• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6870+DX11 BC2 = Hard lock

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,913 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#1
Whenever I play BC2 with my new 6870 it eventually freezes and I have to hard reset my PC.
Has anyone else experienced this for the life of me i cant find the problem ?

Every other game works fine with 0 issues even other DX11 titles the rest of the pc is 100% stable.
Temps are under 70 GPU under 50 on CPU in game, PSU is more than sufficient, Passed everything in OCCT CPU/GPU +memtest for RAM
Furmark, Haven, 3D M11, Vantage all can run infinitely without overheating/crashing

Ive tried updating DX,PB, cat 11.4 thru 11.5b, closing everything else on the pc including msi afterburner xfire steam ect.

I'm really regretting my decision to go back to Ati :banghead:
I could play BC2 with a 9800gtx+ with no issues besides it looked like crap and low fps
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,756 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,649
Location
04578
#2
are you running MSI afterburner or Sapphire TriXX etc software overclocking tools? if so turn them off and then try the game.

seems alot of ppl are having issues with the software overclock tools causing BC2 to hang and crash. if i overclock via CCC i have 0 issues use afterbruner or trixx and i hardlock every time.

if that dosent help, its just Bad Company being a pain in the ass its nothing new lol just manually set the DX version in the INI file. to DX10 or try forcing DX11, it could be the Auto DX selection is fucking things up as ive had that happen before as well.

also try removing your CPU overclock.. As Bad Company 2 is extremely sensitive to CPU overclocks. more so then ANY stress test app aka IBT, OCCT etc. i can pass those all day and still crash in BC2
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,913 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#5
are you running MSI afterburner or Sapphire TriXX etc software overclocking tools? if so turn them off and then try the game.

seems alot of ppl are having issues with the software overclock tools causing BC2 to hang and crash. if i overclock via CCC i have 0 issues use afterbruner or trixx and i hardlock every time.
I read that as well, I uninstalled MSI AB and the issue remains i literally closed everything unnecessary so all that's running is windows and the game.

did you reinstall the game after changing out the graphics card ?
No i haven't went that route as it takes a good 4 hrs to update, want to cover all my bases beforehand.
Tho i did delete the entire save data folder so all settings and configs would be rebuilt.

could also be left over driver files causing a headache for you
Ran driversweeper before installing the ati card and a few time since changing around drivers
 

jzv

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#6
I would also like to confirm that i get the BC2 crashes when running afterburner. I have a 6950 modded the bios for more volts and use the CCC hack to up the mhz that way. So no need for afterburner.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
483 (0.18/day)
Likes
29
Location
baghdad/iraq
Processor intel i5 2500k,atom280@1930mhz
Motherboard msi h61
Cooling i have cooler master V8 but now im on stock :P
Memory team group elite 2x2 1600 @1333 7 7 7 20
Video Card(s) sapphere 5850 toxic@900/1250
Storage WD 1TB green 5400 32mb ,WD 250gb 7200/8mb
Display(s) HP 22" 1680x1050 hdmi
Case asus vento
Audio Device(s) creative XFi fatality+creative gigaworksG500 5.1
Power Supply cooler master gx 750
Software win7,64bit
#7
i had this problem too with my 5850 undeclocking to stock clocks lowers to possibility of hard lock to about once every 2 hours or so lower clock a bit , i didnt had any issues with the game before even with overclock ,i dont know what the fuck is with bad company
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,168 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,813
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
Update DX and your chipset drivers, BIOS, Windows updates, flash update

Does the event log say anything?
 
Last edited: