• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6950 flash problems help please!

Ezzie

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I purchased a gigabyte 6950 OC edition 1 gb graphics card (non reference, no switch), and was happy with it for about a 7 months. Yesterday i decided to attempt to unlock the shaders and increase the OC upper limit from 870 to 930, using RBE. I saved the original bios to my desktop to be safe. I proceeded to tick the 6950 > 6970 shader option, and i also changed the max oc limit to 930 mhz as opposed to 870.

I flashed it, and got the success message. it asked for a reboot, so i did, only to run into a BSOD at startup. I can post, and access my bios settings however. The error is "SERVICE_EXCEPTION" and just restarts automatically, in an infinite loop.

I went into safemode, unistalled my graphics drivers, rebooted, and went into normal windows without problems ( the weird resolution, no graphics drivers, state). I then tried Atiwinflash, to try and flash back to my original 6950 bios, but i got the error 'cannot erase rom".

I then followed the instructions perfectly, on how to flash my bios using command line and Atiwinflash. I did the atiwinflash -unlockrom 0, it said successfully unlocked.

I then did atiwinflash -f -p 0 original.bin to flash the orignal bios; it loaded for a couple of secs then said "Rom not erased".

I later found out my specific card is hardware locked via a missing bridge from pin 3 to pin 8 ( WCC to voltage), so i followed a guide on how to bridge the two pins: (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=148806) . i hot glued the wires of a headphone ( thin twined copper ones) from pin 3 to pin 8, being very careful, as shown in the picture in the link. Alas when i rebooted and tried flashing using cmd (same as above), i got the same error >.<.

I havnt tried using atiflash yet, only atiwinflash, but i dont see how that would make a difference. Ive read about using a bootable usb, and fflashing with atiflash in DOS, but again i dont see how thts any different then using my default os.

Im thinking i either didn't bridge the pins properly ( how can i check if i did?), or there is some other software issue going on, help please!!!!!!!!!!!



EDIT: SOLVED!!!! WOOOO THANKS TECH POWER UP! :D saved me an angry rma xD

What i did:

1. Made a bootable windows 98 flash drive following this guide: http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...-nvidia-gpu-bios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/
2. Add atiflash, and 6950 original bios to the usb root directory (just drag and drop)
3. Booted through the usb (for my motherbaord the sabertooth 990 fx, i pressed F8 during post and it allows me to pick a boot device)
4. Then i typed atiflash -unlockrom 0 to unlock the gpu in adapter 1
5. Then i typed atiflash -f -p 0 original.bin ( or whatever the name of your original bios is, mines is called "original.bin")
6. rebooted, and WALLA, succesful flash.

Ye i was hesitant that using a bootable usb and DOS to flash wasnt going to be any different than doing it in windows, but it worked :D!!

Cheers~
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
Do it from dos you should have better luck there.
 

Ezzie

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
May i ask why i would have better luck there?

Anyway ill try it, so i need to make a bootable usb with an OS on it and atiflash, along with the original bios, then flash my gpu in dos?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
you cannot edit the CCC maximums. Shaders, fine, but if you do flash BIOS successfully with modified CCC overdrive profile, once driver starts it will prevent OS from loading.

And yes, DOS method works best.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#5
AFAIK, you can't just up the Overdrive limits and expect it to work cleanly as the OD limits are digitally signed by AMD (there's an RBE help file that explains this). Maybe that's the issue?


EDIT: cadaveca beat me to it
 

Ezzie

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
ya pretty big mistake, i should have read up more :(. Well now my cards bricked, and i have little faith that the DOS method will work.....

Can anyone link me to a surefire guide on how to flash a gpu using DOS and a bootable usb? (do i even need to use a bootable usb?)
 
Last edited: