1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6 Ghz SRAM Memory Introduced By IBM

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    A new state of the art SRAM chipset is responsible for this achievement. The 6 GHz speed is almost twice the speed of today's SRAMs. SRAM's usage is to hold frequently accessed data used by the processor. The faster the access, the faster the data transfer from SRAM to CPU.

    Its been a long time effort for researchers to be able to overcome the process variability, especially variations that occur when a device is used in conjunction with other devices in an array making it possible for data to be lost. IBM researchers have come up with a novel hardware-based solution in order to reduce or even correct all problems problems and improve performance for various applications by using 8T SRAM arrays.

    Source: FudZilla
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 12, 2007
  2. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Wasn't it rumoured when the K10 (K9 as it was erroneously referred to) was first ... rumoured that AMD would be using this? IBM certainly mentioned this before, a fair length of time ago.
     
  3. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    now just think if they would use that technology to make a CPU the PC industry would have a legitimate third option.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Now its a reality, then it was just in the draw boards.
     
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,002 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,580
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Doesn't the PS3's Rambus XDR RAM run at 6.4 Ghz?

    EDIT: Sorry, it has a data throughput of 6.4 GB/s per lane, or 51.2 GB/s at 16x on the PS3 at 400Mhz, my mistake :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    good news, you can now brag that your ram is faster then your cpu :p


    offtopic: when we're you promoted to staff :/?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    "Oh noes!! my cpu bottlenecked my RAM!!!! "
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    24 hours ago ;)
     
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,267 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    Congratz! :)
    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    SRAM @ 6GHz = Speedy RAM! :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Thanks guys, ill try to post quite alot every day :)
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sweet. I remember hearing about this and that AMD was going to be using it. If Im not mistaken, they were working on this together.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)