• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

5870 goes to no video during OCCT

Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
229 (0.09/day)
Likes
44
Location
Toronto, ON
System Name The Sovereign's Prince
Processor i5 6600K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290X DirectCU II OC
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB, Intel 730 480GB, 2 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 1, 2 x 4TB WD Green in RAID 1
Display(s) BenQ V2400W 24" 16:10 1920*1200 LCD (Review/Pics @ http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315565)
Case Fractal Define R5 Windowless
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800, Asus Xonar Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6
Software Win10 Pro x64
#26
There are some ways of wiring it up to where they both start and stop at the same time. I have done this before but it will void any warranty whatsoever. Do you have a friend with a decent system you could test it in. Running below stock clocks is definitely not a long term solution but as a previous post said the VRM might be weak or dying, does the card make any squealing noise under heavy load? My gtx 480 does during OC scanners that run 6000 fps but i don't use those for that reason. If it squeals alot under heavy load without a voltage bump/super high clocks it probably the VRM crying and might be the problem. I think the PSU and rest of the system is fine but to be sure another system would rule out ALOT of what it could be.

BTW mine squeals because its @980MHz @ 1.152 volts with the VRM @ 427 MHz.
At stock there should be no squeals.
Hey Flibolito, how do you know what speed your VRM is at? What program are you using to monitor it?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#27
Still no video, even at 700MHz with the CPU downclocked...

Nope, never heard the card squeal.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#28
Damn, even as low as 650MHz goes to no video... just like with the CPU at full power. Not sure what to make of this... the card seems to work fine, it's just that Unigen and OCCT cause no video for one reason or another.

You guys think I should just get a new PSU then? How about the power supply Darwin's selling here? Is that Topower a good model?

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121962

Or how about something with a little more background info? I can't find shit about that particular Topower model on google...

CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-750HX 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EP...
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#29
750HX is good, but i too am starting to wonder if the cards just bad (or something like the VRM's is overheating)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#30
Run the 5870 on the psu from your server and use your current psu to run the rest of the system. This can tell us what the problem is. The card, or the power supply.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#31
I use EVGA Eleet tuner for such high speeds since afterburner can only go so far. I gives a few more options such as vrm clockspeed. For clean power under alot of stress i gave it a small bump since the card will use about 300+ watt. The program is very buggy though, i have learned ways around the bugs so that is the only reason i use it. I'm pretty sure its for EVGA only and even some lower-mid cards cannot be adjusted in those areas. Not sure if there are other programs that go that far maybe someone else has heard of another.

Just like mussels said though, we think your psu is fine and it's just the card. Can you return it to the seller since it doesn't work correctly? I would hate for you to spend $120 on a PSU and then have the same problem since that money can be used towards another card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#32
Sounds like it involves cutting up wires on both power supplies... I would really rather not do that. This is a temporary test, not a permanent solution.

I've underclocked and undervotled my CPU to 1.6GHz at 1.0v. By my calculations, it should be taking less than 20w, as opposed to the 80w it was taking when overclocked.
65(1600/2800)(1/1.425)^2 = ~18.3

If it were my power supply, that should free up enough room for the GPU to eat up more power...

Not at all, just put the second main power connector next to the one on your MB and chuck a rubber band around them, then simply shove a "U" shape paper clip into the 2 green wire slots.

Easy as, I have done it before. :)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#33
+1 just make sure its snug, some electrical tape can help for sure. Hit us up to see if this helps. This is a temporary solution IMO as if you wanted to dual PSU cutting/splicing the wires can make it more permanent/durable. Have you used GPU-z ability to read the 12v supply? Some abnormal dips below 11.8ish volt can show the weakness without having to do this.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#34
Not at all, just put the second main power connector next to the one on your MB and chuck a rubber band around them, then simply shove a "U" shape paper clip into the 2 green wire slots.

Easy as, I have done it before. :)
i usually used a longer wire, but that should work as well. less fancy, so less to go wrong.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#35
Looks like the video card can't handle it. With the e-power hooked up and powering the video card alone, it still went to no video. The only other thing I can think of is the e-power wasn't up to snuff powering that 5870 with the weird PCI-E power configuration... the second is daisy chained off the first like a molex. Gonna try one on the e-power, one on my main power supply.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#36
Try boot the gpu off your main psu and then the rest of the system via the other. The card might not like the molex config.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#37
I didn't use molex anything, I used for real PCI-E plugs. I meant that with the e-power power supply, the second PCI-E connector was chained off the first like a molex power snake.

I've tried running the 5870 on the e-power alone, and with one plug from my e-power and one from my main power supply. Both failed. Looks like the card's bad. It works at 600MHz though... my guess is the power circuitry craps out under high stress; lower clocks mean lower power consumption so it holds together at 600MHz.

Now... what do I do with it? Keep it and run it at 600MHz forever? Is it still faster than my GTX260 at that speed?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#38
I would not run it @ 600MHz since that is ATi shader domain (their GPUs are virtually all shader cores) and that is extremely limiting the performance. I would say a slightly overclocked GTX 260 core 216 would perform better than the handicapped card but benchmarks would have to be run. Also I bet the card would die soon anyway if its already that bad. You would loose DX11 but a 600MHz shader core 5870 could not handle the extra effects anyway. Anyway to return/RMA this card?

So the PSU is fine, I'm confident this is a Videocard issue and you will have to get a new one in the form of 6950 or a GTX560 Ti. I just built a buddy a rig with a EVGA 560 Ti that was already 900MHz factory and now runs 1GHz core 2GHz shader without voltage adjustment and is really cool and quiet. But those two are the sweet spot in the market right now in my opinion hopefully they are affordable for you.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#39
I do have a small amount of money ($400), but I'm not looking to spend all that money on a new card. I'll try to get it RMA'd.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#40
If you can't RMA it just grab a 2nd hand 6850, you can pick them up for a little over 100 in US. That way you will still have the majority of your cash left :). Although a little less horsepower than 5870 :(
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,968
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#41
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#42
E-Power and andtech ? you are joking right ?
Junk both of them get something solid
my guss is that cheap psu is not putting out the amps it should
get something decent like a crosshair or Pc-Power ocz ect
PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk II PPCMK2S650 650...

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V ...
OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ700MXSP 700W ATX12V V2.2 / E...
never never never never skimp on the psu
I understand that, but with both power supplies running at the same time, one completely dedicated to the GPU, you'd think it would get sufficient power.

E-power is decent... I don't actually use it in my main rig, it goes in my server. It's good enough to run that. Antec is a good brand, I believe they used Seasonic as an OEM for my particular model...
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,968
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#43
I understand that, but with both power supplies running at the same time, one completely dedicated to the GPU, you'd think it would get sufficient power.

E-power is decent... I don't actually use it in my main rig, it goes in my server. It's good enough to run that. Antec is a good brand, I believe they used Seasonic as an OEM for my particular model...
I would't use a Epower or andtech psu to run my calculator =/
also running 2 psu's can lead to even moar issues especially with cheap ones
its a amperage issue not a wattage one I am betting 5870 AT fullload draws near 400watts
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#44
I would't use a Epower or andtech psu to run my calculator =/
also running 2 psu's can lead to even moar issues especially with cheap ones
and thats why he did it as a temporary diagnostic only. please stop dragging this thread off topic.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,968
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#45
the point is that a 5870 at full load draws near 400Watts at ~30Amps
even both combined I would be willing to suspect that its still not enough
neither psu he listed has the specs to run a 5870
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#46
the point is that a 5870 at full load draws near 400Watts at ~30Amps
even both combined I would be willing to suspect that its still not enough
neither psu he listed has the specs to run a 5870
it draws nowhere near that amount of power. get your facts straight.






the numbers you are quoting are for an entire system with a 5870.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,968
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#47
it draws nowhere near that amount of power. get your facts straight.


http://tpucdn.com/reviews/ATI/Radeon_HD_5870/images/power_maximum.gif
http://tpucdn.com/reviews/ATI/Radeon_HD_5870/images/power_average.gif


the numbers you are quoting are for an entire system with a 5870.
derp my bad ok I am going to bed its like 4 am .0.
I still dont think the psu's are up to the task they always overspec those cheapo units .-.
id say he needs to test the card with a proven power supply
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#48
id say he needs to test the card with a proven power supply
we all agree on that, but he doesnt have one. this was something to try before spending money.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#49
Seems that antec held the GTX260 down pretty well. If you can get you hands on a 6850/6870 at a good price it would be much better than a limping 5870 plus it could be clocked a little and would run circles around the GTX260 plus offer dx11 and using relatively little power to do it.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#50
i have had the same exact thing happen on mine and its reproduceable on any game or benchmark on mine though it is at much higher clocks,
i have everything in my pc OC'd at least 20%- 30% with more volts thrown about then makes any sense fully loaded my pc says it uses over 90 amps:eek:,
and the point in telling you this is that i can MAKE my 5870 do that within 20 Mhz of 1050(not showin off honest) if i go upto 1066 i get insta black screen despite wc and only 64 temp on gpu bring it back down and its ok all day n night.

so i think you have a duff card though id deff try a cooler clean out and re seat as the heatsink on these mofos have lots of seperate gel tim things that i expected to have to swap before i went wc, they are replaceable too though i dont think youd be able to use normal tim as the gaps are dubious, id deff give it a good clean out too mine was quite blocked after just 6 months