• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6700 XT drops to 27 fps in Last of Us even in Low settings.

Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
My System: i5 13600K/2x16GB 7200MhzC34 D5/6700 XT/Win11

I'm playing Last of Us (1.05) at 1080p Ultra and it runs locked 60fps but in some very specific areas the fps will drop to 27-31 fps. Even if i drop the settings to Low the fps stays exactly the same. When i go back to the previous location the fps comes back to 60. What is happening? Does anyone else have this issue? Is this a problem with the GPU or the game itself?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
23,103 (3.80/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD SN770 (Gaming)|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300|2x 2TB Crucial BX500
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Do you know if you have Resizable bar enabled? you can find it in AMD's software here...

1683828476866.png



I originally had some performance issues when i didnt have it enabled.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
23,103 (3.80/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@Stock -- pending tuning
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual Radeon™ RX 6700 XT OC Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD SN770 (Gaming)|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300|2x 2TB Crucial BX500
Display(s) LG GP850-B
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Do you have issues with any other games you play?

That game is known to have some pretty bad performance issues. Theres not a whole lot you can do apart from waiting for them to patch the game.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Do you have issues with any other games you play?

That game is known to have some pretty bad performance issues. Theres not a whole lot you can do apart from waiting for them to patch the game.
Control also drops to 7-10 fps with RT enabled sometimes. I have to pause the game and unpause it to make it work but it happens in some areas constantly

What's even crazier is that I also made a full clean install of Windows 11.
Can't even enjoy a fooking game

Do you have issues with any other games you play?

That game is known to have some pretty bad performance issues. Theres not a whole lot you can do apart from waiting for them to patch the game.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (2).png
    Screenshot (2).png
    2.9 MB · Views: 312
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
359 (0.10/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI B350 Tomahawk Arctic
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6700XT Gaming OC (2.80Ghz core / 2.15Ghz mem)
Storage Corsair MP510 NVMe 960GB; Samsung 850 Evo 250GB; Samsung 860 Evo 500GB;
Display(s) Dell S2721DGFA; Iiyama ProLite B2783QSU;
Case Cooler Master Elite 361
Power Supply Cooler Master G750M
Check what is your GPU utilization while experiencing the slowdowns in either game. I imagine it will be far lower than the 99% it should be normally at.
Might be sth occupying your CPU for the duration, might be sth else...
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Check what is your GPU utilization while experiencing the slowdowns in either game. I imagine it will be far lower than the 99% it should be normally at.
Might be sth occupying your CPU for the duration, might be sth else...
I posted a screenshot above
 
D

Deleted member 230939

Guest
Hi I bought a 7900 XT yesterday and have gotten home from work 30 mins ago and just unboxed it, I get TLOU with this GPU so will install the game and see how it performs on the 6900 XT before I replace it with the new GPU. 1440P 165hz.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2022
Messages
303 (0.55/day)
Location
Ohio, USA
System Name Trackstar
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (on Corsair XC5 block)
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 AORUS Elite V2
Cooling Corsair XD5 pump / Corsair XR5 1x 360mm (front) + 1x 420mm (top) rads
Memory 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL14 (F4-3600C14Q-32GVKA)
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 6950XT OC Formula (on Bykski A-AR6900XTOCF-X block)
Storage WD_BLACK SN850X 2TB
Display(s) AOC CQ27G2 27" 1440p/144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1200 Integrated Audio
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex Platinum SE 1200W
Mouse Corsair Nightsword RGB
Keyboard Corsair K60 RGB PRO
Software Windows 11 Pro 22H2
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/sw/439846 https://www.3dmark.com/fs/29315810
Game's optimized like trash, if it was running at 27FPS most of the time I'd say there's a problem but 27FPS only in certain areas just points to some poorly optimized texture/geometry/physics and effects rendering in specific spots. There are places in Forza Horizon 5 that bring my 6950XT to it's knees, namely exiting the tunnel into the main city area. Drops from 140FPS locked down to 62ish for a brief moment.

