• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

5.1 over AMD HDMI not working for games but does for movies HELP

Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi, I have a LG BH7420P 3D blueray home theatre system, and I am getting really disappointed as I can't get 5.1 from my PC when playing games. I have a PC with a ATI HD5770 and I have a HDMI 1.4 cable running to the receivers input 1 on the BH7420P and then obviously a HDMI 1.4 cable to my LG LM640T-3d-tv. I have AMD HDMI Audio output selected in my device list, my only options for speaker setup is Stereo, there is no quadraphonic or 5.1 Surround, when I look on properties it only shows max numbers of channels - 2, the bit rate are 32 / 44.1 / 48 Khz, the encoded formats supported are only dolby digital.

Movies already encoded as AC3/DTS are played fine in 5.1 when using VLC. Although AAC 5.1 content plays as 2.0PCM unless I use the TVs SMART function then it goes to 5.1.

But my point is I can only seem to get 2.0PCM for all PC games that I own. Iv'e tried battlefield series, COD, MOH, Need for speeds, Dirt series, GRID, Fifa etc and all with the same result. Is this something to do with my receiver not supporting dolby digital live? Iv'e obviously changed audio settings in each game to 5.1 etc.

Why you may ask am I bothering? well sometimes it's good to just sit in the living room playing a console type game like your fifas, racing games etc than sat bored and uncomfortable in a lonely area where your PC is haha.

The blueray system can decode:
LPCM
Dolby Digital
Dolby Digital Plus
Dolby TrueHD
DTS
DTS-HD High Resolution Audio
DTS-HD Master Audio
MPEG 1/2 L2
MP3
MP3 ID3 Tag
WMA
AAC
FLAC
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#2
But my point is I can only seem to get 2.0PCM for all PC games that I own. Iv'e tried battlefield series, COD, MOH, Need for speeds, Dirt series, GRID, Fifa etc and all with the same result. Is this something to do with my receiver not supporting dolby digital live? Iv'e obviously changed audio settings in each game to 5.1 etc.
No it's to do with not having a soundcard that supports Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect. Games are not encoded in Dolby Digital, they are typically PCM 2.0/5.0 so you need so a soundcard to encode it to DD or DTS.

Failing that you can use the Dolby Digital Prologic feature on your receiver.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
AFAIK, the sound card built into the HD5770 can only handle 2.0PCM. So since games are using 5.1PCM, it won't work over the HDMI connector on the HD5770. To use 5.1 it has to be a AC3/DTS/DD encoded stream, which games don't output.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Ahh I see, why don't console games have this problem? is it because the likes of Sony, Microsoft pay patents?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#5
Ahh I see, why don't console games have this problem? is it because the likes of Sony, Microsoft pay patents?
They do have the same problem, console games are PCM 5.0 too.

The audio card on the Xbox has a realtime encoding hardware similar to Dolby Digital Live. It essentially converts the 5 PCM audio channels into Dolby Digital as you play. If you want this luxury on your PC there are soundcards available.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
They do have the same problem, console games are PCM 5.0 too.

The audio card on the Xbox has a realtime encoding hardware similar to Dolby Digital Live. It essentially converts the 5 PCM audio channels into Dolby Digital Live as you play. If you want this luxury on your PC there are soundcards available.
Ahh I see, I thought they must have the equivalent. I'd imagine to get multichannel from games via a digital source would require either a soundcard like the Xonar HDAV1.3 or a motherboard with this kind of features built in?

If I had that soundcard with my current system would I put the HDMI from the soundcard to my blueray system or keep it from the GPU?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#7
Ahh I see, I thought they must have the equivalent. I'd imagine to get multichannel from games via a digital source would require either a soundcard like the Xonar HDAV1.3 or a motherboard with this kind of features built in?
Yes that is correct.



If I had that soundcard with my current system would I put the HDMI from the soundcard to my blueray system or keep it from the GPU?

You'd connect the soundcard to your receiver.

The Xonar HDAV1.3 is expensive. There are cheaper soundcards that support Dolby Digital Live and will output it through fibre optical or coaxial. You can configure windows to use it as your default soundcard for games and use the GPU's integrated audio for movie player as you're movies are already in Dolby Digital. This would save you money.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
But if the system is setup though audio devices for 5.1 you will get a multichannel ( what ONKYO call it ) and that will be better than just 2.1 or 2 speakers as long as they game support 5.1 like Total War games and D3.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I would need HDMI output only. Iv'e already got a 15metre optical cable running through to the living room but id prefer it to just run via HDMI. What is a good cheap option for this then?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#10
I would need HDMI output only. Iv'e already got a 15metre optical cable running through to the living room but id prefer it to just run via HDMI. What is a good cheap option for this then?

There is a full range of cheap soundcard that will support fibre and coaxial and can be found easily and cheaply. The practical benefits HDMI has is video and audio through the same cable which you're not even utilising, and a few DVD tiles that supports DD True HD and DTS Masters and these two tasks can be done with your GPU anyways.

If you insist on a soundcard that supports Dolby Digital Live and has HDMI. There isnt a cheap option and only a few soundcards avalable. Auzen X-Fi HomeTheater HD and Xonar HDAV1.3. Both are expensive and hard to find.
 
Last edited: