• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6870 Went from 60fps to 22fps

Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#26
Even when cpu is set to max speed game play is horrible frame rates.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#27
-have you tried other games? Have you tried new drivers?
-Does your SC2 has been updated to Hots?
-It could be a game update. Check out also f or AA settings..
-Can you try the card on another system?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,628 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#28
System restore back to a time you were getting good frames.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#30
Working now. I repeated the same process. Frames are still low. 6870 cant handle SC2 on ultra anymore....
That's impossible because one of my 6870 handles SC2 at Ultra with 2x AA on my rig without CFX enabled, crossfire lets me do as high as 8x without dropping belong 60 FPS. Keep in mind that SC2 is single-threaded (for the most part,) so IPC and clock speed plays a huge role in SC2 which is another small reason why I went with Intel. More often than not it will hold ~45-60 FPS and a little 1Ghz overclock on the core can usually make up for it without crossfire.

Are you sure you're not doing something out of the ordinary like forcing 8x AA or using the edge-detect AA filter?

If I were you, I would monitor your GPU usage in SC2 and let us know if the GPU isn't running at 100%, because that's the case it's almost a sure fire sign that your CPU is bottlenecking the game. Keep in mind that it won't ever use 100% of your CPU resources across all of your cores. You'll be lucky to see more than 1 core (total) being used. A good example is that I never see my CPU usage go above 16% in the task manager with my i7 and it will still bottleneck on the CPU in some cases, so please confirm this for us because I bet it is exactly what is going on.

Edit: Zambezi chips are also not known for their single-threaded IPC, so that's a consideration. Is overclocking an option? AHHH! I just noticed you're running 1333Mhz memory, I would put something faster in there because I can imagine 1333 becoming a bottleneck much like how my DDR2-800 did on my Phenom II 940 rig with SC2. It's a guess though. I would have put at least 1600 memory in it if not 1866.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#31
Have you checked windows power options? Maybe the "power saving" mode has been activated by some mistake or bug and it throttles your PC. I know its a desktop but still it could happen...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#32
Have you checked windows power options? Maybe the "power saving" mode has been activated by some mistake or bug and it throttles your PC. I know its a desktop but still it could happen...
I recommend reading the thread as I've already asked about this and he already responded:
Make sure your power settings are set to balanced or performance. SC2 is very CPU dependent and if the cpu isn't ramping up or boost isn't kicking in, it might impact performance. My 6870s work plenty well on SC2 with the 13.5 beta drivers.
Even when cpu is set to max speed game play is horrible frame rates.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,769 (0.39/day)
Likes
96
Location
Singapore
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.50Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 4GB X2 1600Mhz (Model F3-12800CL7Q-8GBXM)
Video Card(s) Powercolor R9 290 (Stock)
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#33
Task-Manager --> Start-up --> Disable Piranha.exe

Its the cause of constant GPU loading issue at start and comes directly from Dota 2 itself. Hope this helps.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#34
That's impossible because one of my 6870 handles SC2 at Ultra with 2x AA on my rig without CFX enabled, crossfire lets me do as high as 8x without dropping belong 60 FPS. Keep in mind that SC2 is single-threaded (for the most part,) so IPC and clock speed plays a huge role in SC2 which is another small reason why I went with Intel. More often than not it will hold ~45-60 FPS and a little 1Ghz overclock on the core can usually make up for it without crossfire.

Are you sure you're not doing something out of the ordinary like forcing 8x AA or using the edge-detect AA filter?

If I were you, I would monitor your GPU usage in SC2 and let us know if the GPU isn't running at 100%, because that's the case it's almost a sure fire sign that your CPU is bottlenecking the game. Keep in mind that it won't ever use 100% of your CPU resources across all of your cores. You'll be lucky to see more than 1 core (total) being used. A good example is that I never see my CPU usage go above 16% in the task manager with my i7 and it will still bottleneck on the CPU in some cases, so please confirm this for us because I bet it is exactly what is going on.

Edit: Zambezi chips are also not known for their single-threaded IPC, so that's a consideration. Is overclocking an option? AHHH! I just noticed you're running 1333Mhz memory, I would put something faster in there because I can imagine 1333 becoming a bottleneck much like how my DDR2-800 did on my Phenom II 940 rig with SC2. It's a guess though. I would have put at least 1600 memory in it if not 1866.
I'm not forcing anything. I have the most up to date drivers. Frames are low in all games. The CPU and ram have been very fast. I think it is the GPU. Wish I had another 6870 just for testing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#35
Task-Manager --> Start-up --> Disable Piranha.exe

Its the cause of constant GPU loading issue at start and comes directly from Dota 2 itself. Hope this helps.
Good heads up. However, this problem occurs even before playing DOTA 2. Pirhana.exe isn't present.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#36


Here is a picture of my GPUz. The max shows maximum what is should be. But I did average instead and this is what I got.

Should be 900mhz and 1050mhz respectively. My CPU is running fine at 4.2ghz...

Running SC2 on ultra setting at maximum resolution.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#37
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/13/04/28/bz7.png

Here is a picture of my GPUz. The max shows maximum what is should be. But I did average instead and this is what I got.

Should be 900mhz and 1050mhz respectively. My CPU is running fine at 4.2ghz...

