• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5700XT only runs when undervolted

Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
I've got a problem I've never seen anyone describe before and am fairly stumped. I've built a new system with a B450 Tomahawk Max & XFX 5700xt raw ii graphics card. Current Adrenaline drivers. No OC, bios defaults. I've got independent power runs to the GPU with a 750W ps. Windows set up and installed fine, but once I installed the Adrenaline drivers the system became very unstable - rebooting when starting a game or moving windows around. I'd changed memory and power cabling before finding that if I undervolted the GPU, things stabilized.

Temps are good with the GPU at 40c idle & 70-75c during gaming. I DDU'd and reinstalled the graphics drivers a couple of times. Basically if I set 1900MHz / 960mv via Wattman, I can run GTA and a dozen other games for hours with every setting on ultra. Benchmarks are good. However, if "reset to factory defaults" or "auto" is selected in Wattman, the system will reboot within a minute or less. GPUZ shows the correct clock speeds when it's set to default. I figured I had a bad gfx card and RMA'd it - only to find that the brand new replacement (different manufacturing date) does the exact same thing: Stock voltage / no tuning to the GPU makes the system reboot.

I picked up an ATX power supply tester and everything checked out good (including both PCIe leads). I'd normally just move on and leave it at 1900mhz/960mv, but there's a period of time just after bootup or wake from sleep when the Wattman settings are not yet active and the system often crashes during that time - after which Wattman won't try to load custom settings again and I have to load the profile by hand.

Ideas?
 
D

Deleted member 193706

Guest
Contact XFX support and explain the situation, unless this is a known issue and they have a firmware update to fix it then it's faulty, raise an RMA and return the card to sender. It's not like it's an older card and you don't have warranty so have to make do with some of these issues and tweaks to have it running right. Use your consumer rights and get a replacement or a different brand.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What specific psu?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
What specific psu?
Corsair cx750m. No warnings on the Thermaltake psu tester; voltages say they're where they should be. I'm pretty mystified as I can't find any post anywhere that's described a similar problem.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Corsair cx750m. No warnings on the Thermaltake psu tester; voltages say they're where they should be. I'm pretty mystified as I can't find any post anywhere that's described a similar problem.
You need a load tester for psus...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
V1 or V2? How old is it?

V2 unit reviewed

V1 unit reviewed.

Thats not a load tester
That psu tester is a oversimplified voltage reader with psu connectors, I can do the same thing wth my Klein Meter, that tester does not induce a load on it, the only way you can is at a electronics/pc repair shop.


send a message to @XFXSupport
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,750 (4.16/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
I figured I had a bad gfx card and RMA'd it - only to find that the brand new replacement (different manufacturing date) does the exact same thing: Stock voltage / no tuning to the GPU makes the system reboot.
It's something power related, PSU or the PCI-e slot are doing something funny to the card.

On some PSUs the overcurrent/overload protection is wonky and gets triggered when certain loads are applied on the 12V rails, a tester wouldn't tell you something like this is happening. It sounds to me like once the card uses a certain amount of power something strange happens. It could also be something wrong with this particular model of the card but that would be even more odd.

Thing is undervolting should not really have the effect you describe on system stability, if anything when you undervolt stability should go down not up. So it's something else that happens as a consequence of undervolting that somehow affects the actual source of the problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
V1 or V2? How old is it?

....
Thats not a load tester
The power supply is new, v2. I agree, I was not impressed with the thermaltake power supply tester as I didn't see it putting a load on the system; it just measured standing voltage. I think it's like Vya Domus said - it's PSU or PCIe slot related. I hate to be that guy that keeps returning everything they bought claiming it's bad - dianosing bad PC parts usually isn't that hard - but I'm probably down to a 50/50 chance on finding the right one to return. I think it'll be the PSU this time.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get to a shop for diagnosis and learning
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
It sounds to me like once the card uses a certain amount of power something strange happens.
Agreed. Between the PCIe slot or the power supply, I think the power supply is the best guess on cause. I'll grab another.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Agreed. Between the PCIe slot or the power supply, I think the power supply is the best guess on cause. I'll grab another.
Seasonic or Superflower this round, it takes away tons of confusion
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,429 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
certainly sounds like the current provided is not enough to keep the GPU powered when loaded hence why undervolting works the GPU just isn't drawing enough current to make the PSU shit itself and go into OCP protection mode but when set to default or auto the GPU want to draw all the current it can at the voltage being supplied and bang PSU OCP protection is kicking in
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,572 (1.74/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
give it 10 minutes and someone will say buy PSU by EVGA or .............. :banghead:

PSU problems are really random even the "recommended brands" are not infallible.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,032 (5.86/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
I've got a problem I've never seen anyone describe before and am fairly stumped. I've built a new system with a B450 Tomahawk Max & XFX 5700xt raw ii graphics card. Current Adrenaline drivers. No OC, bios defaults. I've got independent power runs to the GPU with a 750W ps. Windows set up and installed fine, but once I installed the Adrenaline drivers the system became very unstable - rebooting when starting a game or moving windows around. I'd changed memory and power cabling before finding that if I undervolted the GPU, things stabilized.

