• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

650VA UPS runs hot

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
I have a generic 650VA UPS hooked up behind my computer, screen and using the NIC interface to prevent any spikes and all that. Thing works fine. Can hold my computer for over 8 minutes or so. However, when it's idle, i noted that the transformer is getting around 60 to 70 degrees mark. The thing has no active cooling and more like fins in between the plastic. The screws holding the transformer are just as hot and barely good to touch.

The thing itself however, runs fine. It is only a week old. Is this something to worry about?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,675 (1.71/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
I have a generic 650VA UPS hooked up behind my computer, screen and using the NIC interface to prevent any spikes and all that. Thing works fine. Can hold my computer for over 8 minutes or so. However, when it's idle, i noted that the transformer is getting around 60 to 70 degrees mark. The thing has no active cooling and more like fins in between the plastic. The screws holding the transformer are just as hot and barely good to touch.

The thing itself however, runs fine. It is only a week old. Is this something to worry about?
with winter coming, i'd say not yet. :p ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Generic, send it back
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
Good point. But the winters here usually dont reach anything belong 0 degrees or so.

I know transformers shoudnt run into oblivioun related to temps. At zero load it should be having zero thermals i think. Or the UPS has a very bad efficiency and is burning electricity it's not using.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,992 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
What brand generic?

If truly no name, yeah, it's probably a fire hazard. If it has a name of any kind though we can at least look it up.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,083 (5.10/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Good point. But the winters here usually dont reach anything belong 0 degrees or so.

I know transformers shoudnt run into oblivioun related to temps. At zero load it should be having zero thermals i think. Or the UPS has a very bad efficiency and is burning electricity it's not using.
It is going to depend on how the UPS is designed. Some use the transformer in the charge circuit for the battery. So it will put out some heat even with no load.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
What brand generic?

If truly no name, yeah, it's probably a fire hazard. If it has a name of any kind though we can at least look it up.
Eurotech ups 650va. 390W constant load UPS basicly. It has a set of fuses (3x) and it even remotely ran a glue gun for over 45 minutes (15W) or so.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,992 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Eurotech ups 650va. 390W constant load UPS basicly. It has a set of fuses (3x) and it even remotely ran a glue gun for over 45 minutes (15W) or so.
Hmmm... I think that brand is less offshoot than it may first appear. I've heard the name somewhere before, at least. Let me see what I can find on them. Will post back after thanksgiving here (today), lol
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
They wont be selling UPS's obviously that are know to cause fires. Or at least a product thats know to being faulty. They should suffice for most common household use.

You could even use it as a cheap 12V > 220V inverter if wanted.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,992 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
They wont be selling UPS's obviously that are know to cause fires. Or at least a product thats know to being faulty. They should suffice for most common household use.

You could even use it as a cheap 12V > 220V inverter if wanted.
Yeah, Indian UPS maker is what I can dig up. Basic units with little digital functionality but serviceable enough.

My bet is re heat: It's good for how long the battery lasts and not much more. Thus no battery upgrading or anything, but should work as advertised fine (unless of course, defective)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)


I used it to charge, my car battery of 75ah over 20 hours, lol. And it worked perfectly fine. The battery is a 7A 12V lithium thing, just the usual. The UPS has 2x 30A fuses for proberly the 12V line, and one main 220v fuse at the back of the unit.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
555 (0.11/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
70F or 70C?

80F is no problem, 80C is a major problem.

It's probably too small for the load.

Most good ups's are running full time, so they take over when the line voltage dies; so the full computer load is running thru the transformer and the inverter circuit, and a bit for the battery charging.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
Sometimes the UPS kicks in when there's even a one second powerdip going on in the house. I'm not sure why but usually around 03:00AM the power just drops for a tiny second leaving TV and everything else off after that. it's the reason why i bought it in the first place. I had days where i would lost my work completely after leaving the computer alone. So it's doing its job.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,992 (2.78/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)


I used it to charge, my car battery of 75ah over 20 hours, lol. And it worked perfectly fine. The battery is a 7A 12V lithium thing, just the usual. The UPS has 2x 30A fuses for proberly the 12V line, and one main 220v fuse at the back of the unit.
Lol I forgot you were that guy.

Yeah, if it could do that, pretty sure it's a-ok.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,132 (1.40/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
Not good to run things like glue guns or heaters off UPS/Power strips.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
The UPS is beeping when i'm gaming, wtf. Does this mean it's drawing more then 360 watts on avg? It has a PC + screen attached to it. When i close it down the beeping stops.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
555 (0.11/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Yes, that's the overload warning, most likely.

Some of them have an app that will tell you what the problem is, but I'd bet that's it.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
No shit, stops when i hit the windows key going back into windows.

This is i guess the first time in ages that i launched a game again. So this is kind of new to me. I guess the thing will be replaced soon. It's a 600VA and my system is a Ryzen 2700x / 32GB RAM / RX580 / NVME SSD and nothing else. Yes the screen is attached to the UPS as well but those are usually light weight power consumers.

Ah: the LCD consumed a 1.2A. Pulled that one out, now the gaming is perfectly fine. I guess its all on the edge for a 650VA UPS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
555 (0.11/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Depends on how hard you drive it; under gaming mode, it may draw a bunch of power.

Try it without the monitor, and see.

I'd guess at ~150W minimum for the CPU, 150W for the video card, 50W for memory, so you shouldn't be pushing 500W otherwise.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
Nah it think it's within 300 ~ 400 watts of range. I can load the CPU all fully unless i start taxing the GPU as well with it.

and it only happens on heavy loaded scenes; its sporadic, but annoying as hell. I removed the LCD > that one had a power rating of 220V / 1.2A. Now it's solved.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
monitor.jpg


Yep. Just a CB20 bench puts a 83% load onto the UPS. Including gaming thats pretty much close or even over the top on what it's capable of. It is changing the voltage a bit too tho.

reddit.jpg


Starts to beep like crazy once you throw Furmark + CB together on it. I think i need a bigger one here. :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
126 (0.15/day)
Location
Finland
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Z87-Expert
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S, &case fans all controlled by Aquaero 6
Memory 2x8GB TeamGroup Xtreem LV 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 64
Storage Samsung 840 Pro + 2x 5GB WD Red@RAID1
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case Lian Li PC-A71B
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR, Objective2 (2x), AKG K702&712, Beyerdynamic DT990
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 650 (+Eaton 5P 1550 as "backup power")
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G810
I guess its all on the edge for a 650VA UPS.
It's not 650VA UPS, but 390W UPS... Assuming honest specs.
Volt-amperes matter only with non-PFC load/in AC circuitry they don't measure actual real power, which is measured in watts.
Hence with modern PCs that VA number is completely meaningless and if UPS can provide enough watts, it can handle what little reactive power component there's present.

But because of VA number being bigger, marketroids like pushing those.
Usually "power factor" of UPS is 0.6, meaning real output power is 0.6 times VA number.
High end models usually have it higher, while in lower end UPSes it can be lower.
APC even has had some scam models with PF of 0.5 meaning their actual output power is half the advertising number.

You just need to skip that VA number completely and look for watts.
For better gaming PCs would set UPS requirement to 500W.
That also leaves some margin, because obviously it's not wise to size something for being red line loaded.
Also transfer to battery power might not be succesfull, if power draw is near full output of UPS.
Except for seamless power providing on-line/double conversion UPSes, there's short no voltage time before UPS kicks in, which no doubt causes higher momentary power draw to fill up PSU's bulk capacitor charge.


I'm not sure why but usually around 03:00AM the power just drops for a tiny second leaving TV and everything else off after that.
Do you have any big factories/industrial plants nearby?
Such very high power consumers can cause hiccups into local power grid when they turn things on/off.

Yep. Just a CB20 bench puts a 83% load onto the UPS. Including gaming thats pretty much close or even over the top on what it's capable of. It is changing the voltage a bit too tho.
That difference between input and output is no doubt far below measuring accuracy limit.
I mean when that whole UPS costs only fraction of higher end multimeters you can be sure there's some hefty tolerances in things.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
How is the voltage conversion done? By just the transformer? If i see the input voltage fluctuate the output voltage changes directly with that as well. So my assumption is that its a simple 'analog' voltage conversion done by the transformer. As for power outtages; i have no idea. It's just the whole house. Sometimes for one second, sometimes for 10 seconds. Always happens at night at random instances. Usually after 03:00 AM so my assumption is that it might be due to maintaince or so.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
555 (0.11/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
It's the same as the power supply in your computer, except the output, instead of being a regulated voltage, is an Inverter circuit, running at 120/220V 50/60Hz. (depends on country what the output is)

When the input side dies, the output side is run from the batteries.

Most of the time, it echos the input voltage, but it will likely change when it goes into battery mode, depending on the quality and capacity of the ups.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
963 (0.28/day)
I'm talking about the Input voltage vs Output voltage, this could differ from 232V input to 235V output. It's compensating with at least 3 volts or so. It flutucates greatly as well (the output voltage together with the input voltage). Worst condition i saw was 231V > 235V, which is 4 volts. The amount of Hz also varies from 48 in worst condition to 50Hz at best. Could the UPS be compensating that as well?
 
Top