1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

6950/6970 stable OC results thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by niemion, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Please let's have a clean list of current OC results. Update when needed. At least 20 minutes of Furmark's 'Stability Test' required. Add your own stress tests to the table if you please. :nutkick:

    My first card:

    Core: 875 (905 with 6970 BIOS)
    Memory: 1545
    Volt: Standard
    Stability: Furmark 20m+, Starcraft II 50m replay
    Manufacturer: Sapphire
    Modded to 6970 or 6950 unlocked: Yes, to 6970

    The mod and the extra volt allowed me to raise the core to 905 MHz.

    Stability note: Starcraft II seems better for stressing both core and memory. 20 min Furmark stable speeds was far from 20 min Stracraft II speeds. I could get 900 MHz stable on the core for 50 min Furmark, but it would cause abnormal behavior in Starcraft II within minutes (delay + black screen + return to game). I could get 1556 MHz on the memory but only 1545 MHz in Starcraft II.

    My second card:

    Core: 905
    Memory: ~1450
    Volt: Standard
    Stability: Furmark 20m+, Starcraft II 50m replay
    Manufacturer: Sapphire
    Modded to 6970 or 6950 unlocked: Yes, to 6970

    Unfortunately, the second card is now showing artifacts during boot, green screen tearing and won't enter Windows when drivers are installed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  2. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,980 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    You have a nice OC. Are you planning on turning your HD 6950 into a HD 6970?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,091 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,769
    what good is a 20 minute test request, if you don't have to provide a screen shot of said stability?

    want to list mine?

    Core: 1900MHz
    Memory: 2303MHz
    Volt: Standard
    Stability: Furmark 20m
    Manufacturer: Sapphire
    Modded to 6970 (if 6950): No

    see what I mean? No GPU-z, no furmark
     
    DannibusX says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thank you, I think it's pretty standard. Still testing though. Yes, when I'm finished OC'ing the card @ default BIOS I sure will. :D

    It's no contest and no prize money is involved. No reason not to trust each other as I see it.
     
  5. bebyy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Core: 920
    Memory: 1420
    Volt: Standard
    Stability: Furmark 20m+
    Manufacturer: Powercolor
    Modded to 6970 (if 6950): Yes (to Asus Bios)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks bebyy, nice core speed. Do you have Starcraft II?

    I've added my second card in post#1. One has better memory, the other better core.
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,528 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    That's nothing , here is what i got....

    Core: 1901
    Memory: 2404
    Volt: 1.335v
    Stability:Furmark , 3DMark01-03-05-06-11 & Vantage 30 hours
    Manufacturer: Sapphire Extreme edition
    Modded: 6850 to 7990 :yes
    :pimp:

    Seriously always better to have a shot/screen pic & why 20 min. seems a bit long why not just 10 min. that would be enough for the perpous of this thread
     
  8. niemion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Using screenshots shots as validation, how cute it may sound, does not in any way prevent fabricated results. It takes a couple of minutes longer though. Screenshots does often add extra info which is great, but not really needed for this purpose: to create an overview of 6950/6970 clock speeds. Instead it takes up space and makes it harder to get a quick outline of the results. Now if you want to add a screenshot anyway, feel free to do it. Your results are fake, haha, that's hilarious, now grow up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)