• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

650VA UPS runs hot

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
I have a generic 650VA UPS hooked up behind my computer, screen and using the NIC interface to prevent any spikes and all that. Thing works fine. Can hold my computer for over 8 minutes or so. However, when it's idle, i noted that the transformer is getting around 60 to 70 degrees mark. The thing has no active cooling and more like fins in between the plastic. The screws holding the transformer are just as hot and barely good to touch.

The thing itself however, runs fine. It is only a week old. Is this something to worry about?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,215 (1.63/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
I have a generic 650VA UPS hooked up behind my computer, screen and using the NIC interface to prevent any spikes and all that. Thing works fine. Can hold my computer for over 8 minutes or so. However, when it's idle, i noted that the transformer is getting around 60 to 70 degrees mark. The thing has no active cooling and more like fins in between the plastic. The screws holding the transformer are just as hot and barely good to touch.

The thing itself however, runs fine. It is only a week old. Is this something to worry about?
with winter coming, i'd say not yet. :p ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,343 (6.24/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Generic, send it back
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
Good point. But the winters here usually dont reach anything belong 0 degrees or so.

I know transformers shoudnt run into oblivioun related to temps. At zero load it should be having zero thermals i think. Or the UPS has a very bad efficiency and is burning electricity it's not using.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,096 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
What brand generic?

If truly no name, yeah, it's probably a fire hazard. If it has a name of any kind though we can at least look it up.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,632 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Good point. But the winters here usually dont reach anything belong 0 degrees or so.

I know transformers shoudnt run into oblivioun related to temps. At zero load it should be having zero thermals i think. Or the UPS has a very bad efficiency and is burning electricity it's not using.
It is going to depend on how the UPS is designed. Some use the transformer in the charge circuit for the battery. So it will put out some heat even with no load.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
What brand generic?

If truly no name, yeah, it's probably a fire hazard. If it has a name of any kind though we can at least look it up.
Eurotech ups 650va. 390W constant load UPS basicly. It has a set of fuses (3x) and it even remotely ran a glue gun for over 45 minutes (15W) or so.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,096 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
Eurotech ups 650va. 390W constant load UPS basicly. It has a set of fuses (3x) and it even remotely ran a glue gun for over 45 minutes (15W) or so.
Hmmm... I think that brand is less offshoot than it may first appear. I've heard the name somewhere before, at least. Let me see what I can find on them. Will post back after thanksgiving here (today), lol
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
They wont be selling UPS's obviously that are know to cause fires. Or at least a product thats know to being faulty. They should suffice for most common household use.

You could even use it as a cheap 12V > 220V inverter if wanted.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,096 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.
They wont be selling UPS's obviously that are know to cause fires. Or at least a product thats know to being faulty. They should suffice for most common household use.

You could even use it as a cheap 12V > 220V inverter if wanted.
Yeah, Indian UPS maker is what I can dig up. Basic units with little digital functionality but serviceable enough.

My bet is re heat: It's good for how long the battery lasts and not much more. Thus no battery upgrading or anything, but should work as advertised fine (unless of course, defective)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)


I used it to charge, my car battery of 75ah over 20 hours, lol. And it worked perfectly fine. The battery is a 7A 12V lithium thing, just the usual. The UPS has 2x 30A fuses for proberly the 12V line, and one main 220v fuse at the back of the unit.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
365 (0.08/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
70F or 70C?

80F is no problem, 80C is a major problem.

It's probably too small for the load.

Most good ups's are running full time, so they take over when the line voltage dies; so the full computer load is running thru the transformer and the inverter circuit, and a bit for the battery charging.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
Sometimes the UPS kicks in when there's even a one second powerdip going on in the house. I'm not sure why but usually around 03:00AM the power just drops for a tiny second leaving TV and everything else off after that. it's the reason why i bought it in the first place. I had days where i would lost my work completely after leaving the computer alone. So it's doing its job.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,096 (2.69/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 13-13-13-33-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard TOSLINK to Schiit Modi MB to Schiit Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 850W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise... yes, it's legit.


I used it to charge, my car battery of 75ah over 20 hours, lol. And it worked perfectly fine. The battery is a 7A 12V lithium thing, just the usual. The UPS has 2x 30A fuses for proberly the 12V line, and one main 220v fuse at the back of the unit.
Lol I forgot you were that guy.

Yeah, if it could do that, pretty sure it's a-ok.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,985 (1.43/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
Not good to run things like glue guns or heaters off UPS/Power strips.
 
Top