• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6770M - Problem or not ?!

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello mates :) Firstly I want to be excused for my bad English :) . Well the problem is that when I start GPU-z firstly there is no Memory Type showed ?! Secondly the Memory clock values are NOT the same as they are showed in - http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD-6770M.43955.0.html . The values are http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/11/09/07/cqs.png - GPU Clock Memory 800MHz and Default Clock 216 MHz. When I'm playing games (like Sacred 2 or AVP) the values for Memory clock are 216 ...
. Are they not supposed to be " Memory Speed * 1600 MHz " ?? Please answer and help a noobie to understand what's wrong and that to do .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#2
Could be two things:

- Your (laptop?) has a energy saving feature and lowers the clock of the memory or GPU if you're in battery even if the GPU is at load.

- Most likely: GPUZ is misreading because the (laptop?) is too new (specially for the unknown type of memory), try with Aida64 or Hwinfo or in Catalyst under Information -> hardware just in case and see if the readings are the same.
 

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanks for the answer. The laptop is Hp dv6 - 6007tx. I've seen other pictures in the net and they are not the same memory speed. Also the energy saving options is - High performance. Is it this that 216 MHz must be multiplied by 5 (because of the GDDR5 ) ??

Edit: Even in Hwinfo the memory is 216.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
Thanks for the answer. The laptop is Hp dv6 - 6007tx. I've seen other pictures in the net and they are not the same memory speed. Also the energy saving options is - High performance. Is it this that 216 MHz must be multiplied by 5 (because of the GDDR5 ) ??
Maybe you have a newer revision with different memory modules and GPUZ couldn't recognize them (if I am wrong someone please correct me ;) )


The specs says 1600 MHz, but that is the real data clock because of the Double Data Rate, the real memory clock of your VRAM would be 800MHz :)
No, in any DDRx would be multiplied by 2 to get the real data clock (in your case would be 432 according to that measure :)

Try with Catalyst, Information -> Hardware and see if it reports the correct clock :)
 

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
.........

Try with Catalyst, Information -> Hardware and see if it reports the correct clock :)
It says "Memory Clock in MHz 800 MHz " ?

Edit: Really I am trying to understand... but it is ... hard :/ . I've read a lot in google but i cant ....
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
the problem with memory type is because gpuz can't read the vga bios. i think this also affects the default clock reading as the default codepath looks in the bios to get that info.

the 1600 mhz vs. 800 mhz is causes by the double date rate of ddr as derek12 mentioned in the post above
 

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
the problem with memory type is because gpuz can't read the vga bios. i think this also affects the default clock reading as the default codepath looks in the bios to get that info.

the 1600 mhz vs. 800 mhz is causes by the double date rate of ddr as derek12 mentioned in the post above
So you want to tell me that everyting is all right ? I multiply 800 (because the Catalyst says :"Memory Clock in MHz 800 MHz") by 2 and get the real 1600 MHZ ??
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Okey. Let me tell you what I think. I hope it is right and everything is done ;] . Here in this site ( http://www.geeks3d.com/20100613/tut...-clock-real-and-effective-speeds-demystified/ ) is said that:

" Roughly said, there are 2 kinds of graphics memory currently in use: DDR (Double Data Rate) and QDR (Quad Data Rate or Quad-pumped). For example, the GDDR3 memory (on GTX 200 for example) is a DDR memory while the GDDR5 (on HD 5000 or GTX 400) is a QDR memory.

The effective speed of a DDR memory is:

DDR_effective_speed = real_speed x 2

And the effective speed of a QDR memory is:

QDR_effective_speed = real_speed x 4 ".

So... the default clock is 216 Mhz (Shown here: http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/11/09/07/fqq.png ). I multiply it by 4 and get around 800 Mhz. After that i multiply it by 2 and get 1600 Mhz because of the "double date rate of ddr as derek12 mentioned in the post above". Am I right ? Really sory for all this but I'm really worried if the GPU is working properly. Why are there other pictures in the net with 6770M and the Clock information is other( like http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/11/05/06/494.png ).
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#10
That confused me :confused: because GDDR5 means Graphic Double Data Rate 5, why it isn't called GQDR5? :confused:
 

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
I have no idea man :( I just want to know if my video card is running properly or not ;/
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#14
The base frequency of the GDDR5 in that computer is 800MHz, so the effective speed would be 3200MHz, because GDDR5 is QDR RAM. The DDR3 equivalent (if HP used DDR3 instead of GDDR5) would be 1600MHz effective for that 800MHz clock.

