1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950 -> 6970 bios with xfire

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Skywalk, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. Skywalk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello there..
    First off, i like to introduce myself to the forum.
    Im a 19yo guy, down to earth and friendly.
    My name is Mikael..

    Anyway..
    I got my 2x6950 with the mail the other day.
    Aware of the 6970 bios flash option, i decided to get em instead due to the money i'd save, and because of the bad mechanics they made on those 2 references.

    I started like this.
    Fresh install of windows with 1 of the cards in slot.
    Installing common drivers including the new catalyst before flash.
    Flashed the 1st card. (FLAWLESS)
    Took it out and replaced it with my 2nd.
    Flashed the 2nd card. (FLAWLESS)

    Rearranged my gear into a new case for better spacing and cooling.
    Including both cards this time, for the crossfire.

    First issue at bootup let to CMOS failure. (Date/Time) loss.
    Even though i could easily fix this by just changing preferences in the BIOS.
    I then again overclocked my i7 without problems.

    Into windows (7 x64) i got with the quick prompt on enabling xfire by catalyst.
    I did - both cards purred like a kitten.

    But GPU-Z seems to be having troubles showing the right clocks after crossfire install.
    And for you to know aswell - i did these with the 20% increased voltage from ATi overdrive as stated better in the article.

    Now. If you look at these picture. Card 1 being the upper card in the case (Bad clocks)
    Card 2 being the one not having problems. (Bottom card) - IF! im not mistaken.

    And if it should matter.

    ASUS Rampage II Extreme
    Corsair Dominator 1600mhz XMS3
    Intel Core i7 920 (C0) <--- Old mofo :)
    Corsair 1000W PSU
    Corsair H50 for the cpu..
    And a corsair 800D..
    Psst - i like corsair ;)

    Card 1
    http://img638.imageshack.us/i/1stcard.gif/

    Card 2
    http://img819.imageshack.us/i/2ndcard.gif/

    Now what seems to be the problem? :confused:

    Yours truly
    Mikael B.
     
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,003 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    vermont
    i see nothing wrong other then card 1 runs at 800mhz?? re flash it. otherwise there shouldnt be any problems.
     
  3. Skywalk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well - it should be running 880 :)
    and the flops should be way better aswell..

    and is it possible to flash the cards when they are in crossfire?
    so i don't need to fiddle with my perfectly done cable management :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    borked bios flashes reflash the cards

    then reinstall the drivers from sratch with both gpus installed
     
  5. Skywalk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But as im stating.
    When the cards are in seperate. They have the appropriate clocks.
    When they are put together in CF the one lacks behind.

    And my other question - is it possible to just do it when both cards are in at the same time? :)
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,632 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Location:
    04578
    its a bad bios flash or bad driver install you installed both cards correct but you installed the driver with only 1 card or what

    driver installed with both cards as 6950s then flash them 1 at a time then sticking them back in as 6970s probably fucked your display driver all sorts of sideways

    flash the cards again uninstall all ATI drivers along with CCC use driver sweeper or cleaner or whatever then restart the PC and reinstall the 10.12a drivers from the begining.

    pulling out gpus messing with bios turning them into a different gpu to the driver causes a shit ton of problems its just common sense.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)