• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4gb 680 vs 2 gb 670??

Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello guys , currently I have to make a decision here, I m using an Asus direct cu II 670 2 gb card now , but a friend of mine is wanting to swap me with his 4 gb Asus direct cu II 680, because he wants to go sli 670 , I only game on 60 hz 1920x 1080 monitor , no triple monitor or sli for me unless I win the lottery , cpu 2700k, so am I better off swapping or keeping the 670? Cuz I know 680 is slightly faster than 670..but I heard the extra memory will have more latency..so please help
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#2
unless he's trying to give you a bad chip then make the deal, the 680 4gb will be more future proof and the memory latency isn't gonna hit performance in a noticeable way.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,761 (3.99/day)
Likes
6,442
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#3
4GB is massive overkill for 1080p... That said, if it works, swap it as its free.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Ya. . It's not a bad chip or anything. And free swap.. since he's thinking its way much cheaper to get a 670 2 gb than a 680 4gb for sli. That's why he offered the swap, so I guess I should go for it ? And hopefully the 4gb wont be much issue for my 1080p monitor then..
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#6
Why would it be an issue? I think your situation is only a gain.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,148 (4.49/day)
Likes
3,709
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#7
A 680 for a 670 without any extra money? sure go for it;
As for the memory latency issue you mentioned, I havent heard of that problem in recent gpus.
its all over. there benchmarks at hardOCP of 2GB 680 vs 4GB 680 with triple monitors so pretty high resolution (not sure exactly) and the 2GB card was getting better average or minimum FPS then the 4GB card. but only about .5-1FPS.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Ya. I saw articles where 2gb 680 is actually faster than 4gb 680 on single monitor ...but I forgot the source .that's why I thought it could actually slow it down
 

ueutyi

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
65 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
System Name Tenku Pailok
Processor Intel Core i7 3820
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H55 with 2 additional fans
Memory 8GB ADATA DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 7970 MSI
Storage A WD Caviar Green 1TB 5400rpm
Power Supply Corsair AX750+Coolermaster 700W
Benchmark Scores X3682 - 3DMark 11
#9
No. It is IMPOSSIBLE to make 680 sli with 670
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,426 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,577
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Ya. I saw articles where 2gb 680 is actually faster than 4gb 680 on single monitor ...but I forgot the source .that's why I thought it could actually slow it down
It might be 1FPS(you'll never notice it) slower than a 2GB version, but it will still be faster than a GTX670.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,761 (3.99/day)
Likes
6,442
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#11
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.34/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#12
4GB is massive overkill for 1080p... That said, if it works, swap it as its free.
I already wish I had a 6GB 7970 for Skyrim cause the card has the "horsepower" but lacks VRAM for proper mods. And I can state 3 more games from 2012 that required nearly 3GB (above 2GB) of VRAM. I have a single 1200p screen.

So my opinion is that 4GB should have been the DEFAULT value for a GTX680.

In fact I believe this is going to be the first time that modern GPUs will become outdated due to VRAM limit rather than graphical power.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,688 (2.69/day)
Likes
2,001
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#13
4gb 680 of course, better and bigger memory
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,761 (3.99/day)
Likes
6,442
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#14
I already wish I had a 6GB 7970 for Skyrim cause the card has the "horsepower" but lacks VRAM for proper mods. And I can state 3 more games from 2012 that required nearly 3GB (above 2GB) of VRAM. I have a single 1200p screen.

So my opinion is that 4GB should have been the DEFAULT value for a GTX680.
Thats an opinion...and perhaps a valid one for your res. However the OP is 1080p so that isnt terribly relevant here. Here are some actual results of a few games including Skyrim with several mods.

CLiff's - Even at 3 monitor resolution, it didnt break 4GB. 3GB is fine. As you can see at 1080p resolution, 2GB is fine for the vast majority of games at the 1080p resollution, includiing Skyrim with mods. Since you are on 1200 res, a 3GB card will suffice... and is cheaper anyway for the same performance. ;)

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=718118
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,310 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#15
Personally, I wouldn't even have to think about it. Yes, I would make the trade.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.34/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#16
Thats an opinion...and perhaps a valid one for your res. However the OP is 1080p so that isnt terribly relevant here. Here are some actual results of a few games including Skyrim with several mods.

CLiff's - Even at 3 monitor resolution, it didnt break 4GB. 3GB is fine. As you can see at 1080p resolution, 2GB is fine for the vast majority of games at the 1080p resollution, includiing Skyrim with mods. Since you are on 1200 res, a 3GB card will suffice... and is cheaper anyway for the same performance. ;)

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=718118
Well MSAA drains VRAM like crazy so yeah with FXAA you never go above 2GB and still have almost the same graphics. The games I had in mind (Crysis 3, Tombraider and Hitman - oups they are not 2012 games) will run at 1900MB at 1200p with FXAA but just to >2500MB with MSAA. Other than that, comparing to previous gen cards, the 2GB and 3GB standards for today might sound big but most games are near that limit, while in previous years 512MB and 1GB was "plenty enough", no game was getting close to those numbers. I really think for a GTX680 2GB is not enough cause this ruins the future-proof state of the card. With 4GB 680 the OP will not only have a slightly faster card but will also be able to safely skip the next gen cards which I don't think will be the case with those having only 2GB or 1.5GB (and of course will want to keep their settings maxxed out).
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#17
if you can afford either it's a no brainer 4gb 680 for e-peen ^_^
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,761 (3.99/day)
Likes
6,442
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#18
Well MSAA drains VRAM like crazy so yeah with FXAA you never go above 2GB and still have almost the same graphics. The games I had in mind (Crysis 3, Tombraider and Hitman - oups they are not 2012 games) will run at 1900MB at 1200p with FXAA but just to >2500MB with MSAA. Other than that, comparing to previous gen cards, the 2GB and 3GB standards for today might sound big but most games are near that limit, while in previous years 512MB and 1GB was "plenty enough", no game was getting close to those numbers. I really think for a GTX680 2GB is not enough cause this ruins the future-proof state of the card. With 4GB 680 the OP will not only have a slightly faster card but will also be able to safely skip the next gen cards which I don't think will be the case with those having only 2GB or 1.5GB (and of course will want to keep their settings maxxed out).
Its not a slightly faster card. Its the same card with more ram.

The vast majority of games (ok, the games tested in that link, LOL!) do not touch 2GB at 1080p as I showed with the link above. If you are above that resolution or know you mod the hell out of a game, then get a 3GB/4GB card. Like you said, perhaps use FXAA if MSAA breaches 2GB and you are getting slow downs.

I also ran BF3 at 2560x1440 with a 680 with zero problems (though it seems that game scales dynamically with vram oddly enough). :confused:
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#19
If the card works then do the trade. He can't sli 680 with 670 so it's a valid reason. This benefits both of you. 4GB is NOT overkill because IT"S FREE!.
I think generally, the higher memory card is slightly slower because of a slight difference in latency. In this card, the difference in performance barely register on benchmarks and definitely not noticeable by any humans.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,761 (3.99/day)
Likes
6,442
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#20
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#21
Thanks for all the opinion . I guess its win win so may as well do it... and ya.. probably regardless the latency 680 will be faster than 670 no matter wat I guess