My HD 5770 desktop card has 1250MHz 128bit GDDR5, which results in 5000MHz effective. My HD 6670 desktop has 1000MHz 128bit GDDR5, which results in a 4000MHz effective clock. A 128bit configuration of GDDR5 at 1000MHz (4000 effective) has a throughput of 64.0GB/s. Therefore, if GPU-Z read your memory correctly, the throughput of your 128bit GDDR5 @ 800MHz (3200 effective) would result in 51.2GB/s memory bandwidth. My laptop with 128bit 800MHz DDR3 (1600MHz effective) has 25.6GB/s of memory bandwidth.

Hope this doesn't confuse you. :roll:
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#15
Many thanks I understood now :toast:
 

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
The base frequency of the GDDR5 in that computer is 800MHz, so the effective speed would be 3200MHz, because GDDR5 is QDR RAM.

Hope this doesn't confuse you. :roll:
I understands you perfectly but my anxiety is why GPU-z shows
216Mhz. Why doesnt it show 800 Mhz ? HWiNFO64 also shows 216 Mhz. I wonder if there is a problem or ... My video card is 6770m. If i believe in this 216 Mhz my effective speed would be 864 MHz ???
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#17
I understands you perfectly but my anxiety is why GPU-z shows http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/11/09/07/gpq.png 216Mhz. Why doesnt it show 800 Mhz ? HWiNFO64 also shows 216 Mhz. I wonder if there is a problem or ...
the problem with memory type is because gpuz can't read the vga bios. i think this also affects the default clock reading as the default codepath looks in the bios to get that info.

the 1600 mhz vs. 800 mhz is causes by the double date rate of ddr as derek12 mentioned in the post above
-------------------------
About Hwinfo, Maybe have the same issue that GPUZ and cannot read the clocks well but I would trust Catalyst if it reports 800 , if you want to make sure more, try AIDA64 latest version :)
Maybe it has to do with being QDR and the calc you did before. I wouldn't worry anymore :)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#18
It's likely a monitoring flaw. My HD 4250 IGP in my laptop (which works in tandem with my HD 5650) reads:

GPU Clock 500MHz core 398MHz mem
Default Clock 498MHz core 533MHz mem

and the monitoring page reads 497.6MHz core / 397.4MHz memory even though it has no sideport memory, and the main system ram is DDR3 1066 (533*2).

Both VGA BIOSes are integrated in the main system ROM.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#19
It's likely a monitoring flaw. My HD 4250 IGP in my laptop (which works in tandem with my HD 5650) reads:

GPU Clock 500MHz core 398MHz mem
Default Clock 498MHz core 533MHz mem

and the monitoring page reads 497.6MHz core / 397.4MHz memory even though it has no sideport memory, and the main system ram is DDR3 1066 (533*2).
Yeah, and here is my GPUZ reading of my IGP



Not exactly the same because doesn't affect the default GPU clock but I would :banghead: anyway if that would be true, but the core clock is really 400 MHz, oh and the memory reading is also wrong :D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
misreadings happen sometimes and they are very hard to fix if i dont have physical access to the platform for testing
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#21
misreadings happen sometimes and they are very hard to fix if i dont have physical access to the platform for testing
Yeah there are many hardware types, vendors, models, and builds, I understand you ;)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#23
This is what AIDA shows while playing AVP. http://prikachi.com/images.php?images/154/3792154l.jpg . Now it is 400 Mhz ?! How can i understand whether my video card works properly or not :D ?!
Saying the real clock and effective clock the same is clearly a bad reading :D also it can't read the memory type, BIOS date and part number . I wouldn't worry :)


A PROPER reading would be more or less like this (except the original: 900 MHz thing :D

 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#24
This is what AIDA shows while playing AVP. http://prikachi.com/images.php?images/154/3792154l.jpg . Now it is 400 Mhz ?! How can i understand whether my video card works properly or not :D ?!
Get ahold of a benchmark that other HD 6770M users have run, and compare your results to theirs. If your results are significantly lower, then there may be a problem with your card.

Your card is basically a desktop HD 6670 GDDR5 with lower clocks, so that's another baseline to consider. My HD 6670 GDDR5 has an 800MHz core and 1000MHz memory, so if your results are more than say 20% off W1zzard's 6670 review (without factoring the CPU difference), then there may be a problem. Considering a desktop HD 5770/6770 is basically 200% of a desktop 6670's core with ~150% memory bandwidth, the difference between 1000MHz GDDR5 on a desktop 6670 and properly working 800MHz GDDR5 in your laptop should be negligible, so the only different factors should be just the 10% core clock speed difference and the CPU.
 
Last edited:

nism

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#25
Ok but as I am a newbie can you tell me a program which I can use to benchmark.