This is almost definitely an issue with the game and not the GPU.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,657 (0.38/day)
Location
Romania
Don't have the game, but i saw people playing it, and when new stuff loads in to the level they got that fps drop too. If it happens in other games, then it might be a hardware issue, but right now it's 99% the game's fault.
@Od1sseas
What PSU do you have ?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Don't have the game, but i saw people playing it, and when new stuff loads in to the level they got that fps drop too. If it happens in other games, then it might be a hardware issue, but right now it's 99% the game's fault.
@Od1sseas
What PSU do you have ?
Aerocool VX Plus 650W
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Aerocool VX Plus 650W
Go buy a good psu, Aerocool make decent/good cases but I skip their psus, theyve been on a dumpster fire lists at times
 

MARCAELSTI

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
same issue brother the game runs just fine at times then out of a sudden while interning specific areas 20ish fps and GPU frequency drops from 2400 to 200 MHz
pretty sure my system is just fine i never seen an issue in 6+ months i play verity of games god of war, uncharted 4, fortnite forza 5 ..etc
6700 XT 5600 32 GB 3200 ram 650+ watt psu
its either the game or the drivers
edit: NVM the drop in specific areas, same area with a single movement to the camera 81 to 27 fps drop
Screenshot (25).png
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (26).png
    Screenshot (26).png
    6 MB · Views: 73
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
6,684 (3.81/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
What's even crazier is that I also made a full clean install of Windows 11.
Can't even enjoy a fooking game
It's the game. TLoU is coded like shit and your system is basically idle so there's likely nothing wrong with your system, the game is just a complete mess.

Control is a bit weird with RT, since it's one of the earliest raytracing games. I've noticed that on Nvidia the RT experience was pretty smooth with a few hitches, on AMD the RT was generally hitch-free until all of a sudden I'd get single-digit framerates for a few seconds. Anyway, I turned RT off in Control on both cards because the RT was terrible. Halved framerates, and all of the reflections are laggy, noisy, wobbly, and poorly done. The RT shadows and occlusion are massive performance hits for barely any noticeable difference, and to my eyes they actually look less realistic than the default AO (which is still pretty bad).
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
same issue brother the game runs just fine at times then out of a sudden while interning specific areas 20ish fps and GPU frequency drops from 2400 to 200 MHz
pretty sure my system is just fine i never seen an issue in 6+ months i play verity of games god of war, uncharted 4, fortnite forza 5 ..etc
6700 XT 5600 32 GB 3200 ram 650+ watt psu
its either the game or the drivers
edit: NVM the drop in specific areas, same area with a single movement to the camera 81 to 27 fps drop
View attachment 295533
Ofc 650watt tells us 0. On what specific psu it is.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Go buy a good psu, Aerocool make decent/good cases but I skip their psus, theyve been on a dumpster fire lists at times
It works, so I don't care

It's the game. TLoU is coded like shit and your system is basically idle so there's likely nothing wrong with your system, the game is just a complete mess.

Control is a bit weird with RT, since it's one of the earliest raytracing games. I've noticed that on Nvidia the RT experience was pretty smooth with a few hitches, on AMD the RT was generally hitch-free until all of a sudden I'd get single-digit framerates for a few seconds. Anyway, I turned RT off in Control on both cards because the RT was terrible. Halved framerates, and all of the reflections are laggy, noisy, wobbly, and poorly done. The RT shadows and occlusion are massive performance hits for barely any noticeable difference, and to my eyes they actually look less realistic than the default AO (which is still pretty bad).
Yeah,either it's an issue with the game or AMD didn't even bother fixing RT in this game. I can play the game perfectly fine with RT Diffuse Lighting and Transparent Reflections enabled at over 60fps but I need to turn them off because (usually in combat) the fps drops to like 7 fps.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
6,684 (3.81/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
It works, so I don't care


Yeah,either it's an issue with the game or AMD didn't even bother fixing RT in this game. I can play the game perfectly fine with RT Diffuse Lighting and Transparent Reflections enabled at over 60fps but I need to turn them off because (usually in combat) the fps drops to like 7 fps.
FYI there's an unofficial "director's cut" mod by the one of the developers at Remedy which fixes the terrible HDR and tone-mapping for SDR. When I played control - either on my HDR TV or in SDR on my monitor, I couldn't get the black levels right and it always felt like the lighting and colouring was mastered badly no matter what fixes I applied. Black was never black, contrast was always blown out and wrong.