Temps are good with the GPU at 40c idle & 70-75c during gaming. I DDU'd and reinstalled the graphics drivers a couple of times. Basically if I set 1900MHz / 960mv via Wattman, I can run GTA and a dozen other games for hours with every setting on ultra. Benchmarks are good. However, if "reset to factory defaults" or "auto" is selected in Wattman, the system will reboot within a minute or less. GPUZ shows the correct clock speeds when it's set to default. I figured I had a bad gfx card and RMA'd it - only to find that the brand new replacement (different manufacturing date) does the exact same thing: Stock voltage / no tuning to the GPU makes the system reboot.

I picked up an ATX power supply tester and everything checked out good (including both PCIe leads). I'd normally just move on and leave it at 1900mhz/960mv, but there's a period of time just after bootup or wake from sleep when the Wattman settings are not yet active and the system often crashes during that time - after which Wattman won't try to load custom settings again and I have to load the profile by hand.

Ideas?
If you feel like it try this.
Into AMD drivers "reset to factory defaults" or "auto" in Wattman and then Install MSI Afterburner if you havent already.
Run it and open settings by the gear icon under fanspeed bar.
Check those boxes in the green box (apply and ok) and set power limit to +5%.

MSIafterburner_01.png


If you want settings to stay after reboot red box the windows icon under the memory gauge where it says "Startup"
You can post a screenshot of yours if you like...

EDIT:
Forgot to tell, in settings above the green box check the "Start with Win" and "Start minimized" also
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
Install MSI Afterburner if you havent already
I hadn't thought to do that as I'd seen a number of posts from people warning not to install Afterburner if they'd ever used Wattman since they seem to clash. What's actually happening from raising the power limit +5%?

Anyway: Good news. Seasonic GX750 installed and the problem is solved. I'd been fighting the instability for 2 months so it's quite a relief to have a system that behaves now.

When I spec'd the power requirements during the build it looked like a 650 watt ps would have worked. However, I wanted to overbuild the power just a tad to keep it from getting close to the limits. I guess going the extra mile with a budget ps doesn't help much if it's just going to be bad. In any case, this Seasonic looks like a quality unit. Lesson learned: Don't skimp on the ps when building a new system.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,032 (5.86/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-18-18-36 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
It does not mean that the card will draw +5% more power... It may allow it to draw the rated power so it doesnt reboot every time has to go in 3D mode. You can try +5%, +10%. If that doesnt fix the issue will see next... I just need to see a screenshot of MSIafterburner like the one above.

I know cases that this +5~10% and/or messing with GPU/Mem clocks has done it and reboot never happened again.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I hadn't thought to do that as I'd seen a number of posts from people warning not to install Afterburner if they'd ever used Wattman since they seem to clash. What's actually happening from raising the power limit +5%?

Anyway: Good news. Seasonic GX750 installed and the problem is solved. I'd been fighting the instability for 2 months so it's quite a relief to have a system that behaves now.

When I spec'd the power requirements during the build it looked like a 650 watt ps would have worked. However, I wanted to overbuild the power just a tad to keep it from getting close to the limits. I guess going the extra mile with a budget ps doesn't help much if it's just going to be bad. In any case, this Seasonic looks like a quality unit. Lesson learned: Don't skimp on the ps when building a new system.
Seasonic has been the most consistent with power supply designs and are OEM for certain EVGA snd BeQuiet Units.

If you go Corsair again only stick to RM/RX or HX
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,669 (1.47/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
I hadn't thought to do that as I'd seen a number of posts from people warning not to install Afterburner if they'd ever used Wattman since they seem to clash. What's actually happening from raising the power limit +5%?

Anyway: Good news. Seasonic GX750 installed and the problem is solved. I'd been fighting the instability for 2 months so it's quite a relief to have a system that behaves now.

When I spec'd the power requirements during the build it looked like a 650 watt ps would have worked. However, I wanted to overbuild the power just a tad to keep it from getting close to the limits. I guess going the extra mile with a budget ps doesn't help much if it's just going to be bad. In any case, this Seasonic looks like a quality unit. Lesson learned: Don't skimp on the ps when building a new system.
It wasn't the jump from 650 to 750 that fixed it. You could have run that on a 550. What fixed it was the delivery quality.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It wasn't the jump from 650 to 750 that fixed it. You could have run that on a 550. What fixed it was the delivery quality.
The cx was overrated in it's design capability. Higher quality units are underrated.

I wonder what @jonnyGURU has to say about it.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
System Name Midlevel VR Sys
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
Memory Corsair LPX 16G 3000 MHz C15
Video Card(s) XFX 5700 XT Raw II
Storage ADATA SU635 960G SSD
Display(s) TCL 75S425
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply Corsair CX 750
It wasn't the jump from 650 to 750 that fixed it. You could have run that on a 550. What fixed it was the delivery quality.
Sorry, what I meant to explain is that I bought the CX in a 750 watt version assuming that even if it was a mediocre build (ie gets flakey at 650 watt load) there'd still be more than enough to power the system. However, getting a higher watt rated cheaper ps didn't help one bit. I should have gone with with a normally rated higher quality right off the bat. Lesson learned...
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,669 (1.47/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Sorry, what I meant to explain is that I bought the CX in a 750 watt version assuming that even if it was a mediocre build (ie gets flakey at 650 watt load) there'd still be more than enough to power the system. However, getting a higher watt rated cheaper ps didn't help one bit. I should have gone with with a normally rated higher quality right off the bat. Lesson learned...
Ah understood. Yeah, 750w will power 90% of the builds here on TPU with no problems. I actually have a 1k unit as that was all I had left on my shelf. My build is but a fart to it lol
 
Top