• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6950 "adapter not found" error

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
hey guys i flashed my bios, it bricked i couldnt load on restard, i stuck the card in 2nd pci-e
when i use atiflash to flash original bios, i get

atiflash -unlockrom 1
"adapter not found"

atiflash -f -p 1 original.bin
"adapter not found"

any clue?
i read a thread about wizzard posting a 1 & 8 pin fix but i have no clue where the bios chip is on my 6950 non-ref. btw i flash via hard-mod
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115240&page=7
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
did you try atiflash -f -p 0 original.bin?
 

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
if i did 0 it would flash up my backup video card that i put in that slot so i could get into dos. the card wont boot thats why i put it in the 2nd pci-e so i could flash it that way. fans go on just nothing on screen.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
bios chip is located near the power end of PCIe connector. You'll probably see one chip in place, and an empty hole:


bios.jpg
 

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
same chip i did the hard mod on, i am wondering if i can do the 1 and 8 method if i am already using the 8 pin.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
That I do not know.

What hardmod did you do? Maybe that borked the BIOS in the first place?

to your second post(that appeared after I had posted)


BIOS chip is right in the middle of the yellow square, empty hole below is for secondary BIOS.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
Ah.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
Yes. But this is out of my realm of working knowledge, never attemped myself..my card unlocked easily.
 

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#12
so i figured out why the adapter wasnt being read. i had a nvidia card which was not reading by atiflash so it set the slot 1 to slot 0. now i have new problem when i try to flash it says unable to write unkown spi 0/20000h
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
Seems like flasher doesn't recognize ROM type.

I am not 100% sure though.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#15
flash rom data sheet
"spi 0/20000h " is an adress on the chip
to flash the card back to your stock bios you will, have to undoe the hard mod, flash back the redo the mod good luck
 

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#16
so i undue hard mod, flash with original bin? i dont think it will let me flash... thats why i used the hard mod to flash in first place.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#17
i did the hard mod to flash non-reference cards. the problem was i flashed it with the wrong bios.... like an idiot.


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=20634.msg289672#msg289672
it should flash back to your org bio if not you'l have to do the mod to unlock the chip to allow you to flash it
but i would try to flash it after you undo the hard mod if the bios you use did not change the subsys id it should work if you get the "not found" error then you will have to do the unlock
 
Last edited:

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#18
I just took the hard mod off which allowed me to flash the first time. The proble
Is now that it's off it's reading correctly again and error is gone but now I can't flash bios back to original since the hard mod is not connected anymore.


So now I get Rom was not erased error 0fl01. Which I was able to fix when I hard modded, but it does read the bios and the spi unknow error is gone

Btw I don't have the adapter issue o figured that out.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#19
this switch " -fa Force flashing bypassing already-programmed check" in atiflash might work

if not you will have to put your bubblegum mod back on plus the mod i linked in post 17 and follow the instructions in the pdf leaving the "bubblegum" in place
pls supply model for the non ref card you are using
 
Last edited:

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#21
the adapter is located by atiflash no need for 1+8 right? thats not the issue anymore it just wont flash even with bubble gum mod.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
Bios.
 

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#23
so i figured out why the adapter wasnt being read. i had a nvidia card which was not reading by atiflash so it set the slot 1 to slot 0. now i have new problem when i try to flash it says unable to write unkown spi 0/20000h
.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#24
what erroe code happens when you try to flash?

When a low voltage is present at pin 1, the flash memory is
active and will respond to read/write requests. When a high voltage is present it will go to sleep mode
The "high" voltage can be grabbed from pin 8 which is the +3.3V supply voltage of the IC.
1 to pin 8 in hopes that the card would now be unable to read the flash memory

try undoing the bubble gum and try the 1 to 8 mod
the buble mod 3 to 8 sends high voltage[pin 8] to the write pin 3 opening the switch for writes ,but your bad [wrong] bios on the chip won't let you rewrite it ... you need to put the chip to 'sleep' 1 to 8 mod so you can rewrite the chip
 

Attachments

Last edited:

r0b3412

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#25
Quick over view

Ok real quick before I do the 1 to 8 mod


The bubble gum mod gets me "unknown spi 0/20000h " error

When I take apart the bubble gum mod I don't get any error but can't flash

When I originally bubble gym mod it flashed fine up until I put the wrong bios in.


(
Now I will do the 1 to 8 mod (can I use same bubble gym method?)
And should I undo the 3 to 8 or leave it with the 1 to 8?