Digital Foundry have the details, and you should 100% install it if you're still playing the game. Details about the mod are in the video description...


It does add an ultra RT setting, though the 6700XT almost certainly cannot handle it. My 6800XT wasn't doing great on medium RT and the RTX3070 was definitely unable to handle high RT settings unless you enjoy a 24fps cinematic experience in places.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
FYI there's an unofficial "director's cut" mod by the one of the developers at Remedy which fixes the terrible HDR and tone-mapping for SDR. When I played control - either on my HDR TV or in SDR on my monitor, I couldn't get the black levels right and it always felt like the lighting and colouring was mastered badly no matter what fixes I applied. Black was never black, contrast was always blown out and wrong.

Digital Foundry have the details, and you should 100% install it if you're still playing the game. Details about the mod are in the video description...


It does add an ultra RT setting, though the 6700XT almost certainly cannot handle it. My 6800XT wasn't doing great on medium RT and the RTX3070 was definitely unable to handle high RT settings unless you enjoy a 24fps cinematic experience in places.
Hmm, seems like it's a useful mod for those who have an HDR monitor which I don't have. Unless it fixes the massive fps drop with RT or implements FSR I don't see a reason installing it.

I saw some videos where they modded FSR 2 into the game (by replacing native DLSS). I've tried it but when I enable DLSS in the game the image it's all pixelated and when I first start the game it only shows a black screen. I seriously don't know how those guys on the internet even got it to work. I also tried different versions of FSR (2.1/2.2) and still the same issue.

With FSR it would have been possible to play the game at 60fps with high RT.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It works, so I don't care


Yeah,either it's an issue with the game or AMD didn't even bother fixing RT in this game. I can play the game perfectly fine with RT Diffuse Lighting and Transparent Reflections enabled at over 60fps but I need to turn them off because (usually in combat) the fps drops to like 7 fps.
Well your ignorance is showing
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Well your ignorance is showing
Ignorance? Seriously? First of all, the issue i have, has nothing to do with the power supply that i'm using, so your comment about that was useless.
I know what kind of a power supply i bought. It's lower quality, yes, but it works perfectly fine. If it doesn't last long or burns my PC, i literally don't care.
The reason why i don't care is simply because everyone calls any psu that isn't 80+ platinum with a price tag of 200$, "trash". I had a similar experience in the past where i asked the so called "experts" like you about a psu that i was going to buy for an older build. It was a cheap 30$ 550w psu that didn't even have an 80+ cert. Everyone was telling me that it's trash, it won't work and it's gonna burn my pc or kill my gpu. Guess what, i had no issues whatsover and it lasted 5 YEARS and it STILL works.
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
3,005 (3.21/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 5700x
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Thermalright Perless Assassin 120 SE
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
shitty port
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
6,684 (3.81/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Well your ignorance is showing
An inadequate PSU for a graphics card doesn't result in framerate drops, it results in driver resets from the AMD crash detection service and a restart of the driver.

You're barking up the wrong tree here; Even if the PSU isn't particularly good, it seems to be fine and none of the symptoms of an inadequate PSU are present in this thread.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Fyi i dont even use platinum units, I use reputable units. Aerocool makes decent cases but their psu quality is lacking, so you having an issue is what you have through aerocool.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
123 (0.08/day)
Fyi i dont even use platinum units, I use reputable units. Aerocool makes decent cases but their psu quality is lacking, so you having an issue is what you have through aerocool.
The problem i have isn't because of the psu.
 
Top