Running SC2 on ultra setting at maximum resolution.
Yes, except your GPU load looks like it's barely breaking 50%. You're being bottlenecked by your CPU or memory.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#38
Yes, except your GPU load looks like it's barely breaking 50%. You're being bottlenecked by your CPU or memory.
Its just weird because I've been running this setup for 1.5 years and it just starts this. I wonder which one it is...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#39
Try running other programs/stress tests on your GPU and see what kinds of loads/temps you're getting. It's possible it may just be going bad and you did mention this kind of started happening after you think your card overheated.

I know SC2 can be a CPU hog at times. Is the poor performance constant, or does it come and go? If it's constant I'd definitely side with the GPU being the culprit.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#40
Try running other programs/stress tests on your GPU and see what kinds of loads/temps you're getting. It's possible it may just be going bad and you did mention this kind of started happening after you think your card overheated.

I know SC2 can be a CPU hog at times. Is the poor performance constant, or does it come and go? If it's constant I'd definitely side with the GPU being the culprit.
Its the same game to game. I just have a gut feelings its the GPU.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#41
Its the same game to game. I just have a gut feelings its the GPU.
...it's not running hot though and it's not even getting fully loaded. You wouldn't happen to have v-sync enabled, would you?

Also, when you're playing SC2, is your usage at or over 25%? If it is, you're CPU limited.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#42
...it's not running hot though and it's not even getting fully loaded. You wouldn't happen to have v-sync enabled, would you?

Also, when you're playing SC2, is your usage at or over 25%? If it is, you're CPU limited.
Wut? You went from telling someone in this thread to read what you posted to not reading what the OP posted?... :roll: It's Monday so I'm going to cut you some slack.. lol He said he was getting 60 fps and it dropped.. So, tell me why would it be a CPU limit again? :toast:
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#43
Wut? You went from telling someone in this thread to read what you posted to not reading what the OP posted?... :roll: It's Monday so I'm going to cut you some slack.. lol He said he was getting 60 fps and it dropped.. So, tell me why would it be a CPU limit again? :toast:
I have another 6870 that I am able to get a hold of. I'm going to try it and that will end all of this discussion.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#44
I have another 6870 that I am able to get a hold of. I'm going to try it and that will end all of this discussion.
I hope you find good news, but I think your trouble started when your cards fan wasn't going over 30%. The only thing is it's odd your not seeing artifacts from where it overheated. Good luck :toast:
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#45
I hope you find good news, but I think your trouble started when your cards fan wasn't going over 30%. The only thing is it's odd your not seeing artifacts from where it overheated. Good luck :toast:
Where would I see the artifacts?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
357 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
System Name Broken Butterfly.
Processor Intel Core i5-3570.
Motherboard Asus P8H67-M LE.
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus.
Memory 2x4gB Corsair Value Series.
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
Storage 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).
Display(s) Samsung BX2031.
Case CM Elite 334.
Power Supply Corsair CX 430.
#46
On the screen. Where else?.

I stopped reading at 30% fan speed part. Good job.

Give a good reason as to why you did that?. Case is pretty strong against you for attempted murder. Stay frosty.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#47
On the screen. Where else?.

I stopped reading at 30% fan speed part. Good job.

Give a good reason as to why you did that?. Case is pretty strong against you for attempted murder. Stay frosty.
I was speaking in terms of GPUz. I ran the card at low fan speed due to outrageous noise level.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,736 (0.73/day)
Likes
856
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#48
That's impossible because one of my 6870 handles SC2 at Ultra with 2x AA on my rig without CFX enabled, crossfire lets me do as high as 8x without dropping belong 60 FPS. Keep in mind that SC2 is single-threaded (for the most part,) so IPC and clock speed plays a huge role in SC2 which is another small reason why I went with Intel. More often than not it will hold ~45-60 FPS and a little 1Ghz overclock on the core can usually make up for it without crossfire.
SC2 has SEVERE performance issues starting several months ago with patches and it has gotten MUCH worse over time.

Case in point: I can longer play SC2 smoothly. It drops frames like crazy for no reason (fps is still high). Google reveals it's a massive problem. Check my hardware, it's not exactly low end :mad:

I had an old pirated version from release installed that ran like butter. I bought the game and reinstalled (completely clean with all updates obviously) and performance was/is atrocious. I edited the config and gained some back, but it's nowhere close to butter.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
357 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
System Name Broken Butterfly.
Processor Intel Core i5-3570.
Motherboard Asus P8H67-M LE.
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus.
Memory 2x4gB Corsair Value Series.
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
Storage 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).
Display(s) Samsung BX2031.
Case CM Elite 334.
Power Supply Corsair CX 430.
#49
Thumbs up. That is just hilarious.

GPUz doesn't show artifacts. Get Afterburner and use it's scanning tool. I dont use Afterburner so not much experience. Stopped using it a long time ago.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#50
SC2 has SEVERE performance issues starting several months ago with patches and it has gotten MUCH worse over time.

Case in point: I can longer play SC2 smoothly. It drops frames like crazy for no reason (fps is still high). Google reveals it's a massive problem. Check my hardware, it's not exactly low end :mad:

I had an old pirated version from release installed that ran like butter. I bought the game and reinstalled (completely clean with all updates obviously) and performance was/is atrocious. I edited the config and gained some back, but it's nowhere close to butter.
Like has been said in this thread, it is all games, not just SC2.