• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

660M GTX has no Display scaling option

Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Shark's Build
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.4GHz (OC'd)
Motherboard ASUS Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 heatsink core with swapped Phanteks PH-F140HP PWM
Memory Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming EDN. Twin Frozr IV 1.05GHZ 3GB
Storage 1 x 250GB Samsung 840EVO & 1 x 1TB SATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW // Acer 19" LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova NEX750B 750W ATX Power Supply 80+ Bronze
#1
Hey,
I own a Lenovo y580 and I'm having issues lately with connecting to HDMI Displayed TVs.

I'd like to be able to have a similar feature to my cousin's y500 laptop. On his laptop, the page looks like this


On my laptop, the only available options in Nvidia Control center are:


My only available option now that I have is entering a custom resolution by using numbers and not a graphical interface to physically see the scaling in front of me. A lot of trial and error.

If the nividia control center's scaling option is compatible with my laptop, is there another third party program I could use??

Thanks guys, hope you can help! :):banghead:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Shark's Build
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.4GHz (OC'd)
Motherboard ASUS Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 heatsink core with swapped Phanteks PH-F140HP PWM
Memory Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming EDN. Twin Frozr IV 1.05GHZ 3GB
Storage 1 x 250GB Samsung 840EVO & 1 x 1TB SATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW // Acer 19" LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova NEX750B 750W ATX Power Supply 80+ Bronze
#3

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
Almost seems as if it isn't picking up your other display. Is the other display listed in Windows Display Properties? (Right-click desktop, tick Screen Resolution) It might just be a bad cable or something.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Shark's Build
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.4GHz (OC'd)
Motherboard ASUS Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 heatsink core with swapped Phanteks PH-F140HP PWM
Memory Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming EDN. Twin Frozr IV 1.05GHZ 3GB
Storage 1 x 250GB Samsung 840EVO & 1 x 1TB SATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW // Acer 19" LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova NEX750B 750W ATX Power Supply 80+ Bronze
#5
Almost seems as if it isn't picking up your other display. Is the other display listed in Windows Display Properties? (Right-click desktop, tick Screen Resolution) It might just be a bad cable or something.
The two displays did come up in screen resolution(confirmed by extending to the HDMI display) and the Intel Graphics and Media program (where I can configure the custom screen resolution.)

Edit: Going kayaking, will reply in about an hours time.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Perhaps it is due to the Intel adapter taking over that 2nd display. You may want to disable the Intel adapter (Optimus... I think it's called for notebooks) and go from there using the 650M.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Shark's Build
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.4GHz (OC'd)
Motherboard ASUS Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 heatsink core with swapped Phanteks PH-F140HP PWM
Memory Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming EDN. Twin Frozr IV 1.05GHZ 3GB
Storage 1 x 250GB Samsung 840EVO & 1 x 1TB SATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW // Acer 19" LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova NEX750B 750W ATX Power Supply 80+ Bronze
#7
Perhaps it is due to the Intel adapter taking over that 2nd display. You may want to disable the Intel adapter (Optimus... I think it's called for notebooks) and go from there using the 650M.
I think I may have tried that? In the second photo in the first post I made, for preferred graphics processor, I set it to my 660m and it didn't come up with the extra settings. I'm not entirely sure how to access Optimus. I tried disabling the Intel display drivers in device manager but that made my geforce drivers even go haywire and now the control center won't start.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#8
EDIT: scaling is under 'adjust desktop size & position' for me
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
184 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name Shark's Build
Processor Intel i5 4690K @ 4.4GHz (OC'd)
Motherboard ASUS Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 heatsink core with swapped Phanteks PH-F140HP PWM
Memory Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming EDN. Twin Frozr IV 1.05GHZ 3GB
Storage 1 x 250GB Samsung 840EVO & 1 x 1TB SATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW // Acer 19" LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova NEX750B 750W ATX Power Supply 80+ Bronze
#9
EDIT: scaling is under 'adjust desktop size & position' for me
I'm not seeing it :\ you running a y580?

Newest Intel drivers aren't doing anything for me either, in fact they taken away the feature of creating a custom resolution, though I know powerstrip has the feature to do such a thing.
 
Last edited: