• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

5870 Crossfire : Keep i5-750 at stock or push it ?

Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#1
Hi guys
Tomorrow i will get my second 5870 (XFX 5870 XXX Edition 180€ from a friend) so i just want to know if i have to push my i5-750 to 3.6-3.8 (already stable at 3.6) or leave it at stock (2.66, 2.8 turbo) without bottlenecking ?
I will also upgrade my monitor to 24" FullHD.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,358
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
IIRC 3.6Ghz was achievable on or near stock volts. I say if it is stable and you arent having to push the voltages, I'd leave it clocked.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#3
The 750 is already plenty fast at stock clocks to run many games at max settings with a more than playable frame rate—but it really depends on the games and settings you're running. There is such a difference based on these two variables that I think the best way to decide will be to test your games and settings with and without the overclock and figure out whether it's worth it to you.

For the sake of heat and power consumption, I suggest you select the minimum settings (clocks and voltages) that provide your desired level of performance. For example, if CoD4 were the most demanding game you played and at your preferred settings it ran at 100FPS on stock clocks, you'd just be wasting power and generating excess heat by overclocking.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#4
Really heat and power consumption are some important things that i consider. and yeah 3.6 is achievable without tweaking, i think like TIGR says, test every game if it needs more cpu power, if i remember, splinter cell conviction were the only game where i had to push my cpu to 3.6 to have better playing and with stock all my tested games runs good.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#5
one card is overclocked and another stock, how will they sync ? no problem ? or i have to put the xfx to reference stock ?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
860 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#6
id put them at the same clocks for max performance
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#7
dude this is like going to a bar and asking whether or not you should drink. Of course you should push it, and while you're at it, have a beer.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,472
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#8
the driver will drop the xfx to stock clocks
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
the driver will drop the xfx to stock clocks
No, it won't. Crossfire only adjusts memory size to match. You could clock one card @ 300mhz, and the other @ 3000..wouldn't matter. Although I think both cards at the same speeds may lead to less cpu utilization as the driver doesn't have to load-balance as much.


Also, I find about 3,6ghz good for crossfire...for single card, whatever the app says is minimum frequency for it, should be OK(given about avg 3ghz or so nowadays).

Crossfire has more driver overhead, hence requires more than singlecard.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#10
No, it won't. Crossfire only adjusts memory size to match. You could clock one card @ 300mhz, and the other @ 3000..wouldn't matter. Although I think both cards at the same speeds may lead to less cpu utilization as the driver doesn't have to load-balance as much.


Also, I find about 3,6ghz good for crossfire...for single card, whatever the app says is minimum frequency for it, should be OK(given about avg 3ghz or so nowadays).

Crossfire has more driver overhead, hence requires more than singlecard.
are you sure? do you have a source... or official documentation...


i have always herd that Speed, Ram and shaders will be droped to the lowest cards..... so if you had a 5830 and a 5850... it would turn the 5850 into a 5830.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,565
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
No, it won't. Crossfire only adjusts memory size to match. You could clock one card @ 300mhz, and the other @ 3000..wouldn't matter. Although I think both cards at the same speeds may lead to less cpu utilization as the driver doesn't have to load-balance as much.


Also, I find about 3,6ghz good for crossfire...for single card, whatever the app says is minimum frequency for it, should be OK(given about avg 3ghz or so nowadays).

Crossfire has more driver overhead, hence requires more than singlecard.
^ what he said, clocks can differ on ATI. its only nvidia that require them to be the same.


i too am confident that more GPU's requires more CPU power, so OCing may be needed to get the full power of your GPU's.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
are you sure? do you have a source... or official documentation...
I've been running dual ATi cards since X800 days, and have clocked my cards at different speeds pretty much until these cards I have now, which aren't overclocked at all. I can confidently says that is how it works, and I can also says that shaders DO NOT adjust in size as well, and I'm sure any 5850/5870 Corssfire user(there are at least two here on TPU) can confirm that.


Sli, however, is different.

You can even run 5850 bioses on 5870's, and vice versa...and shader amounts will not change. If bios cannot change this, then for sure, software cannot as well.

Load balancing might make for less utilization of the card with more shaders...I'll have to take a look into that one. Crossfire doesn't work with 5870 and 5770...the requirement is purely the same base gpu is used.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#13
so better leave them like they are ? i think also on flashing the xfx with my asus bios ?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
Bios flashing is fine, as long as your card matches the one the bios came from. If both of your cards are physically identical(power delivery section/output varies), you could run whichever bios you like.


To me, you'd think the card connected to the monitors would have to sum the frames together, so maybe having the overclocked card as main card might work best...

In the end, the actual performance difference between overclocked cards and "stock" cards is quite minimal, so unless you are going up to 1000mhz on the gpu or something, I see little point to adjusting speeds in any instance.

In such a way, that my system is barely overclocked...i just don't need the extra power consumption for less than 5 FPS.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#15
Bios flashing is fine, as long as your card matches the one the bios came from. If both of your cards are physically identical(power delivery section/output varies), you could run whichever bios you like.
how have i to check ? i also flashed many gpu in the past without any precautions :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
visually, xfx reference has the fan at end, non reference has the fan in middle.

I do belieive asus labelled non-reference as V2, so you'd know...heatsink design is VERY different from any other 5870 card out there.


So, I have 2x XFX XXX...they did not run 1300mhz mem. XFX directed me to flash bios on both cards, one worked OK, one they replaced(was throttling). New bios is 900/1250 clocks.

The ASUS card should do the 900/1250 clocks as well...so running that bios is of no issue. Likewise with the ASUS bios, if you have reference cards.

I tried running 875/1300 and 900/1250...900 actually seems a bit faster, but not really, mind you, I've got three monitors plugged in. I do know that the 900/1250 bios leads to far less issues for me when @ desktop(although my cursor will "artifact" from time to time).
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#17
i have both reference, the asus is at stock 850/1200, running the xfx xxx with those clocks can lead to stability at 2d ? my friend also says that he had problems with the cursor but the last catalyst fixes it
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#18
I still have cursor issues, for sure. It varies which monitor it happens on...either one specific DVI port, or the DP one. With the latest driver it will magically fix itself about 9/10 times, although I still have to reboot to fix it sometimes.

No magical fix to 2D problems yet(at least for me)...I have tried every bios with just about every driver there is. It's really seems to be hardware related...

To the point that I cannot wait for new cards. i hope that they fix it with the next gen...kinda sucks that I'm not happy with eyefinity, but oh well. The cursor issue is a deal-breaker for me. tier lsit fo "working" apps is frustrating as well....DP connections...still lose monitor on DP at times...

I can say, that single monitor works quite well...I often switch between 3x1920x1080 to 1x2560x1600, in such a way iwish it was jsut possible for me to connect all 4 then then mount all 4 on arms so I can switch with ease...I only like eyefinity for a few titles so far.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#19
hope i will not get some annoying problems.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
I hope so as well.

There MUST be some users out there without any issues, but of course, they'll not be looking for fixes when everything works as it should.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
186 (0.06/day)
Likes
27
System Name i5-750
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Arctic Silver Pro Freezer 2
Memory 2 x Corsair 2GB XMS3 DDR3-1333Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 570
Storage SAMSUNG F3 HD103SJ 1 To
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 23" LED Full HD
Case Antec Nine hundred Modded
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64x
#21
just flashed the XFX XXX to Asus reference bios, no problem so far.