• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

6970 Voltage Readings

Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#1
Is GPU-Z reading the voltage correct on my "Official Diamond 6970" that I flashed to the Asus BIOS? I set 1.20v in Smartdoctor and it tells me it changed the voltage but GPU-Z shows 1.175v under load during benching? Is it actually running at 1.2v or 1.175v?

Thank you for your help on this.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#2
It looks like it's working according to the temp chart. I ran a bench @ 960 / 1500 after letting the fan cool it down running it at 50%. I let the fan stay at the same speed the whole test. The I turned the Voltage up to 1.3v and did the test again after letting the GPU cool down again. The temp difference in the runs were about 13c so it looks like it's working despite GPU-Z not seeing the change. Here's a pic showing the two different runs with the temps captured.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#3
well with 5770's gpu-z misreads voltage changes as well. gpu-z is a great program and usually is correct, but with some cards it doesnt show the voltage change and I think its due to the voltage controller, BUT yours is a reference design yes?? volterra vregs?? yours should show it correct but its not out of the question that gpu-z reports it wrong, try running clocks that you know are not stable with stock voltage. if they crash with modded voltage then your volts are not changing if they gain stability then golden.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#4
True, I was just weary because I didn't want to sell my revision 1 5870 if this new 6970 was locked down voltage wise. I appreciate your help. It is adjusting it, it seems.
 

jimmyz

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
32
Location
Indiana
System Name Black ice
Processor QX 9650 @ 5ghz @ 1.55v
Motherboard DFI X-38 T2R
Cooling jinu ss in v-2000b+2
Memory crucial ballistix tracer ddr2 1066 asynch 4-4-4-5
Video Card(s) 2 x Radeon 4850 voltmodded watercooled
Storage 4x seagate 250gb in RAID 0
Display(s) 24" SOYO LCD 1920x1200
Case vapoli v2000b+2 (lian-li)
Audio Device(s) onboard karjan audio
Power Supply pc power & cooling silencer 750 Quad
Software windows mce 2005 (xp pro basically) dual boot w/ Vista Home premium.
#5
GPU-Z gets it's voltage info from the driver on 69xx cards, not directly from hardware. This is straight from W1zzard several days ago. I also have my cards Volt modded and can tell you in 3d GPU-Z always shows 1.175 regardless of voltage I have dialed in. The asus Bios I currently use shows over 1.2v avg in 3d at default.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#7
A new updated beta version of MSI Afterburner is out now. It actually reads the cards voltages correctly. I was able to push 1.32v into the card using asus smart doctor and verified it is working.. I also took off the heatsink yesterday and could see my voltara chip so.. I could have done that to begin with I suppose :p. Any way hope this helps some one.