1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950/6970 dilemma

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by TheRagnarok, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. TheRagnarok

    TheRagnarok

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I don't post much, but I am here everyday. Anyways I was looking for some advice on my GPUs. I have a XFX 6950 with unlocked shaders/stable and I recently bought an ASIS XFX 6970 on Ebay, RMA'd, and they sent me a new 6970 in the retail box!...... Should I keep the 6970 and crossfire, or sell em both and get a 7970 ?.... Thanks for looking. :)
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,025 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    What resolution and games do you play with. I have a 6970 crossfire setup and play my current games (Dead Space 3, Dishonored, and Dirt 3) and 5760 x 1080 without issues. Mine are OC'd to 950Mhz core and 1425 ram. The only issue I see is with crossfiring a 6950 unlocked with a 6970 the core and ram speed are going to be set to the lowest(6950) speeds. If you can OC that 6950 to 6970 speeds or more and play at 1080 I think you'll like what you have.
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,917 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,122
    Give us the entire build sheet of your computer and we might be able to answer your question better
     
    jgunning says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    409 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    hmm. that would be dilema for me too..
    realy dont know what would i do!! bot options rocks the house.. what ever u do u will enjoy that's for sure..
     
  5. TheRagnarok

    TheRagnarok

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    My system specs has been updated, and I play at 1900x1200. Jeez you must be using 3 monitors to push that res! And ive had the 6950 oced to 900 stable/950 stable-ish with voltage bump, also, both cards have 2gb of VRAM each.
     
  6. TheRagnarok

    TheRagnarok

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Hate to doublepost

    Well I opened the card up so its not new anymore, my power supply only has two 2 x 6 pin connectors so I found an old 2 x molex to 6 pin pcie, and I wired up the second one with and old PSUs 6 pin, and added 2 extra pins by cutting a 4 pin cpu power connector in half.... I don't think these adapters are rated to spec so ill be getting a new psu SOON. But anyways after playing around in Crysis I think I'm going to keep these cards. Also, prolly cheaper to keep them as I paid $300 for the 6950 at launch and $136 for the 6970 (including the shipping to XFX RMA center), I took a big risk buying this thing on ebay. :eek:
    Also, Also, I may get http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003NLGR7I/?tag=tec06d-20 to move the 6950 down to the other 16x slot ( its in a 4x slot so I dont know really know if this will impact performance much )

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  7. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    409 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i never use crosfire befoer but i think u only need one bridge for ur setup?!?!
    i dont know if that other bridge can interfeere with setup..
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,096 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,144
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It doesn't make a difference. CFX in the end only uses one of them for 2-way CFX. One of the installed bridges is just inactive.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)