be installing a 64-bit OS, there's no point getting more than 4GB ;)

EDIT:
If you're going to get 1600 anyway, then the suggested OCZ would be the way to go :)
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#9
The speed difference between the 1333 & 1600 isn't going to be noticeable in anything but benchmarks, or major video editing.
Latency, on the other hand, will make a difference.
Get low latency - the lower, the better.
Also, if you're not going to be installing a 64-bit OS, there's no point getting more than 4GB ;)

EDIT:
If you're going to get 1600 anyway, then the suggested OCZ would be the way to go :)
Yep, Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit is going to be used ;)

I know its better value to grab the 1333 and OC to 1600, but I dont really want to get into OC on this system as its not going to be mine :(
 

jjFarking

New Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
456 (0.16/day)
Likes
93
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Frankenstein C3
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE C3
Motherboard Asus M4A79T DeLuxe
Cooling Aywun A1-V10
Memory Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (2x2GB @ 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5850 @ 775/1125
Storage Seagate 250gb/500gb/1tb
Display(s) BENQ E2200HD
Case Thermaltake Element S (VK60001W2Z)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Zalman ZM600-HP
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
#10
Yep, Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit is going to be used ;)

I know its better value to grab the 1333 and OC to 1600, but I dont really want to get into OC on this system as its not going to be mine :(
No point, honestly.
Just get 8GB at 1600 then, at the lowest latency that you can afford. You may still be able to drop the latency a tad by increasing the voltage a smidgen ;)
Also, you can then easily set the NB to 2400MHz (RAM x3 = NB setting, ideally), also with a tiny voltage increase :p
 

ZenEffect

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
622 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
#11
id say, go for the 4gb 1600 w/ tighter latenceys... and wait for the ram to go on sale somewhere... i managed to pick up some dom gt 7-7-7-20 for $120 @ frys a while back... now nicely clocked to 6-7-6-14 @ 1600 1.65v

the gskill eco's look very nice as well
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12
Go for the Crucials (and keep it at 4GB), AMD likes tighter timings and 1600 CAS 9 isn't impressive, heck it's not even average for the price you're paying whereas 1333 CAS 7 is the usual.

Those Crucials can probably do 1600 without breaking a sweat.
+1,000,000

Crucials work great with AMD. You can do 1600mhz cas 7 with those sticks at around 1.7v which is perfectly acceptable. If you are lucky, you could possibly do 1600mhz at cas 6 with a little more voltage. There is absolutely no need for 8gb's of RAM for gaming as gaming won't utilize that ram. You will get better performance with two sticks running at tighter timings and higher frequencies. Don't bother with OCZ ram with AMD unless it can run at a higher voltage or is specifically designed for AMD boards. RAM in AMD systems have to utilize lower cycle times. RAM not designed for AMD sometimes cannot do that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#13
wow thats an old pic of crucial ram ebuyer has. crucial ram hasnt looked like that since back when ddr2 first came out. yea go with the ocz's unless you can find some dominators with cas7 1600mhz on there i know they make them